Toyota AYGO Tyres

Drive a Toyota AYGO? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Toyota AYGO
Nokian WR D3 (40) 92% 90% 89% 89% 84% 87% 93% 91% 349,093
Continental WinterContact TS 800 (11) 88% 93% 85% 87% 88% 88% 96% 89% 230,000
Maxxis Victra MA510 (2) 100% 90% 80% 80% 0% 80% 100% 88% 550
Falken EUROALL SEASON AS200 (19) 78% 89% 80% 81% 81% 84% 87% 83% 198,515
Uniroyal RainExpert (129) 85% 91% 81% 76% 75% 86% 85% 83% 1,253,762
Yokohama W Drive V903 (2) 85% 85% 85% 75% 85% 75% 85% 79% 522
Nexen N Blue ECO (29) 85% 79% 77% 77% 75% 74% 83% 78% 244,298
Continental Eco Contact 3 (51) 80% 78% 72% 68% 74% 77% 66% 73% 1,032,800
Continental Premium Contact 2 (179) 84% 77% 75% 72% 62% 73% 62% 72% 4,164,989
Marangoni 4 Winter (5) 64% 80% 70% 68% 80% 64% 78% 72% 47,000
Avon ZT5 (28) 82% 67% 73% 65% 72% 73% 58% 70% 322,422
Bridgestone Blizzak LM30 (9) 77% 72% 65% 56% 76% 69% 66% 69% 62,350
Continental Eco Contact 5 (57) 79% 66% 68% 69% 74% 68% 55% 68% 588,224
Point S Summerstar 2 (2) 65% 45% 65% 60% 75% 65% 55% 61% 19,000
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (124) 70% 48% 56% 54% 69% 48% 43% 55% 1,233,457
Riken Maystorm 2 B 2 (20) 68% 36% 51% 56% 54% 56% 36% 51% 199,125

Toyota AYGO Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Uniroyal RainExpert given 100% (155-65-14-T)
Driving on mostly town for 200 average miles
Fantastic tyres for the money , great in the wet and dry very pleased will not get any other than uniroyal from now on ,cannot comment on the wear on the front of my wifes toyota aygo as only had them on for 3 weeks , but i have had 2 on the rear of my fiesta for 10 months and are still like new
tyre reviewed on 2012-01-04 20:01:04
Writing about the Nexen N Blue ECO given 100% (155-65-14-T)
Driving on mostly country roads for 11838 average miles
Just buy it !
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-27 17:32:41
Writing about the Nokian WR D3 given 100% (155-65-14-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
Bought 4x Nokian WRD3s from Tyre Leader in summer 2014 for approx’ £38 per tyre in 155/65/14. Had them fitted locally in Nov’ 2014 ready for winter time.

These winter tyres replaced some fairly new Continental Contact Premium 2 as fitted by the vehicle manufacturer.

I’ve had a reasonable amount of experience with Continental tyres in the last 10 years and overall I’m not entirely impressed with them. Sure, they get rave reviews from the magazines that test them at Continental’s own proving ground in Germany. But in my experience they wear far too quickly, cost more than they should and in the last 3mm or so of tread life they ride harshly and road noise increases significantly. My Toyota Aygo (a very light car) had covered just 7k miles and the front tyres were at 3mm – this was not through aggressive driving, far from it.

Anyway, I have driven on the WR D3’s for around 4k miles now and I have to say I’m very impressed with them. In direct comparison to the Continental tyres the following was noticed:

1) Nokian have a more direct turn-in when tackling corners

2) Nokian are quieter on dry roads. On wet roads the noise from the tyres seems a little louder as you can literally hear all the sipes gripping the road surface, especially driving over white lines. This is only of note and does not irritate in any way.

3) Nokian’s softer compound offers as slightly more absorbent ride; road imperfections are soaked up more easily.

4) The 8mm wear indicator has just started to disappear from the front tyre’s central band after 4,000 miles. So, 1mm wear after that mileage is very impressive, especially given how quickly the Continental tyres were wearing out.

Dry Roads: The WR D3’s grip very well and provide a linear turn-in when going around corners. You can throw the car into corners or around roundabouts with the same grip that a quality summer tyre would provide.

Wet Roads: I feel they provide more trustworthy grip than the Continental’s did. They cut through standing water at motorway speeds with no affect on the car’s position within its lane; aquaplaning is well suppressed.

Frost: On frost-covered road surfaces the WR D3’s grip very well indeed and inspire confidence.

Snow: Driving on fresh snow the Nokian’s have a fantastic amount of traction off the line. The same can be said when cornering and stopping. On hard-packed snow delicate use of the throttle is needed whilst performing hill starts. This also applies for stopping and cornering. The deepest snow I drove through was 6 inches and this was tackled with ease - this also includes performing hill-starts and stopping on a 1:5 gradient.

Ice: Again, you have to be very cautious when accelerating, braking or cornering. If you want or need absolute grip on ice you need to buy studded tyres.

Slush: Travelling on slush due to its unpredictability is the most dangerous of all the above conditions. Happily, I can report that driving at about 50mph on a slush-covered M60 during a blizzard in Jan’ 2015 the Nokian’s were completely surefooted. I overtook several 4x4s on a trip I had to undertake when time was critical. I can only image what they were thinking when the little Aygo blasted past their £50k+ off-roaders’ with their fat tyres which dragged them out of their motorway lanes from time to time.


Nokian – winter tyres you can trust:

From Nov’ 2014 to Jan’ 2015 my Dad was severely ill and I had to travel a 60-mile round trip most mornings and evenings to see him at his home and, latterly, every single day at a hospice to help look after him.

Throughout this time the weather was mostly cold and snowy, sometimes worse. On numerous occasions before setting off to see him I was chiselling ice / snow off the car and driving in sub-zero conditions early morning and at night.

On Jan’ 17th 2015 I had left the hospice to go home at 4pm having been with my Dad since 7:30am. My 2 year old son had been asking his Mum where his Dad was each day, so I’d decided to come home to bath him and put him to bed. At 6:30pm I received a phone call from my Mum to say that my Dad had died.

I remember leaving home that evening to head to the hospice, again de-icing / removing snow from the car before setting off and travelling on deep, snow-covered roads to get onto the M60. A severe blizzard was already underway and all lanes of the motorway were quickly covered in icy slush about 1 inch deep. I travelled about 20 miles at 40-50mph on the motorway in these conditions to meet other family members at the hospice and to see and say farewell to my Dad in his room.

Why am I telling you this?

I live in the hills on about 2 miles of unadopted roads that the council don’t plough or grit and have been stuck a lot over the years with company cars that had ‘summer’ tyres. 4x4 soft roaders get stuck up here regularly, too.

I know for a fact that without these Nokian winter tyres I would not have been able to visit my Dad as often as I did in the last 2 months of his life or been able to make that final journey to say ‘goodbye’ to him.

In my book, that makes these Nokian WR D3 tyres pretty damn special.

Mike

PS I have also reviewed Nokian WR A3 and Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons (both lengthy reviews)

tyre reviewed on 2015-02-21 22:36:35
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 800 given 93% (155-65-14-)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
The best WINTER tire money can buy!
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-28 21:13:15
Writing about the Maxxis Victra MA510 given 88% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 50 average miles
I bought a set of these to replace some nasty GT Radials that were fitted to my car when I bought it. Even from new those tyres had abysmal grip in the wet, and as they began to wear, it got to the stage where my wheels would spin like crazy when pulling away in wet conditions if I used anything more than a kiss of throttle.
At £45 each for my Aygo, I wasn't expecting miracles from the Maxxis tyres, just hoping for a slight improvement. But the difference is night and day. No longer do I fear I'm going to lose it on every roundabout or understeer into a bush round every corner, and I can now pull away with reasonable urgency without the slightest threat of wheelspin. I feel like I'm driving a different car.
Whilst these may not be the best tyres in the world, they're all most drivers will need in terms of traction and all-round performance. I've yet to see how they compare to my old tyres in terms of wear, but at that price, I don't really care. They give me reassurance and that's what matters most.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-30 16:02:21
Writing about the Yokohama W Drive V903 given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 500 average miles
These are fitted to my wife's Toyota Aygo MMT and we have only recently tested them on icey roads. On a minor 60mph road with heavy frost -3 degrees at 7.30am they were a bit sketchy at 50mph on sweeping bends but never having used winter tyres before I didn't know what to expect. That said I assumed the car behind had summer tyres as he dropped back quickly. It all seemed a bit light on feedback but predictable as long as I kept speed down a bit. Driving in wet and dry have been fine with no noticeable difference from stock continentals. No noticeable wear so far.
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-04 21:15:56
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 800 given 83% (155-65-14-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
Had these tyres on the Wife's Aygo every winter since the big freeze of 2010.

They have paid for themselves that first winter, I was one of the few able to get to work during the heavy snow.

Fantastic grip in the wet or dry in the winter months, braking is incredible in the snow and ice and also wet. Left the car parked on an extremely steep hill in the snow, performed a hill start with no problems.

Road noise more than the Continental ecocontact3's but the ride is far better, I assume due to the more flexible sidewalls and also the rubber content.

Extremely good tyres

Wear is impressive my wife drove with them on until early summer without any noticeable wear or handling/braking deficencies.

tyre reviewed on 2012-09-19 19:48:27
Writing about the Bridgestone Blizzak LM30 given 81% (155-65-14-T)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 easy going miles
I've used this tyres during last two winters. The dry grip is not bad, but it's important to handle the car knowing that this are winter tyres. The wet grip is awesome, I've never suffered aquaplaning not even crossing deep puddles. In the snow the grip is fairly good, I've never been stuck and I always have the total control of the car, even with 10 cm thickness or driving at 80 km/h on the motorway.

The wear is moderate, I'm using them again next summer because they don't reach the winter indicator (4 mm depth) of the tyre yet. They are more noisy than summer tyres (Conti Premium Contact 2).

I would buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2014-04-21 19:13:43
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 800 given 81% (155-65-14-)
Driving on mostly town for 3000 average miles
Excellent on snow and ice, moderate performance at temperature above 10 degree C.
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-09 23:21:12
Writing about the Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL given 67% (195-45-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
I went from a 205/40 16 inch Yokohama Parada Spec C to these tyres. The Yokohama's have great dry grip, poor wet, terrible snow and are noisy. These have a lot lower dry grip, about same wet grip and better snow grip due to tread pattern. They are slightly more narrow of course and higher sidewall. They start to slide early but are very progressive, though they do make the howling noise when sliding more than the Yokohama's which causes unwanted attention.

They don't have any wow factor but are fine, nothing outstanding but nothing terrible either. My car is light so no wear issues even with lots of slippage when driving in spirited manner.

tyre reviewed on 2009-12-31 07:11:12
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre