Vauxhall Astra 1.7 CDTI Tyres

Drive a Vauxhall Astra 1.7 CDTI? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Vauxhall Astra 1.7 CDTI
Continental WinterContact TS830 (30) 90% 95% 90% 84% 85% 91% 97% 90% 144,000
Hifly HP801 (3) 93% 83% 87% 90% 90% 83% 93% 89% 16,500
Matador MP 44 Elite 3 (16) 90% 84% 85% 71% 81% 78% 88% 82% 65,313
Michelin CrossClimate (99) 90% 89% 86% 81% 86% 93% 90% 81% 1,173,939
Avon ZV7 (58) 87% 83% 73% 71% 78% 83% 80% 79% 288,406
Toyo Proxes CF1 (45) 85% 80% 80% 76% 68% 80% 76% 78% 574,601
Michelin Energy Saver (109) 83% 74% 76% 71% 86% 80% 72% 78% 2,365,208
Falken ZE912 (197) 82% 74% 76% 70% 71% 79% 73% 75% 2,160,908
Petlas Snow Master W651 (18) 77% 72% 64% 69% 83% 72% 70% 72% 114,850
Event Futurum (5) 83% 70% 70% 68% 75% 78% 60% 72% 10,400
Firestone RoadHawk (15) 88% 82% 67% 53% 48% 74% 44% 65% 68,850
Firestone F580 (3) 70% 55% 55% 55% 67% 60% 67% 61% 52,000
Bridgestone B250 (42) 65% 53% 60% 62% 70% 65% 50% 60% 927,972
Primewell PS850 (5) 56% 58% 42% 42% 42% 44% 40% 46% 38,400
Hero HR668 (2) 55% 20% 35% 35% 90% 65% 15% 45% 5,030
Autogrip F107 (125) 57% 27% 44% 37% 60% 50% 28% 43% 1,112,261

Vauxhall Astra 1.7 CDTI Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Hifly HP801 given 97% (215-60-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
Brilliant tyre all round had for year and abit and lost little tread and gives great support in wet and dry conditions I could definitely recommend to people looking for a cheap to mid range tyre
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-26 11:54:57
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS830 given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
I bought these tyres as I wanted to start driving regularly in the alps to go snowboarding as I now live in France. I admittedly don't drive very fast but these tyres were amazing. I drove several times into the alps even when 50cm of snow had fallen (the 2011/2012 season had huge snow falls in December and January), and had zero problems driving even the tiniest mountain roads at 2000m. I passed several fancy looking cars who had crashed into ditches but with my average car (A Vauxhall Astra SXI) and these tyres, both my girlfriend who is a very nervous driver even in the summer and I were totally confident. I can't wait to put them back on again in December.
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-08 11:09:05
Writing about the Avon ZV7 given 91% (215-60-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
Great tire hardly wearing suits me well handling is a dream with superb grip in dry and wet
tyre reviewed on 2018-06-22 01:51:31
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 89% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
Driven 30,000 miles on new set - 6mm tread on rear and tad over 4mm on front - Astra 1.7cdti. Reason for score of 8 on grip, road feedback and handling is I've never really pushed them cornering etc. However, i feel more confident using these, the wear is just as good as Michelin Energy I've had before. I live in East Anglia, so not lots of hills, bad roads, mainly flat. which must help on wear. For the price they are good value, will continue to buy.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-10 18:08:11
Writing about the Matador MP 44 Elite 3 given 89% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Dealer fitted on the car when purchased. Was ready to get them swapped for "proper" tyres (Bridgestone Turanza ER300 or T001), but having driven on the Matadors I don't think there's any reason to change. In fact, I think I might try and source more of these tyres in the future, rather than my normal Bridgestones.

Recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2012-05-15 19:47:39
Writing about the Falken ZE912 given 87% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 spirited miles
Replaced OEM Dunlop SP SPORT 01's with these on a VX Astra XP.
Compared to the Dunlop's, they grip as well if not better in the dry, MUCH better in the wet and are much more progressive towards the limit, whereas the Dunlop's just let go without warning. (much safer) They have a fantastic wear rating and have coped with 16k of pretty hard driving before wearing out, and only seen loss of grip right towards the end of their life. They gave me a much improved MPG, are much quieter and more comfortable on Motorway driving.
I would wholly recommend these, especially for a normal driven sport hatch type car.
I am, however, looking to try some (sadly much more expensive) Goodyears because the side-walls seem to be rather soft, so causing more rim damage and a fair bit of roll compared to the Dunlop's, which really does not suit my driving style or the set up of the car (which is a shame, otherwise these would be a 'holy grail' of a tyre! Especially for the fitted price!)

I have a feeling I am going to miss them though...
tyre reviewed on 2011-06-22 13:39:15
Writing about the Bridgestone B250 given 86% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 48000 average miles
I have two Astras both fitted with Brigestone B250 tyres I've owened the cars from 10 months (17k) to the present (32 months old) I alternate each car daily and make the same 80m round trip over the Pennines (over 1400ft high) while the other car travels 60m on the M1

After 48K and 46K the all of the bridgestones have 3mm to 4mm of tread One car is fitted with two tyres of a another make due to puncture damage. Both spares have 3mm of tread. This gives a mileage of over 31K to 3mm tread remaining for the three sets of tyres (3x4).

I've just fitted one car with four new B250s compared to the old tyres on the other car there is a big difference on snow - I can't get up the first hill on the old tyres. Ten minutes later on the new B250s no problem but quite exciting getting down in the evening. In the rain the old (non bridgestone) front tyres are poor and can skid at low speeds (30mph) while the B250 don't at 50mpg on the cross country trip.

I test the ABS on the same spot every week in each car and the amount of ABS function is less with the new compared to the old B250s (and the non Bridgestone) in the wet - I've not been able to test them in the dry yet.



tyre reviewed on 2010-02-17 17:19:25
Writing about the Firestone F580 given 86% (175-80-14-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
Have had these on my 02 plate Astra Eco4 diesel for now for 7,000 miles and I cant fault them at all. Dry grip is excellent and although my car is not built for speed the skinny 175 tyres grip extremely well when I push it. They are quiet, and smooth and also have excellent feedback. They are safe in the wet and they cut through deep puddles with ease. Although they are not a winter tyre they also handled the recent snow very well and inspired confidence if driven appropriately. Will definitely fir these again when the time comes. Forgot to mention, they wear well also.
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-12 14:17:47
Writing about the Michelin Energy Saver given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 35000 average miles
35000 miles on 14 months. Just reaching tread wear indicators on fronts.
Great tyres will buy again
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-27 08:39:23
Writing about the Avon ZV7 given 83% (205-60-16-V)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 average miles
Excellent all round tyre
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-25 13:30:56
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement