Volkswagen Passat 1.9 TDI Sport Estate (B5.5) Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen Passat 1.9 TDI Sport Estate (B5.5)? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen Passat 1.9 TDI Sport Estate (B5.5)
Continental WinterContact TS830 (30) 90% 95% 90% 84% 85% 91% 97% 90% 144,000
Nokian Line (62) 93% 91% 90% 90% 84% 87% 85% 88% 820,058
Goodyear UltraGrip 8 (55) 88% 92% 86% 82% 87% 87% 94% 88% 314,343
Vredestein Sportrac 3 (60) 85% 91% 80% 80% 76% 79% 85% 82% 658,266
Continental WinterContact TS 830 P (30) 85% 89% 82% 81% 85% 89% 89% 81% 292,850
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Michelin Primacy HP (194) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 75% 65% 75% 4,267,594
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66% 73% 75% 818,878
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (172) 83% 76% 77% 71% 77% 70% 67% 75% 3,486,640
Falken FK452 (209) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73% 73% 74% 2,690,411
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (75) 82% 73% 70% 65% 63% 73% 51% 68% 790,337
Goodyear EfficientGrip (119) 77% 66% 61% 58% 69% 71% 52% 65% 1,454,267
Sunew YS618 (55) 61% 36% 47% 45% 53% 49% 33% 46% 413,762

Volkswagen Passat 1.9 TDI Sport Estate (B5.5) Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS830 given 100% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
I was converted to winter tyres several years ago, starting off with some Toyo Snowprox (not great, but still significantly better than summer tyres) and for the past 2 or 3 winters I've used Dunlop Wintersport 3Ds which have been excellent.
This year I needed a new pair and decided to put a pair of Continental TS830s on the front, due to the good results they were getting in the european winter tyre tests.

They are simply awesome, and jaw-droppingly capable in snow. I'd probably rate them higher than the Wintersport 3Ds.
I can't recommend them enough.

If you've not used winter tyres yet, it's hard to explain how much better they are.
So, I have some in-car footage of them in action on my Passat:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1lhf0kq_SUo

(If the link is not published, search youtube for a video entitled "Continental TS830 winter tyres in action"...)

tyre reviewed on 2010-12-09 08:19:00
Writing about the Maxxis MA Z1 Victra given 91% (225-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 average miles
The best tire I've ever tried.
When you think that you run to the limet when cornering, then you are wrong. even on poorly paved roads, these tires have maximum grip also with bad weather condition.

Don't think about it, just go for it and try them!
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-25 09:15:47
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 830 P given 90% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on mostly town for 20000 spirited miles
Great tyres, the "fat" passat goes easily through the snow and ice. A few times these tyres have saved me from crash (panic braking on -10 degrees, slippery surface) so I believe it was a good investment.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-22 09:06:08
Writing about the Vredestein Sportrac 3 given 90% (205-60-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 35000 average miles
Superb tyres, good wet and dry performance, great milage, 35k miles with one front to rear swap at 18k miles. Changing now to Snowtrac 3 for the winter.
Wouls have again without question.
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-14 16:02:01
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip 8 given 78% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
Living in rural north east of Scotland you have to be prepared for anything.
Spent the whole of last winter clearing drive to get car in after work then spent another hour in morning clearing drive to get car out, driving on Continental Sport. Fitted Ultragrip8 and drove 1800 miles dry / wet roads before snow came 04 Dec, really tried to push it since then to see how good they really were - no complaints whatsoever - well maybe one - hating the driver in front who does not have them fitted and can't get going!
tyre reviewed on 2011-12-09 22:47:28
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza ER300 given 73% (225-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 23000 average miles
Front pair did 23000 mainly motorway miles in VW Passat TDi Estate. Still got 1-2mm of tread left although changed the pair due to a puncture in one of them. This is comparable or a better wear rate than Michelin's previously used. Have brought again.
tyre reviewed on 2011-07-31 08:28:07
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip given 70% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
I have had 6 Efficient Grip and 2 Efficient Grip Performance in Total on my 55 plate Passat 1.9 TDIi. They are very quiet, have reasonable road holding, but not at extremes. They do give good consumption and better ewra than the OE Contisprts. However I would not recommend them unless you can guarantee never touching anything with the sidewalls, as they are made of cheese or something even softer. The first set developed a bulge in one of the tyres after 8K miles, meaning it was not safe and had to be replaced. I then bo
bought another pair when they fronts wore out and had a catastrophic blow out after only 10 days, meaning another £80 quid as Merit Tyre says it's down to the manufacturer to say whether there is a fault. Do not buy these tyres if you have to drive anywhere with even the slightest of rough conditions, and don't expect any support from Goodyear when they do blow
tyre reviewed on 2013-12-08 11:38:49
Writing about the Michelin Primacy HP given 66% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 70000 average miles
Great for summer use, especially on larger vehicles. Quiet and comfortable. However, totally gripless on snow and ice even when new - you are better off walking in severe winter conditions. Have got through a set of fronts about every 17,000 miles and rears perhaps 25,000. I don't drive particularly hard but do have to accelerate confidently to join a main road safely each weekday morning.
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-06 09:17:04
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 64% (235-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
Good looking tyre that grips very well in both wet and dry. The wear so far has been good as the tyres have been on the front of the car for almost 2 years now and still have plenty of life left in them. They replaced a set of Conti's which lasted less than 12000 miles. However the down side of having tyres that last longer is that they are made with a harder compound which brings with it the increase in noise.
A good tyre, but due to the huge increase in road noise i will not buy another set.
tyre reviewed on 2011-07-07 12:24:16
Writing about the Nokian Line given 56% (195-65-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8500 easy going miles
Bought these after reading many reviews and wanting a midrange value for money tyre,but i`m afraid to say very disappointed as they have only covered 8500 miles and are down to 3mm. Fitted to front even wear across whole tyre so no tracking or inflation issues and driven sensibly at all times also road noise increased as tread went down will not buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2017-06-16 16:39:46
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement