Triumph Street Triple R Tyres

Drive a Triumph Street Triple R? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Triumph Street Triple R
Michelin Pilot Road 3 (20) 93% 93% 87% 85% 91% 89% 94% 90% 114,499
Avon 3D Ultra Sport (8) 95% 75% 90% 88% 67% 88% 98% 86% 10,307
Pirelli Diablo Rosso Corsa (19) 93% 66% 89% 88% 70% 86% 85% 82% 46,406
Pirelli Diablo Rosso II (12) 91% 73% 86% 83% 73% 82% 79% 81% 35,700

Triumph Street Triple R Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Pirelli Diablo Rosso Corsa given 93% (180-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
I've had the opportunity to compare a stock Bridgestone on my previous 2012 Triumph Street Triple and the stock Pirelli DRC on my new 2013 Triumph Street Triple R. Simple put, Pirelli DRC is so much better. They stick very well with no surprises in all conditions. Just give it a couple minutes to warm up, even cold they were better. The center in showing only a tiny bit of wear and little less on sides but to be fair I'm still finishing a careful break-in on this new bike at 1550kms.

Using the Bridgestone's, they were slippery scary. I once had to drop my foot to avoid a slow speed sudden slide out in a corner! I have had no experience with the Pirelli Brand but pleasantly surprised with its performance. Having only owned in past years other brands; Dunlop, Metzler and Bridgestone, I can say these are the best I have experienced. The DRC's have provided me with very high confidence both in cold dry and wet conditions. Very good in Canadian wet cold climates. They provide quick flick-able feel in corners with super grip. On the highway, very comfortable ride, they show excellent handling at higher speeds in spirited riding on standing water conditions, heavy showers, loose pavement, uneven or bumpy surfaces.
Highly recommend the Pirelli DRC and will buy the same again.
tyre reviewed on 2013-06-26 20:17:37
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Road 3 given 84% (180-75-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
Great but do not heat up and give little feedback... BUT you do not need to know what it's doing as it just grips and grips... This is NOT a sport tyre, but far more wear and still the same lean angles just about and mega stopping power both wet and dry... Good control feels extremely hard compared to bt016 but nothing bad to say about them at all... Except your bike will feel faster and lighter but on a street triple it feels a little less sporty
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-28 23:08:18
Writing about the Pirelli Diablo Rosso Corsa given 83% (180-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
Only done about 500 miles so far, so too early to rate sensibly for wear, so ignore that rating! Fitted in British February weather (SE). Plenty of wet, cold rides and these tyres have really impressed in marginal conditions. Very good progressive feel leaning into and through bend. Can't wait for some sun and first track day!
tyre reviewed on 2011-02-17 16:55:24
Writing about the Pirelli Diablo Rosso II given 80% (180-55-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
Put these on my STR to replace the Dragon Corsa Pros that came as standard. This was a decision based more on budget than experience.

I have to say that I don't regret this decision at all. The grip is excellent and gives more confidence in cornering than the Dragons in my opinion.

I wouldn't say I ride at the ragged edge but I don't hang about and these tyres have performed consistantly and feel grippy and progressive. Most riding is done on A and B roads with a couple of longer runs and a short spell on the track.

I've put them predominantly to dry use but got caught out in some full on wet weather once and they still felt grippy.

My only gripe (and it is a small one) is that they don't wear as well as I'd like but then it's a trade off between wear rates and grip and tbh I'd rather have the grip. My Rear has lasted a little over 3000 miles and I'll be changing it shortly. I'll definitely use these again.
tyre reviewed on 2013-07-04 08:16:32
Writing about the Avon 3D Ultra Sport given 80% (180-55-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2500 spirited miles
Avon 3D Ultra is a great tyre on road and track, grip is terrific as is feedback. The drop into corners is very linear and predictable. I've had them slide a bit on damp roads and this too was very predictable and not the least bit scary. They're not quite as expensive as similar tyres from the big manufacturers. The only downside is the rate of wear, my rear tyre is wearing out after 2500 miles, the front is giving about 4500 miles. I would like to try the Supersport or the Extreme but I don't think my bank manager would like it. I only ride recreationally on road and occasionally on track and allow my throttle hand a lot of freedom, a more leisurely approach would yield better mileage but if you're looking for longevity these are not for you.
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-18 16:24:22
Writing about the Pirelli Diablo Rosso II given 74% (180-55-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3700 spirited miles
Bike: 2014 Triumph Street Triple R (standard bhp).

Riding Type: Dry roads with fast sweeping curves and tight twisties. Motorways, duel carriageways, in fact all straight roads avoided. Seldom commute or use city roads.

Superb dry grip, ok wet grip, very nice turn in, wears rapidly, good stability, predictable with good feedback, quite expensive given the wear rate.

A high quality grippy tyre for fast dry road or dry track day.

Mileage: 3700 miles
tyre reviewed on 2015-08-28 20:10:43
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre