Volkswagen Golf R estate Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen Golf R estate? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen Golf R estate
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (154) 93% 91% 86% 88% 76% 82% 81% 85% 1,537,023
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (132) 90% 88% 83% 82% 82% 90% 81% 85% 1,085,374
Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 (22) 77% 86% 75% 71% 88% 88% 84% 78% 214,250
Barum Polaris 5 (6) 77% 77% 73% 70% 78% 82% 60% 73% 15,300
Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus (9) 88% 66% 75% 70% 67% 69% 62% 71% 44,610

Volkswagen Golf R estate Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
Brilliant all round tyre, used on my 2018 Golf R with over 400bhp. I had R888's before and they beat these outright on dry grip but the noise was ridiculous, was to noisy for daily use. These are comfortable and very high grip in the wet and try. A perfect tyre for a daily driver.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-02 17:10:38
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 86% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Great tyre, first thing I noticed was how quiet they are. Very comfortable ride too. Dry grip is fantastic and the wet grip is good too. Can't comment on wear so early but I would use them again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-18 08:46:05
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 given 86% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
The tread is a little too soft to push hard in the dry and they complain a lot when pushing on dry round-a-bouts. But they have a lot of grip in the cold and wet! Standing water doesn't upset the balance - although this could be a result of 4motion doing its thing. I get a bit of 4-wheel drift on greasy (salted) bends if I'm pushing on, but they let you know what's happening at all times and breakaway is gradual, so no surprises. Great tyre, well suited for the relatively mild winter climate I live in.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-16 21:50:13
Writing about the Barum Polaris 5 given 74% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Living in north of the UK. Oddly asymmetrical for a winter tyre, but not to detriment of performance. Dry grip at extreme lacking compared to summer tyres, as expected, but decent performance in wet and icy weather. This is from 'spirited' driving in all conditions. Unable to comment on wear at this stage. Having used Dunlop Wintersport, Michelin Crossclimate, Vredenstein Wintrac Xtreme and Hankook IceBear in the past these rate well with all, currently - but early days!

Will update more once we've had decent snow but happy so far @ £70 a corner.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-29 16:42:01
Writing about the Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus given 43% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 150 spirited miles
These were fitted after trying some of Nankang's track tyres (NS-2R) on a different car which I thought were excellent. I thought it was only fair to give some if their UHP road tyres a go.

They've been on for a week and they're coming off already. Never before have I experienced a tyre that has changed the characteristics of a car so much (for the worse).

To start with they weigh a ton which was never going to be a good start. They make the car feel like I’ve fitted run flats. But the real change is in the precision and feedback from the steering which has just vanished. Turn in is vague. The accuracy around the straight ahead is woolly at best and as you increase steering angle they weight up hideously. All confidence in the front end has gone and I'm going round corners noticeably slower than I was on the Contis as I simply haven't got a clue/don't trust what's going on underneath me.

Add to that every tiny imperfection in the road is transmitted to the cabin making for a less comfortable and more fidgety ride. Some people will say that's feedback, but premium tyres somehow seem to give you what you need and filter out the rest. These just send absolutely everything to the steering wheel and your backside.

I haven’t even driven them in the rain. I can’t be bothered to wait for some. They’ve ruined a brilliant car and on that basis alone they're coming off.

Are they dangerous? I wouldn't go that far. If you have no interest in driving and only ever buy budget tyres then you're not going to notice their dynamic shortcomings. Nankang should also be applauded on their Road Hazard Lifetime Tyre Warranty where they'll replace the tyre on a sliding discount scale (excluding fitting and disposal) dependent on how much tread is left on your non-repairable tyre. However for anybody that possesses sensory receptors in their fingers and backside, these are going to fall a long way short.

I never expected the AS-2+ to stand up to the CSC6, but I didn't expect them to be this far off either.
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-18 11:20:58
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement