Vauxhall Zafira 1.8 16v 140Ps Tyres

Drive a Vauxhall Zafira 1.8 16v 140Ps ? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Vauxhall Zafira 1.8 16v 140Ps
Nokian WR D3 (40) 92% 90% 89% 89% 84% 87% 93% 91% 349,093
Goodyear UltraGrip 9 (31) 83% 90% 82% 84% 87% 91% 91% 89% 212,415
Bridgestone Ecopia EP150 (30) 79% 74% 75% 70% 65% 73% 67% 72% 378,571
Fortuna F3000 (4) 45% 48% 40% 38% 53% 45% 40% 44% 21,000

Vauxhall Zafira 1.8 16v 140Ps Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nokian WR D3 given 100% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 113 average miles
Let me start this way, I drive them for several years, it's certified and guaranteed quality is good investment for the safety of my family on winter roads.
Many British drivers, although do not know what that means but it is just such. :o(

WR G3 really delighted me particularly quiet driving on dry and wet road.


The total gasoline consumption by about 500 miles unchanged compared to summer tires.

I personally look forward to tidy snow, so I was able to complete test their quality.

I think this is the optimum tire in the UK such the dreaded black ice
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-27 19:31:34
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip 9 given 100% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 easy going miles
Just fitted to car, and straight away quieter and ride seemed smoother. Found great deal £83 per tyre fully fitted at tyresaving.com. I have run ultragrip 8 in previous winters and they are fantastic, so I am expecting it9 to perform even better.
tyre reviewed on 2014-10-11 11:25:02
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip 9 given 100% (205-55-17-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
Fantastic tyres, first snow and ice of year and no problems. I was driving up country lanes with snow and ice and the zafira tackled all without any problems. I drove by other motorists stuck by road conditions and the zafira to their surprise chugged uphill without any problems. 10 out of 10. Best money you can spend is on a good set of winter tires.
tyre reviewed on 2014-12-30 06:56:19
Writing about the Bridgestone Ecopia EP150 given 91% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 easy going miles
Only had them on the front for 10 days but so far so good, dry and wet performance great as well as road noise improved over the ER300's I had on before.

Have a good 3D tread pattern so should do well in snow though only time will tell once we get the snow.
tyre reviewed on 2011-12-06 15:20:28
Writing about the Fortuna F3000 given 70% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
I purchased a full set of Fortuna Sport F3000 tyres in 205/50/16 87V size and rating at a fantastic price of £39.00 per tyre online.

They are rated at WET GRIP [C] and FUEL ECONOMY [E] with a road noise rating of 71dB which is much better than the almost identical Wanli S1088 available in 87V and 87W ratings which are only rated at [E] and [E] with noise rating of 72dB, so these are definitely the better quality choice in directional pattern budget tyres.

I have fitted them to my 2002 Vauxhall Zafira 1.8 16v on alloy rims and am really pleased with them. I use my vehicle as a family wagon for getting the wife and five kids about and do a lot of city driving aswell as motorway miles.
They have a very thick, long-lasting, definitive tread that looks nice and throws water out to the sides really well making them good for wet road surfaces which is the reason why I chose them compared to other budget tyres. My Zafira is a 7-seater and not the best car for handling etc so these tyres were good for ensuring a much better grip in the wet.

They have a very appealing tread pattern that looks as good as the day they were fitted regardless of how worn through they are getting, unlike other non-directional budget tyres that have fine detail tread areas that wear through early on in the life of the tyre.

They feel nice and firm (when inflated to 32psi - 205/50/16 fairly low profile) and give a nice responsive feel.
They have a nice firm side wall rim protector which is good for preventing scuffs to alloy wheels.
On really smooth tarmac surfaces you can hear 'some' noise from them but I would not go as far as to say they were noisy tyres. I know many people complained the Wanli S1088 tyres produced before the Fortuna F3000 and of identical style were very noisy due to extra firm rubber but these are fine in my opinion.

I bought these as a set of four to replace worn tyres on a domestic road car used under average family requirements and cannot fault them under that criteria in any way. When i'm on my own in the car i do push the car much harder and drive in a more sporty agressive manner and even then they still perform fantastically both dry and wet. Wet is where they really stand out proud.
My only slight grumble was that for the first few weeks after fitting they were a bit slippy on smooth wet roads until the shiny production surface and colour printed marking stripe had worn off.
Once they had lost the surface shine on the tread they were fantastic, so I would advise perhaps a couple of quick brief 5 second wheel-spins on a smooth surface when fitted from new just to rub the surface of the tyre slightly.

Would definitely buy these tyres again and at the price they really stand out above the rest.
tyre reviewed on 2014-04-23 13:15:50
Writing about the Fortuna F3000 given 54% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Long lasting but noisy and firm. Flat shaped so good for rears but make steering a little heavier.
Hard rubber lasts very very well but are noisy compared to normal road tyres so not ideal for motorway commuting.
tyre reviewed on 2014-04-19 12:16:36
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre