Toyota Celica VVTi 140 Tyres

Drive a Toyota Celica VVTi 140? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Toyota Celica VVTi 140
Vredestein Quatrac 3 (47) 82% 87% 79% 76% 76% 76% 82% 80% 489,402
Pirelli P ZERO Asimmetrico (14) 87% 82% 84% 74% 80% 73% 72% 79% 303,043
Avon ZV5 (104) 84% 79% 77% 77% 71% 78% 75% 77% 1,274,055
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (150) 83% 76% 77% 76% 73% 75% 78% 77% 2,457,523
Nexen N6000 (61) 81% 70% 75% 66% 71% 75% 66% 72% 605,469
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT (35) 86% 76% 75% 78% 60% 68% 54% 71% 322,530
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (118) 69% 48% 56% 53% 69% 48% 43% 55% 1,171,447
Autogrip F107 (118) 57% 28% 43% 37% 59% 49% 28% 43% 881,261

Toyota Celica VVTi 140 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Avon ZV5 given 91% (205-50-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 23000 spirited miles
7/4/2013. I drive a (standard) Toyota Celica 7th Gen 140bhp vvti. Oddly perhaps, I think that these tyres perform better in the wet than they do in the dry. I say this because in the dry it is much easier to drive quicker and find the limit, and on that limit the tyres may as well be made of Bakelite, but what you come to realise is that you are carrying quite a lot of speed into the corners so in terms of price/performance it is quite acceptable. In the wet they are very good, surprisingly good, there seems to be acres of grip, probably down to the hefty amount of sipes - the ZV5 is a good all-season tyre. I had quite a lot of grip in the snow (2-4 inches of ) too. The good thing about these tyres are that they provide good feedback and are quite controllable on the limit - although much of this may be down to my Celica handling setup (which is as the day it left the factory). Whilst in terms of dry grip I much prefer other tyres (such as Pirelli's) - what surprised me was the wear rate of the Avons, after 2 years/25k of enthusiastic (A-road and dual carriageway) driving I still had 3mm of tread on the front, and 6mm on the rear - I didn't even get an MoT advisory on them like i was expecting. Again, this may be attributed to the Celica being quite kind to tyres as it is quite a light and low car. However, I have bought a pair of fresh tyres for the front and again went for the ZV5s, whilst they may not be the very best tyre, the level of grip coupled to the low wear rate means that these are very good value for money in my opinion. Recommended!
tyre reviewed on 2013-04-07 11:46:28
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT given 87% (205-45-16-W)
Driving on mostly town for 18000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2011-01-09 00:49:39
Writing about the Pirelli P ZERO Asimmetrico given 86% (205-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 35000 spirited miles
I have only driven this car with these tyres so it is difficult to compare the Pirellis to other performance tyres but I have been very impressed with the tyre wear - they have lasted 35,000 miles on a mixture of country lanes and motorways so I would buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-09 14:05:31
Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac 3 given 84% (205-50-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 27000 average miles
Great all season tyres ideal when you live in a village surounded by hills and poorly gritted winter roads. Now snowy and muddy lanes can be tackled with confidence. Amazingly quiet and comfortable although getting a bit noisy as nearing 3mm tread after nearly 30k miles! About to replace with another set. Have also fitted 205/45/R17 set to my GF's MX5 and transformed its comfort and road holding although no opportunity to test in snow yet. About to replace with another set.
tyre reviewed on 2012-07-02 18:47:29
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU31 given 78% (205-50-16-W)
Driving on mostly town for 75 average miles
I had 2 of these fitted to the front of my Celica a week ago after reading reviews on this site. They replaced Michelin Primacy HP's, and I doubt they will match the Michelins for overall grip, but the Kumho's are noticably quieter, so swings and roundabouts. I haven't had much time on them yet but can say that wet grip seems reasonably good. Dry grip also seems good, but we haven't had much in the way of dry roads since they were fitted so will update soon. So far for the price I have to say they are great value.
tyre reviewed on 2009-12-05 16:57:15
Writing about the Nexen N6000 given 64% (215-35-18-)
Driving on track for 0 average miles
great tires for a small price used on my tuned Celica vvt-i track car
tyre reviewed on 2012-08-22 22:40:19
Writing about the Avon ZV5 given 54% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
Very disappointed. I have a 2005 Celica VVTi with Koni adjustable dampers and Black Diamond fast road pads for spirited driving (a little rallying on tarmac stages as well). Once the tyres wear down to 3mm they are susceptible to aquaplaning. General wet weather grip is OK but understeer is prominent for fast road driving. Corner entry in the wet is significantly lower with these tyres than Toyo Proxes T1-R. Dry grip doesn't fair that well either. Tyre does loose grip progressively but the more you load the tyre the less grip there seems to be. Heavy braking almost instantly activates the ABS on my car even when braking from 30-0mph.
tyre reviewed on 2014-12-12 12:01:02
Writing about the Autogrip F107 given 34% (205-50-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1200 spirited miles
I wouldn't fit these to a wheelbarrow!

What upset me most is the guy who fitted them has a Celica himself!

These were on the back and the tail constantly slid out on bends at 30mph!

Cushions give better road feel.

I soon stripped all four tyres off and went for Vredestein SporTrac 3s all round.

Do not buy these tyres if you love your car. Buy them for someone you hate instead!

tyre reviewed on 2013-12-13 12:53:03
Writing about the Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL given 16% (205-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Terrible, terrible tyres. I had a bad experience with one of these previously and avoided them since. When purchasing a replacement vehicle recently i inherited a full set of almost new ones and gave the benefit of the doubt. Now replaced after confirmation of just how poor these are. Grip is not the best wet or dry. The car feels like it is running on 'hard' tyres or over inflated. Tread pattern seems to pick up more grit an stones than any other ive known. And the noise!!!! At low speed it's like the old Land Rover tyres and high speed like all wheel bearings have gone! Then you will notice uneven wear as the carcass starts to twist. Not a good buy. Spend an extra tenner and get something supremely better!
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-03 12:35:55
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre