Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi
Goodyear UltraGrip 9 (31) 83% 90% 82% 84% 87% 91% 91% 89% 212,415
Nokian Line (63) 93% 91% 90% 90% 84% 87% 85% 88% 845,058
Goodyear UltraGrip 8 (55) 88% 92% 86% 82% 87% 87% 94% 88% 314,343
Fulda SportControl (38) 92% 87% 84% 83% 85% 87% 89% 87% 309,931
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (77) 89% 86% 83% 85% 86% 84% 84% 86% 708,175
Goodyear Vector 4Seasons (48) 85% 84% 83% 84% 86% 86% 89% 85% 550,242
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (132) 90% 88% 83% 82% 82% 90% 81% 85% 1,085,374
Continental WinterContact TS 860 (24) 93% 94% 88% 89% 85% 90% 88% 85% 178,657
Hankook Winter i cept RS2 (18) 86% 87% 79% 84% 88% 78% 93% 84% 122,800
Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 (56) 90% 86% 84% 79% 82% 79% 86% 84% 368,862
Bridgestone B 390 (8) 89% 84% 90% 86% 78% 80% 78% 83% 198,008
Falken EUROALL SEASON AS200 (19) 78% 89% 80% 81% 81% 84% 87% 83% 198,515
Uniroyal RainExpert (129) 85% 91% 81% 76% 75% 86% 85% 83% 1,253,762
Kleber Quadraxer (40) 81% 87% 78% 70% 89% 86% 87% 83% 578,731
Michelin CrossClimate (107) 89% 87% 85% 81% 86% 92% 88% 82% 1,314,939
Yokohama C Drive (44) 86% 82% 83% 76% 78% 87% 82% 82% 974,134
Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun (73) 87% 83% 82% 83% 79% 78% 80% 82% 777,465
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (197) 88% 87% 78% 79% 74% 86% 75% 81% 2,507,645
Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response (103) 88% 84% 84% 77% 76% 80% 78% 81% 1,412,351
Michelin Pilot Exalto (56) 86% 81% 76% 80% 83% 77% 83% 81% 1,856,713
Michelin Energy Saver Plus (50) 84% 72% 79% 76% 92% 82% 81% 81% 1,320,183
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (250) 84% 93% 79% 79% 64% 83% 77% 80% 1,784,205
Barum Bravuris 2 (125) 85% 78% 78% 71% 75% 80% 80% 78% 1,393,481
Toyo Proxes CF1 (45) 85% 80% 80% 76% 68% 80% 76% 78% 574,601
Michelin Energy Saver (114) 84% 74% 76% 72% 86% 81% 73% 78% 2,550,208
Dunlop SP StreetResponse (6) 80% 83% 80% 78% 83% 65% 73% 77% 59,105
Pirelli CINTURATO P6 (15) 88% 82% 84% 65% 71% 72% 73% 76% 235,970
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (144) 87% 85% 80% 74% 59% 83% 65% 76% 1,293,819
Hankook Kinergy 4S (10) 78% 72% 69% 69% 79% 81% 75% 76% 98,500
Continental Premium Contact 5 (101) 87% 83% 76% 77% 58% 80% 66% 76% 1,104,638
Falken ZE912 (197) 82% 74% 76% 70% 71% 79% 73% 75% 2,160,908
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (173) 83% 76% 77% 71% 77% 70% 67% 75% 3,498,766
Falken FK452 (209) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73% 73% 74% 2,690,411
Continental Premium Contact 2 (181) 84% 77% 75% 72% 62% 73% 62% 72% 4,185,189
Firestone TZ200 (26) 80% 70% 70% 70% 75% 72% 69% 72% 555,558
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (153) 83% 77% 76% 73% 60% 65% 65% 71% 2,261,801
Goodyear OptiGrip (16) 74% 83% 66% 71% 71% 66% 67% 71% 208,500
Continental Sport Contact 2 (224) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,121,532
Avon ZT5 (29) 81% 67% 73% 65% 73% 74% 60% 70% 342,422
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT (47) 84% 74% 74% 75% 63% 64% 51% 69% 491,560
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (76) 82% 73% 69% 65% 63% 73% 52% 68% 815,337
Bridgestone Potenza s03 (7) 86% 54% 70% 67% 71% 60% 61% 67% 62,500
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (88) 75% 61% 68% 61% 78% 69% 57% 67% 2,031,921
Nankang NS2 (201) 76% 58% 66% 62% 74% 63% 61% 66% 1,755,759
Tigar Syneris (19) 74% 61% 63% 60% 59% 64% 58% 63% 204,100
Pirelli P6000 (169) 67% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61% 38% 55% 2,433,782
Marangoni Verso (38) 69% 48% 55% 47% 49% 54% 41% 52% 265,079
Infinity INF 030 (7) 59% 36% 47% 50% 57% 44% 33% 47% 49,252
Sunew YS618 (55) 61% 36% 47% 45% 53% 49% 33% 46% 413,762
Event GL695 (9) 60% 36% 58% 51% 50% 38% 29% 46% 25,010
Infinity INF 040 (19) 64% 33% 43% 36% 55% 42% 32% 44% 57,319
Linglong L699 (1) 50% 20% 30% 40% 70% 40% 40% 41% 35,000
BCT S800 (81) 51% 30% 39% 38% 60% 32% 25% 39% 380,496
Fullrun HP199 (74) 47% 27% 32% 32% 55% 27% 24% 35% 478,451

Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T001 given 100% (195-65-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-06-20 18:03:47
Writing about the Dunlop Sport BluResponse given 100% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11000 spirited miles
Excellent tire, grip on dry and wet is remarkable, no tire spin even at the limit at hard corners and with full throttle. Definitely recommendation, I would buy them again no questions asked.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-28 20:24:25
Writing about the Hankook Kinergy 4S given 100% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 23000 average miles
This is an update to my previous review, to report on the snow performance.

Scotland had a wee bit of bad weather at the start of March '18. For reasons I won't get into on here, I was required to drive through the red weather warning on both days, and the subsequent amber warnings of the rest of the week and this gave me a good opportunity to assess performance in snow/slush and ice. The front tyres had around 5mm left in them (having been swapped after doing 18k on the rear), the rears were effectively brand new, maybe a few thousand miles since fitting.

And that performance was exceptional.

Motorways were cleared, but icy in places. They never feit like they were going to let go without warning. They did give enough feedback to allow easing off before anything went pear shaped.

Surface streets were variable quality, with some roads in excess of 12" of snow. Others had slush and others a mix of hard pack and fresh snow. And we charged on through. Even fairly steep hills were dispatched without drama, just an occasional touch of traction control for some of worst parts. These tyres on this car means I'm getting to my destination regardless.

Now, a downside... during the snow, I damaged 2 of them (potholes can still bite when they're hidden). Thankfully, I've managed to source some replacements, they're fitted, and I'm a happy bunny again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-18 00:36:37
Writing about the Nokian Line given 100% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 easy going miles
I had this tyres on my Golf after two sets of Continentals. This tyre does the same job but only at the lower price. I dont know about wear I didnt drive them too long but first few month impression is excellent. They are produced in Russia in town near Finland.
tyre reviewed on 2018-07-25 21:00:12
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 5 given 99% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 60000 easy going miles
I had two set of these at my golf, and have driven 170000km with two sets together. If you have enough money this tyres are the best what you can wish from your tires at dry or wet road. You cannot get bad tires at Continental. But they have a price. For me they are much better than Michelins and they will last very long if you drive carefully.
tyre reviewed on 2018-07-25 20:53:50
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip 9 given 99% (205-55-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 easy going miles
Spent the winter season in the French Alps and these tyres were amazing. We had 1 metre of snow one day and after digging the car out we had no need for snow chains, either getting out of car park and drove to ski resorts without any issues and felt very secure.

Also somewhat surprised on how quiet they were on driving from and back from the UK.

Highly recommend
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-30 15:06:41
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 99% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-13 22:54:08
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response given 97% (195-65-15-T)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
Awesome tires!
Im a sporty type of driver,fast turns,hard brakes...these tires are my heroes.
Dont know about the "C" category of wet braking/
handling because these tires brake excellent on wet surfaces and feel very adherent.
tyre reviewed on 2017-08-21 06:43:40
Writing about the Vredestein Sportrac 5 given 97% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 average miles
Very good tyres, no problems.
tyre reviewed on 2013-06-09 07:47:15
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip 8 given 97% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
I drive a VW Golf MK5 1.9 TDI DSG, and these tyres a perfect match for it. I've taken the car on twisty roads and I think I have never driven so fast on those roads with any other winter tyre. The Ultragrip 8 gives you so much confidence, have very good grip yet are incredibly comfortable. I cannot pronounce myself on how long thread life is, but I wouldn't worry about this. It will definitely last the same as most other premium tyres, if not more. I would surely buy again, but I think the Ultragrip 8+ or 9 will be out by the time I have to change my tyres, given I have a pair of Vredestein Snowtrac 3 too.
tyre reviewed on 2012-06-06 20:59:43
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre