Volkswagen Golf MK6 1.6 tdi Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen Golf MK6 1.6 tdi? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen Golf MK6 1.6 tdi
Dunlop Winter Sport 5 (26) 90% 90% 82% 83% 86% 81% 88% 87% 162,000
Continental WinterContact TS 860 (24) 93% 94% 88% 89% 85% 90% 88% 85% 178,657
Vredestein Quatrac 5 (24) 82% 82% 80% 80% 86% 88% 83% 82% 249,642
Michelin CrossClimate (106) 89% 87% 85% 81% 86% 92% 88% 82% 1,284,939
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (250) 84% 93% 79% 79% 64% 83% 77% 80% 1,784,205
Kumho Solus HA31 (6) 76% 78% 76% 74% 72% 84% 82% 77% 23,500
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (144) 87% 85% 80% 74% 59% 83% 65% 76% 1,293,819
Continental Premium Contact 5 (99) 87% 84% 76% 77% 58% 80% 66% 75% 1,089,607
Davanti DX640 (52) 79% 71% 76% 75% 66% 80% 70% 74% 426,046
Continental Eco Contact 3 (53) 80% 78% 72% 68% 74% 77% 66% 73% 1,132,800
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (76) 82% 73% 69% 65% 63% 73% 52% 68% 815,337
Kormoran Snowpro B2 (4) 45% 53% 33% 43% 63% 35% 28% 43% 21,200
Constancy LY966 (1) 30% 10% 10% 10% 100% 10% 10% 26% 2,000

Volkswagen Golf MK6 1.6 tdi Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 860 given 100% (195-65-15-T)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 average miles
They're great both on snow and dry, I'm impressed!
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-05 07:51:27
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 100% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly town for 20 average miles
Quick drive on newly fitted tyres (8 May 2015): don't want to comment on handling and grip yet as I haven't given the car much and the tyres are new with release agent present. However, I can say the comfort of these tyres is beyond anything I have experienced in 25 years of motoring and, sadly, I have been interested in tyres throughout this time.

They are Soooooooo quiet on my wife's MK6 Golf Estate and they absorb the road imperfections to the same level as my 4x4 with high sidewalls. Only 5 hours into early ownership and I am already very impressed, I will review more once I have a few miles on the tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2015-05-08 19:03:48
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 99% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 easy going miles
Really good tyres that are actually fantastic in all weathers without much compromise on my Golf. 12000 miles and little wear.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-01 11:07:44
Writing about the Davanti DX640 given 93% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Bought these tyres on advice from my local tyre depot as i wanted something in the middle range bracket, had toyo on before, the difference was night and day, these are excellent in the wet and dry, didn't notice the noise levels as apparently they were meant to be quieter than the toyo i had on before but this doesn't bother me, i have covered around 6000 miles and have around 5 - 6mm left on front and back, i got the tread checked with local depot when i got a puncture, was quite surprised as they told me the tread starts at 8mm, i have also put these tyres on my wife's bmw 2254018 on the front, can not fault them at all, great value for money, especially with the life time guarantee which covers for potholes etc. Would certainly buy again
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-24 14:58:20
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 given 91% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1500 spirited miles
unbelievable tyre in the wet, had pirelli p7s on before these and the uniroyals can do in the wet what the pirellis couldnt do in the dry. very good grip in the dry also, it has mostly been wet since i got these tyres but in the dry spells the grip is great too. in the wet and greasey weather you cand find the limit of the grip with these. very impressed, will buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-16 20:30:39
Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac 5 given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 spirited miles
Thought I would try the new all season Quatrac 5 as I live 400 metres up in the valleys of Wales and drive sometimes a 1000 miles a week all over the UK. In the wet, snow and icy conditions these are unbeatable and stop the car better than any expensive top end brands on the market. About 80 per cent as good as the best summer brands in hot dry conditions and I only managed to skid the car slightly on heavy braking on dusty dry roads when driving very fast, then again what tyres won't slide slightly in these condiditions. I have done over 18'000 miles on these since January in all conditions, I just swapped the back tyres to the front and reckon I will get at least another 18 thousand out of them so great value for money too. I won't be carrying two sets of tyres for summer and winter again. They are also quiet and extremely good on rolling resistance so on a tank of fuel I gain around 40-60 miles more for my money. I won't be buying anything else again and have tried all the best makes over the years!
tyre reviewed on 2015-07-10 11:27:36
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 5 given 83% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40000 average miles
I have fitted these wheels in my two cars, Golf VI, 1.6 TDI and BMW 320CI, compared with the previous ones, Brigestone Turanza, give me much more grip in dry and wet, they are quieter, currently have 50,000 km, no problems, in the BMW I replaced a ContiSport Contact, in this case the grip in wet is better, dry are similar, what I have noticed is that at high speeds the steering is less precise. I will repeat wheels in the Golf and in the BMW I will look for something inside Continental. My driving pattern is smooth (not slow).
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-02 12:20:33
Writing about the Continental Eco Contact 3 given 79% (195-65-15-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 50000 average miles
I had these tyres as original fitted on my father's VW Golf 6 1.6 Tdi the car is from january 2012 and the tyres were produced end of 2011.
the tyre qualities are comfortable and silent ride and under braking they are still excellent
the tyres weaknesses are the wear on the shoulders when used a little more sporty than usual.
All in all is a sincere tyre made for a quiet driving style.
Now is almost time to replace them and there is very little choice on the market could buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-13 19:29:33
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T001 given 79% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 38000 easy going miles
Fronts lasted 13k miles, rears 38k miles. Tyre was grand, but expected to last longer on the fronts. Would buy again though.
tyre reviewed on 2015-02-07 18:10:48
Writing about the Dunlop Sport BluResponse given 77% (220-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
Very impressed with this tyre at first. Exceptional grip, performance, fuel economy, comfort, the works!! I drove from Swansea to Margate and reached 72 MPG with these at AVG speed of 69mph. Exceptional.

BUT
I reached about 7K miles and realised the outer edges were scuffing BADLY. Had the camber/caster checked by VW. Apparently fixed. Reached 12K miles and now they have started showing threads out of the scuff marks. Needed to be replaced. FRONT TYRES ONLY! Back tyres are still 6cm of tread throughout.

So. My advice for someone getting these for a VW. Rotate them around 5K so that you do not blow them like I did.
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-12 17:23:03
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre