Volvo XC90 D5 185 HP Tyres

Drive a Volvo XC90 D5 185 HP? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo XC90 D5 185 HP
Avon Ranger Ice (3) 100% 100% 97% 97% 100% 87% 100% 97% 11,300
Continental 4x4 WinterContact (4) 95% 98% 98% 100% 95% 95% 100% 97% 23,000
Avon Ranger HTT (6) 90% 85% 83% 83% 85% 88% 93% 87% 38,000
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (43) 86% 89% 84% 79% 82% 88% 97% 87% 434,283
Michelin Latitude Cross (39) 88% 85% 82% 79% 91% 82% 94% 86% 656,751
Kumho Road Venture APT KL51 (13) 90% 82% 84% 79% 83% 91% 91% 86% 458,000
Maxxis MA S1 Marauder (3) 90% 85% 70% 80% 80% 90% 95% 84% 35,000
General Grabber UHP (19) 90% 85% 83% 76% 86% 85% 85% 84% 607,810
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85% 88% 82% 1,254,817
Michelin 4x4 Diamaris (6) 90% 82% 88% 87% 72% 83% 72% 82% 154,500
Nokian W RG2 SUV (7) 87% 84% 83% 83% 70% 89% 76% 82% 145,250
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric SUV (10) 90% 83% 88% 84% 63% 90% 71% 81% 75,150
Nexen N Fera RU1 (16) 83% 74% 75% 75% 79% 85% 77% 78% 40,665
Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather (26) 87% 78% 77% 80% 84% 85% 81% 77% 813,633
Vredestein Ultrac SUV Sessanta (3) 87% 77% 87% 83% 45% 90% 57% 75% 16,500
Uniroyal RainSport 3 SUV (4) 85% 100% 73% 53% 50% 85% 65% 73% 47,000
Continental Cross Contact UHP (30) 86% 79% 75% 73% 55% 73% 65% 72% 721,387
Michelin Diamaris (3) 83% 70% 77% 73% 53% 80% 70% 72% 81,000
Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV (20) 83% 81% 76% 83% 52% 71% 47% 70% 202,500
Marangoni Maxo 4x4 (1) 80% 70% 70% 60% 60% 70% 70% 69% 0
Pirelli PZero Rosso (108) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62% 54% 66% 1,298,806
Sonar SX2 (12) 69% 58% 60% 56% 85% 68% 63% 66% 112,926
Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season (39) 80% 63% 76% 74% 75% 72% 64% 61% 648,957
Maxtrek INGENS A1 (24) 56% 30% 47% 39% 65% 58% 33% 47% 225,330

Volvo XC90 D5 185 HP Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental 4x4 WinterContact given 100% (235-65-17-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
I am delighted that these tires, driving the Volvo XC90 2.4 D5 in the mountainous roads and highways as the tire is excellent and the wet and dry and the snow and ice ....My recommendation for all the SUVs for the winter by the tire.
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-28 10:18:47
Writing about the Avon Ranger HTT given 100% (235-60-18-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 average miles
The big XC90 eats tyres. These are from the technology of the Ice ranger so i bought them. Great tyre in both winter and summer. So far they have shown fantastic wear for first 10000 miles. Better than Continentals for sure. Going to buy 2 more soon.
tyre reviewed on 2013-09-10 01:26:05
Writing about the Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather given 100% (235-60-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13 spirited miles
Absolutely Fantastic!!! I have driven my XC90 AWD very hard over the last 13,000 miles with these on the front and they are still at 6mm!! I have also towed a 1,500kg caravan a lot so the grip from the front tyres must be immense but they have never flickered. Rain, mud, snow, ice, hot sticky tarmac.....you name it, these bad boys just take them head on and nothing deters them. Have just bought a new set for the front today and have placed the 6mm ones on the back to replace some nasty Hankook Dynapro HP's that were on when I bought the car (do not buy or use the Hankooks).

What more can I say, if you have a 4WD vehicle be it an XC90, Disco, Navara etc, then buy these tyres, you will not be disappointed. Simply brilliant and look good too with a nice solid tyre wall and mean tread pattern.

Also I highly recommend, Meguiars Endurance Tyre Gel from Halfords as this stuff makes them glossy and black and lasts for up to a month!

100% Fantastic tyre, go on treat yourself.
tyre reviewed on 2014-04-24 15:37:34
Writing about the Avon Ranger Ice given 96% (235-60-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Purchased for our Volvo XC90, after previous experience with Nokian, Vredestein and Continental winter tyres. We’ve found the Avon Ranger Ice winter tyres to be the best used so far. Rock solid in the snow, ice, rain and sleet, and very good in dry. They wear very well, and are currently looking at lasting 4-5 winters easily.

Additional bonus for UK based users, are that these tyres are made in the UK. Confirmed with Avon directly, that they are produced in Melksham, Wilshire and are stamped on the tyres ‘Made in England’.

Nice to see at least some quality products are still manufactured in the UK!
tyre reviewed on 2011-12-13 15:55:08
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season given 96% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 25000 easy going miles
Bought four of these tyres for my Volvo xc90 in March 2013 and have done 25000 miles since. Down to 3.5mm on the front and loads of wear left on the rear. Never skidded or lost grip. Never tested in the snow as I live in the South of England. I don't really know what is meant by road feedback or responsiveness but have put at a 10 because I can feel the road and when I turn the steering wheel the car responds by going around a corner. I guess this must be for the boy racers out there. I have driven XC90s for 10 years and these are the best tyres I have had.
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-26 18:02:45
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric SUV given 94% (225-50-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
I was pushed towards vredstein by my local dealer when searching for replacements to the stock Pirelli tyres my car left the factory with. Thankfully, the supplier sent the wrong size so he did a good deal on these Goodyears which have transformed the car. Not sure about wear yet but initial feedback is very positive.
tyre reviewed on 2013-04-03 09:43:29
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme given 91% (250-50-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
Great tyres,I ripped the original p zeros apart, on the potholed roads. They had only done 6000 miles.
The wintracs are far superior in every respect except hot weather hi speed motoring.
They are quieter, more comfortable, do not track all over the road like the p zero's and are unbelievable in the snow.
Oh, and they are 1/2 price too!!
tyre reviewed on 2010-11-26 17:23:31
Writing about the Kumho Road Venture APT KL51 given 91% (235-60-18-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 17000 average miles
Fantastic budget tyre that is very quiet and lasts twice as long as the soft continental tyres the car came with and only costs ?90
tyre reviewed on 2010-05-06 00:12:30
Writing about the Sonar SX2 given 89% (235-55-17-V)
Driving on mostly town for 0 spirited miles
these tyres came from nowhere.....recommended by the dealer, I was typically British and sceptically resistant to change but they really are the real deal. I put them on our personal vehicle and got on very well - lasted well and evenly. Because of the positive results, I put them forward for our work fleet of 20 vehicles and our fleet manager is equally impressed.

It's not often I've felt moved to upload reviews at all, let alone something as 'interesting' as tyres but my dealer encouraged me to put something on this site.

Well done to whoever discovered this brand
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-29 18:24:49
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme given 87% (235-65-17-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 easy going miles
Best tyre so far in our experience, much safer than the summer Continental Uhps on the car from new, which only lasted 17000 miles. These Vredesteins grip very well in winter conditions, have done more than 20,000 miles and still have more than 4mms tread on all tyres.We have had no problems with them, even using them in spring and autumn, but obviously avoiding spells of warm weather, when the tyres soften and consequently do not handle as well.
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-28 21:48:13
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre