Subaru Legacy Tyres

Drive a Subaru Legacy? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Subaru Legacy
Nokian xLine (2) 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 33,000
Yokohama BluEarth Winter V905 (3) 97% 93% 97% 97% 95% 87% 100% 95% 24,000
Continental WinterContact TS830 (30) 90% 95% 90% 84% 85% 91% 97% 90% 144,000
Nokian Line (62) 93% 91% 90% 90% 84% 87% 85% 88% 820,058
Debica Frigo HP2 (8) 90% 89% 85% 85% 89% 81% 89% 87% 23,600
Nokian zLine (77) 92% 92% 91% 89% 77% 86% 85% 87% 604,390
Gislaved Nord Frost 5 (4) 80% 90% 80% 87% 67% 93% 97% 85% 40,040
Michelin Pilot Alpin (4) 88% 88% 75% 85% 85% 78% 90% 84% 85,064
Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 (55) 89% 84% 81% 77% 86% 85% 86% 84% 523,700
Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 (51) 90% 86% 84% 77% 83% 80% 85% 84% 323,562
Pirelli Sottozero Serie II (25) 85% 88% 90% 81% 83% 90% 95% 83% 185,090
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85% 88% 82% 1,254,817
Kumho Ecsta Seven KU23 (5) 82% 90% 83% 64% 80% 84% 86% 81% 35,800
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (193) 88% 87% 78% 79% 74% 86% 75% 81% 2,404,145
Michelin Pilot Exalto (56) 86% 81% 76% 80% 83% 77% 83% 81% 1,856,713
Avon Ice Touring ST (40) 81% 86% 74% 72% 82% 81% 88% 81% 292,536
Yokohama W Drive V902B (2) 75% 90% 80% 75% 85% 70% 85% 80% 0
Altenzo Equator (6) 85% 75% 78% 78% 78% 83% 80% 80% 38,500
Yokohama Advan dB V552 (4) 77% 73% 77% 77% 70% 93% 77% 78% 48,000
Momo Outrun M3 (16) 84% 74% 73% 77% 70% 83% 76% 77% 68,727
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (161) 83% 76% 77% 76% 72% 75% 77% 77% 2,621,523
Firestone TZ300A (24) 80% 79% 70% 78% 78% 74% 77% 77% 315,000
Nexen N2000 (13) 81% 75% 75% 65% 82% 76% 78% 76% 191,000
Michelin Primacy HP (194) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 75% 65% 75% 4,267,594
Bridgestone Potenza RE001 (40) 87% 72% 78% 80% 70% 63% 70% 74% 864,661
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (115) 84% 74% 73% 75% 73% 75% 66% 74% 1,502,774
Debica Frigo 2 (13) 70% 65% 71% 68% 81% 70% 62% 73% 157,010
Toyo T1R (275) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,599,183
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (153) 83% 77% 76% 73% 60% 65% 65% 71% 2,261,801
Goodride SP06 (22) 82% 71% 67% 66% 73% 68% 68% 71% 205,640
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (200) 83% 70% 75% 72% 66% 59% 58% 69% 3,359,928
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (56) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61% 59% 69% 939,170
Bridgestone Potenza RE040 (46) 80% 58% 74% 70% 65% 57% 54% 66% 806,215
Wanli S1063 (77) 74% 58% 63% 61% 76% 65% 62% 66% 5,673,081
Falken FK453 (28) 76% 70% 61% 58% 59% 68% 58% 64% 219,200
Tigar Syneris (19) 74% 61% 63% 60% 59% 64% 58% 63% 204,100
Michelin Energy MXV4 Plus (4) 55% 53% 50% 43% 90% 98% 48% 62% 105,150
BFGoodrich Traction TA (4) 75% 68% 60% 63% 80% 37% 50% 62% 14,041
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (124) 70% 48% 56% 54% 69% 48% 43% 55% 1,233,457
Bridgestone Ecopia EP25 (9) 60% 43% 64% 60% 55% 66% 32% 54% 133,595
Goodride H660 (1) 80% 70% 50% 50% 60% 40% 10% 51% 0

Subaru Legacy Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the BFGoodrich Traction TA given 100% (205-70-15-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2 average miles
I bought these tires before making a 1,600 mile road trip across the United States in the middle of winter. I wanted to pint out that not only do these tires provide stability and traction on wet and dry pavement I have noticed that they perform much like a snow tire on snow and ice
tyre reviewed on 2008-01-17 08:17:57
Writing about the Momo Outrun M3 given 97% (215-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 6000 average miles
I chose these tires because of reasonable price and good comments on internet forums. And also because momo is a loud brand name of motorsport, which means that these tires can not be very bad.
First feeling with these tires was - vou! What a good grip! And how they soft and quiet compared to my old Bridgestone Potenza RE050!
With momo I no longer feel that I drove into the asphalt truck rails.
I've driven with these tires one season, which is 10 000 km, mostly around the city and highways. Also on the German Autobahn at high speed tires behaved very well. Overtaking maneuvers in the rain at 170km/h seemed stable.
After these 10k km measured tread depth with electronic measuring tool. New tire tread depth was 7.5mm, now - front 6.2mm, rear 6.3mm. This means that these tires will last at least 40k km. I think it is a very good results for such soft tires.
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-12 07:43:17
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS830 given 96% (215-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
Very good winter tyre, traction they provide in snow is just amazing.
Would buy them again definitely. Also, I recommend them to everyone. They are a bit pricier, but they are worth every penny.
tyre reviewed on 2011-03-19 20:18:47
Writing about the Pirelli Sottozero Serie II given 94% (225-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
These tires blew me away. In my opinion, they are best for 'cooler' winter climates (-30C to 0C), although they still work completely acceptably above freezing (they just soften up a bit and seem a bit noisier). Their second strength is wet, especially things like puddles and slush or damp roads.

The snow and ice performance was good - much better than an excellent all-season, and even slightly better than some mid-range snows, but these weren't exceptional in deeper snow (they were better in packed snow than fluffy snow) or ice. But not bad at all.

But when you are on very cold roads, or in slushy environments or with plentiful puddles of salty water (likely super-cooled), these tires actually let you drive like on a summer day. I'm not kidding. I'm so happy with these. If you live in a city and don't do too much commuting to the back country, and live somewhere where it can get fairly cool, and the roads get reasonably plowed within a few hours to a day, and you if you like spirited driving in the winter, these are positively joyous.

Strangely, tire wire (at least for the first season) is almost undetectable, and the ride was very nice, and no noisier than my stock all-seasons (however, my stock all-seasons are a bit on the noisier side, so its a relative comparison). I honestly hope they don't mess with this formula at all, because I will definitely buy this again.
tyre reviewed on 2011-10-20 18:22:29
Writing about the Michelin Primacy HP given 93% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 32000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-01-09 11:13:26
Writing about the Yokohama BluEarth Winter V905 given 93% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
I was driving with these tires for 3 seasons already (in Lithuania). I liked them. The response on wet and dry is really good. On icy and snowy roads one cannot drive like on wet, it's obvious :) For that you have to choose at least soft compound tyres, or better spiked. They are pretty soft, which comes as a better comfort on bumpy roads. But what impressed me the most, is the wearing degree. After 20000 miles (3 winters) they are still around 6mm.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-05 10:02:45
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 given 91% (205-50-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
Not much to say. I do not have the experience with this car as it was new for me and I changed the tires just when I bought it. But overall they seem extremely good. I am a falken boy as I always have falkens in everycar I have but the shop persuade me that these are better than the Ziez914 and they are astonishing good. They are very comfortable and that is the number one for a touring tire, plus they are very good in the wet.
I recommend them for every touring car. When you push them they show also extremely good handling. The wear is also minimum. I am waiting to see the full lifetime as falken's greatest benefit is the very good performance through their lifetime.
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-11 11:37:08
Writing about the Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 given 90% (215-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 easy going miles
So much better than the Bridgestones that came with the car, much nicer ride and wet grip. XL rated which is good as I have a heavy LPG tank in the rear. Only problem is that I have had to replace three (two today) since I got the set in October 2012 due to side wall failures after arguments with vicious potholes, a problem with low profile tyres. Otherwise an excellent tyre for the money, low wear rate and cheaper now than a year ago.
tyre reviewed on 2013-09-18 13:19:54
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 6000 easy going miles
Had these fitted to my 2001 Subaru Legacy in size 205/55/16 this summer. So far i've got 10000km with them and i hardly see any wear what so ever. I've had two nail punctures while parking in front of my home. Those are not the tire fault, but still subjectively, it is a minus on my buy again criteria. On the road they feel quiet, comfortable and a little bit too flexy. Went through a mountain pass and on the corners i could feel the tire flexing two much. I've driven dirt roads and had no issues, also on the sandy beach, the car holds its own. On the motorway those have great rolling qualities and while being soft, they don't heat up as much as my old ones(by far). This is great as they don't become sticky and the "miles per gallon" are kept high.

Overall: Great tires for good money, but could be better, if they had stiffer sidewalls. I would buy them again, if not for wanting to try other brands summer tires. I like to compare things myself.
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-17 14:58:54
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE040 given 90% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 44000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2011-08-05 00:02:20
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre