Toyota GT86 Tyres

Drive a Toyota GT86? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Toyota GT86
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (388) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,694,737
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R (35) 98% 76% 92% 93% 75% 72% 94% 86% 206,505
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (154) 93% 91% 86% 88% 76% 82% 81% 85% 1,537,023
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (132) 90% 88% 83% 82% 82% 90% 81% 85% 1,085,374
Avon ZV7 (63) 87% 83% 75% 72% 78% 83% 78% 80% 319,406
Nankang AR 1 (18) 91% 50% 87% 89% 78% 74% 87% 79% 49,591
Toyo Proxes TR1 (7) 86% 66% 77% 84% 76% 76% 83% 78% 33,500
Michelin Primacy HP (195) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 75% 65% 75% 4,311,094
Federal 595RSR (45) 86% 68% 79% 81% 73% 59% 79% 75% 190,203
Yokohama Advan A050 (4) 98% 45% 93% 90% 33% 70% 93% 74% 2,000
Zeetex HP1000 (10) 80% 73% 75% 62% 83% 74% 70% 74% 167,030
Durun Sport One (3) 53% 43% 10% 3% 40% 30% 40% 31% 1,000

Toyota GT86 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 93% (215-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 spirited miles
I drive a mildly modded Toyota GT86 and compared to stock Michelin Primacy HP these tyres are a revelation. The primacy were good in dry conditions but were stiff and very unpredictable in moist or wet conditions. These have a softer sidewall which takes the edge of bumpy roads in West Yorkshire. They are very progressive and feel some in all conditions. Economy is superb on this sportier tyre too. They are wearing well despite feeling more rubbery to the touch. They have transformed the GT86 into a very predictable drive. You can still oversteer at will but atleast you get to decide! They were delivered at £74 a tyre from tyredepot. It was a difficult choice between theses and Michelin PS4 but those coat £89 a tyre . They could be marginally sportier but theses are a performance bargain.
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-18 01:07:30
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R given 90% (215-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
I'have 8000km on these and my GT86.
Wear is absolutely even on all 4 tires, i can easily project 25000 km with these rates of wear, and I am no retired driver.
The amount of grip makes the car itself scream for more power, I'd say that a Gt86 requires at least 50hp more to bring the balance and fun back after mounting these. Unless you have access to a track in which case you will have an incredible amount of fun pushing them to the limit.
Wet grip is great provided the street is doesn't become a pond, in which case the low thread will encourage aquaplanning. But in a road that is just wet and not soaking wet, these tires will have very few rivals.



tyre reviewed on 2014-02-04 14:18:34
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 83% (215-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3500 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-22 18:50:34
Writing about the Avon ZV7 given 83% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
These have been great over the summer on my RWD GT86, I think they re better in the dry than the Goodyear Eagle F1 AS2's that they replaced, quieter too, but perhaps not quite a good in the wet (need more miles and wet weather to tell). I change rims to winter tyres ever year so won't be able to comment about winter use, but as a summer tyre these are great value, very good quality, and I don't regret buying them at all (and would buy them again without hesitation), the fact that they are made in the UK is also a real bonus.
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-19 14:11:06
Writing about the Federal 595RSR given 80% (235-40-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 spirited miles
Superb!! I really enjoy the dry grip and exceptional braking that I get from these tyres. Not yet sure how long they'll last, but my first 4000 miles show very little wear despite a lot of spirited driving. A very pleasant surprise!!
tyre reviewed on 2013-08-25 22:09:09
Writing about the Federal 595RSR given 76% (235-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I'm on my 3rd set of RS-Rs which I use on the road and the track.
My 1st set was 235/40-17 and they were great - superb dry grip, firm sidewalls, good on the road, great on-track and reasonable wear.
My 2nd set was 225/45-17 and they were not good. The 225/45 size is the only one with a much shallower tread, so they wore out quickly. It also felt like the sidewalls were soft and the feel on track was squidgey, but they gripped OK.
My 3rd and current set is 235/45-17 and they're very similar to the 235/40s - very nice for road and track and I'll definately buy them again, but NOT 225/45-17s!!
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-21 07:33:52
Writing about the Michelin Primacy HP given 74% (215-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3200 average miles
Good OEM tires for the car but when they wear out I will uppgrade to better and cheaper tires (Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2)
tyre reviewed on 2013-11-22 23:24:19
Writing about the Yokohama Advan A050 given 64% (265-35-18-W)
Driving on track for 0 spirited miles
This is the fastest Yokohama tires except for slicks. There are 5 different compounds but I've seen only 3 of these compounds laying around in tire shops(G/2S, G/S, M). Also, I usually see only 2 of them on the tracks(G/S and M). Time attack guys mostly use the G/S. I'm more of an time attack guy and I've tried G/S and M (and nothing else).

M compound was disappointing. It doesn't feel any grippier than A052 and the laptime was also pretty similar to A052. Hence, I've never looked back after that. G/S is about 1% faster than A052, regardless of tracks. However, it has a very narrow window of peak performance. Which means you only got one shot or maximum two shots per session, because you won't be able to get the same time even if you do one or two cooling laps.
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-07 11:33:02
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 64% (215-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
Replacing the factory fit Bridgestone Primacys these were a revelation. Very grippy in wet and dry though a little noisy. Didn't last long though, rear grip was poor by 5,000 miles and needed replacing at 8,000. Fronts fared a little better, 10k before had to be replaced. Second set were as bad so won't be buying these again.
Great tyres when new but poor life makes them an expensive choice for me.
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-20 16:20:07
Writing about the Michelin Primacy HP given 60% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
These tyres last ages, but that's because they are low grip. They came standard on my GT86 entirely BECAUSE they are low grip and you can drift the car at low speed.

As a performance tyre they are rubbish, as a fun and go sideways tyre, great. A bit scary in the wet at high speed.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-28 20:05:39
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre