185/60 13 Tyres

The following tyres have been reviewed in 185/60 13.
Yokohama A539 (12) 81% 74% 86% 85% 78% 81% 89% 82% 108,000
Toyo R888 R (11) 95% 72% 88% 89% 76% 66% 84% 82% 19,225
Nankang NS2R (37) 91% 67% 84% 85% 72% 56% 80% 76% 106,971
Nankang XR611 (21) 64% 41% 55% 54% 69% 59% 52% 56% 434,620
Kenda KAISER KR20 (59) 65% 45% 54% 54% 71% 55% 48% 56% 437,212

185/60 13 Tyre Review Highlights

Nankang XR611 rated 87% while driving a Skoda Felicia
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
Have these on a Skoda Felicia 1.3 MPI. Fantastic tyre running at 30 psi. Vehicle used as a car I have no complaints. Bought from Bathwick Tyers Trowbridge Wiltshire. Cheap tyer but a premium service from the supplier and the Tyers. Will use these tyres again without a doubt...
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-13 17:42:04
Yokohama A539 rated 81% while driving a Renault twingo
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
The tire is "slow" in the sport action and handling, then if you want to race is not the one, but it breaks so good when you need to stop and the comfort is so good, then if you want your family care is the one.
tyre reviewed on 2010-05-24 23:27:24
Yokohama A539 rated 81% while driving a Ford KA 1.3
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-24 05:37:54
Toyo R888 R rated 81% while driving a Caterham 1.6 K Roadsport
Driving on track for 1500 spirited miles
he car I had came fitted with a set of Yokohama A539 tyres. Designed for normal passenger car use they needed significantly more than 500kg on top of them and they were hopeless. Zero grip, got hot, became squirmy and unpredictable and were hopeless on track. Id driven on the ZZS quite a lot but wasn't sure if Avon merited the price premium, and the tyre size wasn't ideal for my model so I opted for the R888R in GG compound.

Shortly after I had a chance at Croft to compare three Caterham's with ZZR, ZZS and the R888R.

Initial impressions are that in the bone dry with all other considerations gone, the ZZR is king. Genuinely a superb stable high performance tyre that stays on the boil for a significant amount of time. I'd suggest a window of at least 10 laps where the tyre was on perfect form. Then a slow transition into being slightly more slippery and excess tyre wear as the temperature increases.

The ZZS is a superb road tyre for a Caterham. Remarkably useful in the wet and even down to quite low temperatures, and works very well on a track as long as you limit your sessions to say 6-8 laps. After this again the transition into slightly less predictable begins and the car just becomes very slidey!

The R888R was somewhere in between the two extremes. I felt that the Toyos offered ALMOST ZZR performance but at a fairly significant discount. They were definitely better from cold than the ZZS and lasted a little longer before going off. They also worked almost as well on the road as a ZZS, dealing with water pretty well. The R888R stayed on my car.

Downsides: the R888R is a heavier tyre with a stiffer sidewall, so this makes them a little less comfortable and adds a touch of unsprung weight to a light car, but their benefits generally outweighed these issues.

Ultimately I feel budget and requirement would dictate which you'd have. On a modern Caterham where ride height and sump layouts allow the smaller ratios, I'd suggest pick either a ZZR/S. But for older academy cars based on 175/70/13 tyres, going down to a 185/55/13 was just too much. The toyo in 185/60/13 was a better bet, with a small tweak to ride height.
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-05 11:34:35
Yokohama A539 rated 79% while driving a Rover 118 GTa
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Got these cheaply in a special offer, had them before but not on anything quite as quick as current car. Decent grip once warmed up but when cold or in the wet I can lose traction very easily and spin up the wheels quite easily.

Would still buy them again for the cheaper price, nothing gets close to them for the tyre size and performance.
tyre reviewed on 2011-09-29 21:54:36
Kenda KAISER KR20 rated 77% while driving a Mitsubishi lancer gt
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
good...will buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2014-09-28 12:40:28
Nankang NS2R rated 50% while driving a Caterham Roadsport SV 1.6 K Series
Driving on mostly country roads for 2500 average miles
I have a Caterham and live in Portugal.

I bought NS-2R 180/Street compound, since I was told they were as good as Toyo R888 and would last the same or more... Utter nonsense... I got 4000Km from them. I am not an aggressive driver and I certainly don't laptime on the road. I have only done 300Km on motorways.
I am very much inclined to say that Portugal has a really hot tarmac... I got none of the great mileage everyone talks about... It's a Caterham, well set up and, with half the weight of most of other reviewers' cars...
Could it have been a bad batch? Maybe... Will I buy or recommend them? Absolutely not.
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-10 10:21:45
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre