Volkswagen Polo 6R GTI 1.4TSI (180HP) Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen Polo 6R GTI 1.4TSI (180HP)? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen Polo 6R GTI 1.4TSI (180HP)
Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 (29) 86% 84% 83% 85% 79% 79% 87% 83% 145,273
Goodyear Eagle F1 Directional 5 (25) 86% 82% 83% 85% 78% 80% 83% 82% 293,644
Dunlop Direzza DZ102 (9) 84% 80% 80% 64% 70% 78% 83% 77% 58,000
Toyo T1R (275) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,599,183
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (200) 83% 70% 75% 72% 66% 59% 58% 69% 3,359,928
Goodyear EfficientGrip (119) 77% 66% 61% 58% 69% 71% 52% 65% 1,454,267
Accelera Alpha (127) 65% 44% 54% 49% 69% 56% 49% 55% 1,078,578

Volkswagen Polo 6R GTI 1.4TSI (180HP) Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 given 81% (215-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 19000 average miles
Dry and wet grip are equally good so one is not exceptional over the other. I found the tyre to be very quiet as compared to the Goodyear Direction 5's and Dunlop Direzza DZ102's I had fitted on previously. There was not much feedback other than tyre squeal when you were approaching the limit. Having said that, I am currently 30,000KMs into the tyre and the wear rate is fantastic. Would definitely recommend as a drama and fuss free tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2018-06-29 13:15:43
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Directional 5 given 79% (215-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 31 spirited miles
I had gone through a set of Directional 5’s in 50,000KM and it served me well. It was my first set of Ultra High Performance tyres so I could not make acceptable comparisons due to my lack of experience.

However, now having gone through Dunlop’s Direzza DZ102 and Yokohama’s Advan V701, I can confidently say that the Directional 5’s was a lot more confidence inspiring and longer lasting than any of the others aforementioned.

Dry grip is good but it really excels in the wet. These tyres had never made me felt a lack of confidence in all my time with it - so much so that even with ~30% of thread left, I was still tackling corners at way above legal speed limits. I knew the tyres were done for when I oversteered during a rainy day on a high speed corner.

Every other tyre I’ve used after this has failed to give me the confidence this tyre has. I am going back to this tyres after my Advan V701s are done with - which is soon after 40,000 KMS.

Definitely recommended for cars up to 200whp.
tyre reviewed on 2018-07-24 05:10:44
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A given 71% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 spirited miles
I still have between 30 and 40 percent left on the tyres. They've worn quite well. Wet performance has been okay. Slight hydroplaning during heavy rains, but not too bad. My issue has been their propensity to understeer when pushed hard through faster corners. Wheelspin on takeoff is also an issue. will be changing to Bridgestone Adrenilin RE002/3s next.
tyre reviewed on 2015-07-01 16:16:29
Writing about the Dunlop Direzza DZ102 given 70% (215-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15500 spirited miles
Grip in the dry was good while grip in the wet was average. Comfort was much better than the Goodyear Directional 5 tyres I had fitted on. Unfortunately, the wear rate is reason enough for me not to buy this tyre again. At 25,000KM, I had not expected the tyres to be at the end of its life.
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-18 09:45:44
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip given 27% (215-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8 spirited miles
Okay let me first start by saying I gave this tire the benefit of the doubt as it is OEM on other VW's here in South Africa, it was well priced had a better speed rating of my previous tires which were Bridgestone Potenza RE050A's which come standard on the VW Polo GTI.

This was undoubtedly the worst decision I have ever made! I first had 2 fitted to the rear of my car, as I had a bubble after hitting a pothole. I did not feel much change in the cars handling as it is a front wheel drive car as I took the set of Bridgestones that were on the rear and put them on the front "money was tight then".

I later wore the Bridgestones out and had to replace the front 2. From the get go I could feel the difference, at speed this tire feels like jelly even though having a Y speed rating over my previous V! cruising speeds are ok from 100kph to 130kph, ride is so bouncy with this tire! its truly unbearable even though i have adjustable sport shocks with high performance springs!

This tire is rubbish and after being on my car for less than 5500km its making its way to the trash!

I highly DO NOT recommend this tire to anyone owning a high performance car, its truly jelly in the dry and down right scary in the wet! Changing to the Bridgestone S001's and will provide my feedback on them to.
tyre reviewed on 2015-02-07 08:48:50
Writing about the Accelera Alpha given 10% (205-35-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 800 easy going miles
worst tyres ever by far

never will i ever buy the tyres again - please feel free to mail me to send you a mail - tyres aint even a year old - what a waste of my money... i need the official website to lof a complaint for the tyres - - -
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-03 06:03:50
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 0% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
I drive a 2013 VW Polo gti. The Toto Proxes Sport is a bad tyre for this hot hatch. On high speed cornering with braking, the car wobbles like crazy. I never had that experience with my previous OEM Michelins. It's frightening! I'm changing it to Michelin Sport today
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-18 03:36:29
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement