Volvo S60 R AWD Tyres

Drive a Volvo S60 R AWD? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo S60 R AWD
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (138) 91% 88% 83% 79% 71% 80% 79% 82% 1,598,123
Continental Extremecontact DWS 06 (3) 93% 87% 80% 87% 73% 67% 77% 80% 67,500
Falken FK453 (28) 76% 70% 61% 58% 59% 68% 58% 64% 219,200
Yokohama ADVAN Sport (34) 76% 66% 64% 65% 47% 50% 45% 59% 314,562
Accelera PHI (128) 70% 47% 55% 54% 67% 59% 53% 58% 1,140,962

Volvo S60 R AWD Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Accelera PHI given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Excellent Tyres. No problems atall easily got 20k from a Volvo S60 R AWD.

Cushdy!!
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-14 17:27:15
Writing about the Continental Extremecontact DWS 06 given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 41500 spirited miles
Great tire for our Volvo S60 AWD T6. No real need for a winter tire in Toronto.
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-21 18:21:47
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric given 74% (235-40-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 11000 average miles
I always remember having the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3, I loved this tyre. However the Assymmetric version is better in terms of stronger tyre wall, so the car feels more stable on the road in the corners. The grip however in the wet is better but in the wet, I think the GSD3 is on equal par, its just that the GSD3 tread was more tailored as a summer tyre. The road noise was the same as the GSD3. Again its a shame that the tread pattern is less attractive, but for the perspective of becoming a tyre to last the driver throughout the course of the year its definitely the more practical choice. Especially as the UK climate is changing and our winter weathers have the risk of snow. The tread pattern on the Assymmetric is better as a winter and snow type so another plus.

As for cost, it did not last me long, but I enjoyed every drive and turn. I will look forward to getting the Goodyear Eagle Assymmetric 2 at some point as this is mean't to be a different compund which does last longer, and I think in this economy we might look or that value for money for out Car shoes to last just a little bit longer.

Again good attempt Goodyear, the tread appeal has gone, but they perform well. When I get the Assymmentric 2's, I will post up my point of view.

I would recommend to just go for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Assymetric 2 as this is a better version of the ones I bought.
tyre reviewed on 2011-09-16 08:24:54
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Sport given 67% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1200 spirited miles
"I replaced them with Goodyear F1 Assymetric and the difference is like night and day."
My track experience is exactly the opposite : after many V103S, I wanted to test other tyres and bought F1AS : for the first time, I must leave the track after only 10min, I lost the grip completely when the tyres get hot.. I used to race 20-30min with V103s, must only take care of pressure.
I sold the F1AS 2 days later ;)
tyre reviewed on 2010-09-21 21:47:10
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 66% (235-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
I have had fitted for about a year now, I have heard great things about them and on the road they feel really strong with a strong wall of 95. The pot holes in the uk are terrible so we need a strong tyre wall to protect our rim and car itself.

The tread pattern is very pretty, its half block and half summer, so make an all round good tyre for all seasons. In the wet the car handles great, very responsive tread gives good direction. However I have always liked the Goodyear and it has not beaten the grip and road feel of the Eagle F1 GSD3 and the road stability of the assymmentric.

If you have 4 wheel drive and you drive spirited then your tyres can get eaten very quickly. I am down to 3mm and am looking for another set of tyres to try. I am going to try the Yokahama Advant Sport as I have had recommendations on this as for a review I shall post it up as usual.

Back to the Vredestein. Its a good tyre if you are a normal driver who takes it easy, then these shall last longer. I look for products which can handle the heat and last. A rare compound to find I guess. If they would have lasted longer then I would have been happier. But don't be deterred its a good tyre, its just not for my driving needs.

Great look and feel again just doesn't last too long.

tyre reviewed on 2011-09-16 08:46:27
Writing about the Falken FK453 given 40% (235-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 12000 easy going miles
12 000 miles (20 000km) on the set. VolvoT6 AWD. Not an aggressive driver. Long distance driving. Was given a long story by the Falken Rep but all added up to nothing. Been a Falken supporter on 3 of my Volvo's but after using this "Flagship" tyre I am leaving the brand
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-17 06:12:46
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement