Volkswagen Passat CC Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen Passat CC? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen Passat CC
Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 (8) 94% 99% 96% 98% 93% 91% 99% 96% 115,000
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (219) 92% 89% 87% 86% 79% 86% 88% 87% 2,072,407
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (134) 86% 94% 80% 80% 61% 84% 75% 80% 879,527
Avon ZZ5 (43) 87% 80% 82% 81% 69% 84% 76% 80% 219,117
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (45) 90% 86% 83% 82% 61% 78% 65% 78% 306,361
Kumho IZen KW27 (26) 75% 75% 74% 72% 82% 85% 74% 77% 282,300
Toyo Snowprox S953 (7) 80% 80% 65% 77% 82% 76% 76% 76% 73,000
Continental Sport Contact 3 (213) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 75% 68% 76% 2,888,297
Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat (20) 83% 74% 73% 72% 74% 59% 59% 70% 231,071
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (175) 84% 70% 75% 72% 65% 59% 59% 69% 2,769,678
Wanli S1063 (66) 73% 58% 62% 60% 77% 64% 61% 65% 5,542,981
Wanli S1088 (73) 56% 32% 37% 35% 58% 35% 27% 40% 599,689

Volkswagen Passat CC Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental ContiSportContact 5 P given 100% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15000 spirited miles
02.01.2012
Just today fitted 2 off Conti Sport 5 to front wheels of Passat CC 2.00 tdi
140 bhp Blue motion (2011 model)
Replacing Conti Sports 3's which had covered 15000 miles in 9 months of mainly fast motorway driving.
Cant say anything yet as no miles covered, Hope they are better than 3's as never 100% sure with grip, and not really happy with wear rate, but on changing found that all 4 tyres were 7 psi under inflated 32psi not 39 psi and tracking was out on front.
Putting the correct PSI in has certainly hardened up ride even on comfort setting, will be interesting when I switch to Sport (shake my fillings loose)

Anyway I will update when a few miles covered
tyre reviewed on 2012-01-02 16:16:07
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 93% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 28000 average miles
The Vredestein Ultrac Sessantas were already fitted to the car when I purchased it in September 2014 so unable to say how many miles they had done up to then. I changed the front two in July of 2015 before driving to Europe and just changed the two on the rear this month (February 2016) which had done at least 28000 miles which is what I have driven since buying the car so they have done more than that and they were still within the legal limit. I have been buying these tyres from Camskill on line, who have them at a great price, and I will continue to do so until stock runs out as I believe they are a discontinued model. I cannot fault these tyres (although to me they seem a bit noisy), I've driven them in all seasons in all weather without any problems. When in Germany last year I drove the car in excess of 100 mph for several hours and the car handled well so for me these tyres are very good.
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-24 19:08:20
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 given 93% (235-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
This is the third winter that I am using these tires, I have done around 12.000 km so far and the tread still looks as new. On the dry in everyday driving they feel almost as summer tire. Wet grip is amazing, snow grip also. On highway speeds they shine the most.
Only objection would be increased noise in comparison to my previous Alpin 4, but still rather comfortable.
tyre reviewed on 2014-12-29 09:26:19
Writing about the Toyo Snowprox S953 given 91% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
I purchased these tires instead of my previous Dunlop SP on my CC Passat.
I tested them on icy road, on snow and wet and i can tell that i am more than surprised, as these tires are 35% less expensive than previous ones.
Especially i am satisfied in wet corners on higher speed and snow grip is fantastic.
Would recommend to anyone
my tire fitment is 235/45/17
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-06 09:13:59
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat given 86% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2011-05-24 18:15:54
Writing about the Wanli S1063 given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 6000 average miles
Have now done almost 6000 miles on these tyres at the front of my Passat CC.
They replaced Continental Sport Contact 3 tyres that had done about 19k miles - the Wanlis don't grip as well in the wet but I don't drive aggressively and do mostly motorway miles.

I would say there's been hardly any wear and they will easily outlast the previous Contis.......hope I'm right !!

Very happy with them so far and would definately buy again - can't understand the bad reviews - as several people have stated you want top performance tyres then spend the money and don't expect miracles from budget tyres.

tyre reviewed on 2013-08-02 15:40:49
Writing about the Avon ZZ5 given 81% (225-35-19-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20 average miles
To review the tyre is based on 40k/yr motorway miles mainly. I have these on my Passat CC 170GT DSG. Because of the low profile trying to find a quiet tyre that grips is difficult. The grip in the dry is outstanding, the wet grip has never shaken my confidence, taking into account the stopping distance is greater. The tyres have lasted about 20k miles, they are excellent but repeated visits to the garage for vibration in braking turned out to be uneven tyre wear that Avon are aware of..... For what you pay for them in relation to premium tyres its not to be sniffed at. But I, would not use them again because of the wear on the pattern (the tyre is no longer perfectly round).
tyre reviewed on 2015-02-13 19:03:06
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 given 81% (235-35-19-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 13000 spirited miles
Front two tyres have just reached the limit after a year (approx 13,000 miles), rears still have about 5mm left.
Pros:
Grip in the dry is excellent with the grip in the wet not far behind.
Feedback is also good and lets you really feel when you are approaching the limit (although sport springs were put into the car at the same time as the tyres went on which will have improved road feedback).
Cons:
Fronts did wear out rather quick although I did expect this considering the levels of grip on offer.
Comfort was somewhat lacking, this being a low profile tyre I really did feel every bump, cats eye etc.. However the worst part was the road noise which was horrendous on rough surfaces or rumble strips although it was bearable on the motorway or at low speeds through the town.
Won't be replacing the front tyres with these this time, going to try something different but could be an option for the rears again.
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-05 21:57:38
Writing about the Kumho IZen KW27 given 70% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-07-08 16:58:26
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 66% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 24000 average miles
A good tyre for overall moderate performance. Noisy when it wears down. Not as much feel as I'd like. Worn out by just under 40,000kms which is fair
tyre reviewed on 2015-12-21 07:46:02
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement