Volkswagen Polo 1.4 TDI Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 TDI? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen Polo 1.4 TDI
Continental WinterContact TS 800 (11) 88% 93% 85% 87% 88% 88% 96% 89% 230,000
Continental WinterContact TS 850 (48) 90% 91% 86% 87% 86% 90% 90% 89% 363,130
Nexen Winguard Snow G WH2 (6) 90% 82% 83% 83% 88% 85% 97% 86% 33,000
Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun (73) 87% 83% 82% 83% 79% 78% 80% 82% 777,465
Michelin Energy Saver Plus (50) 84% 72% 79% 76% 92% 82% 81% 81% 1,320,183
Pirelli CINTURATO P1 (19) 86% 79% 79% 73% 81% 89% 78% 81% 121,108
Sava Eskimo S3 (30) 73% 65% 70% 71% 77% 75% 78% 77% 460,000
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (144) 87% 85% 80% 74% 59% 83% 65% 76% 1,293,819
Matador MP 16 Stella 2 (9) 83% 69% 77% 71% 82% 77% 73% 76% 172,108
Nexen N2000 (13) 81% 75% 75% 65% 82% 76% 78% 76% 191,000
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74% 74% 76% 1,643,400
Firestone TZ200 (26) 80% 70% 70% 70% 75% 72% 69% 72% 555,558
Firestone F700 (8) 84% 61% 74% 73% 71% 69% 60% 70% 138,510
Firestone RoadHawk (18) 88% 81% 70% 57% 51% 76% 46% 67% 94,850
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (143) 80% 69% 70% 67% 64% 64% 54% 67% 2,099,560
Goodyear EfficientGrip (119) 77% 66% 61% 58% 69% 71% 52% 65% 1,454,267
Avon ZV3 (28) 72% 63% 65% 66% 58% 66% 52% 63% 465,030
Mohawk M112 (27) 59% 34% 45% 39% 54% 47% 28% 44% 95,152

Volkswagen Polo 1.4 TDI Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 850 given 100% (215-45-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
Bought a set for my VW Polo 2016 for winter monts, and they are excellent tires. Grip si great in all kind of conditions from icy and snowy to sloshy to wet and dry. Consistant. They are confortable, and silent in dry. In wet there is little bit of winding noise above 50 mph, but nothing to extreme. This tires give me confidence and sense of security, so I am very pleased with them.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-20 10:45:31
Writing about the Nexen Winguard Snow G WH2 given 89% (185-60-14-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Bought these because my Sava Eskimo S3+ needed replacement. For first winter I'm very impressed, very good grip in every condition. In comparison to Sava, they offer much more grip, especially in wet and they are much more quieter (previously on motorways I thought that irritating noise is coming from the wheel bearing or engine but after replacing tyres noise was gone). I don't feel any difference in snow between Nexen and Sava but I feel much more confident driving on Nexen then Sava. Excellent tyre for the money, highly recommended!!
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-21 11:51:34
Writing about the Firestone F700 given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 41000 spirited miles
Very nice tyre. Highly recommended
tyre reviewed on 2011-06-12 21:48:32
Writing about the Firestone TZ200 given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-04 23:10:00
Writing about the Matador MP 16 Stella 2 given 87% (185-65-14-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 35000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2014-06-27 20:40:02
Writing about the Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun given 86% (195-55-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
Bought these after Firestone Roadhawk, and my Good, what a positive transformation. Dry and wet grip are very good, they feel a little bit stiffer but as you warming them more and more (in dry) they become softer and performing better and better. Unlike Firestones, handling and cornering is much better, I'm amazed with how much confidence I can enter corner with my little VW ''dragon''. :) I'm amazed how much grip these tyres are providing. Road feedback is very good and they are not so noisy. Only little negative thing is that over a bumpy road, ride can get a little bit uncomfortable. Overall, great tyres for the price, I highly recommend them and would buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-21 18:04:40
Writing about the Avon ZZ3 given 86% (205-40-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2011-03-10 22:46:15
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 800 given 81% (185-55-14-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 60000 average miles
These tyres lasted me 3 winters, swapping to summer tyres from March/ April and back in November/ December between the years of 2010 to 2013. New they offered amazing grip in the snow and wet. Never threatened to aquaplane when hitting deep standing water. They always gripped well in all types of snow, from 2ft deep to thick slush.

Noise wise, they didn’t seem any noisier then my summer tyres, and seemed to grip almost as well in the dry.

Last winter, the grip in the snow and wet seemed to be greatly reduced, and they seamed to aquaplane easily. The tread was 1mm above the ware marker and the diamonds on the top of the blocks had almost worn away. Buying another set again this year. Top quality tyre for a good price. (£70)
tyre reviewed on 2013-10-09 15:24:28
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given 79% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Came standard on VW Polo 2016 model. Decent in dry conditions, not so in the wet. I feel confident in dry grip, and they are preety silent, and confortable. In wet however I don't feel confident. Hill starts sometime end up in wheelspin. Wear seems allright on light car such as VW Polo after 1 year.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-20 10:35:45
Writing about the Avon ZV3 given 77% (185-55-14-H)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10 spirited miles
My car has a full set of Avon ZV3, they have been impressive and compare well to premium branded models I have had.

Good points: Good wet grip and compare well to premium tyres in that respect. I generally don't hang about and I find that cornering grip in wet conditions is among the best, a real surprise. They provide decent feedback and dry grip also is very good. I have no problems with the drive of these tyres, even when pushed.

Bad points: Tyre noise seems higher than other brands but not excessive. They appear to be quite a tyre with a firm sidewall which doesn't help the ride quality. Wear is average but my front ones are just about bald on the outside shoulders, despite tracking and pressure being ok.

A good tyre and I would try another tyre from the Avon range again after experiencing these.

I need to replace the front pair now as they are just about on the wear markers. I had considered replacing with some more ZV3s but for the same prices more modern tyres can be had, the Avons score poorly on the new classification for rolling resistance (G) so I'm looking for something a bit more 'eco', Hankook Kinergy Eco perhaps.
tyre reviewed on 2014-05-07 12:05:08
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre