195/50 16 Tyres

The following tyres have been reviewed in 195/50 16.
Toyo Proxes CF2 (64) 89% 87% 83% 84% 85% 87% 91% 87% 436,409
Continental UltraContact UC6 (17) 91% 88% 75% 83% 85% 88% 90% 86% 210,575
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (77) 89% 86% 83% 85% 86% 84% 84% 86% 708,175
Falken ZE914 (92) 89% 82% 85% 81% 82% 83% 86% 84% 915,155
Nexen N Blue HD Plus (42) 87% 83% 81% 78% 81% 86% 85% 83% 222,300
Continental ContiMaxContact MC5 (33) 88% 81% 80% 78% 80% 87% 84% 83% 385,360
Goodyear Assurance Triplemax 2 (6) 88% 78% 76% 80% 84% 84% 88% 83% 82,100
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85% 88% 82% 1,254,817
Kumho Ecsta HS51 (22) 88% 86% 78% 81% 78% 84% 74% 81% 337,205
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 (64) 91% 80% 83% 87% 69% 74% 84% 81% 696,615
Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D (35) 81% 85% 81% 78% 76% 79% 81% 80% 412,700
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (259) 84% 93% 79% 79% 64% 83% 77% 80% 1,893,205
Gislaved Ultra Speed 2 (1) 90% 70% 80% 90% 60% 70% 90% 79% 4,500
Barum Bravuris 2 (125) 85% 78% 78% 71% 75% 80% 80% 78% 1,393,481
Nexen N Blue ECO (32) 85% 79% 78% 78% 73% 75% 80% 78% 264,313
Bridgestone A001 (46) 92% 93% 89% 80% 85% 83% 93% 78% 512,216
Accelera 651 Sport (7) 84% 71% 74% 80% 76% 80% 79% 78% 23,500
Maxxis All Season AP2 (15) 82% 81% 75% 75% 78% 74% 82% 78% 109,010
Hankook OPTIMO K415 (48) 82% 75% 75% 73% 87% 75% 75% 78% 1,010,486
Ovation VI 388 (7) 84% 80% 73% 80% 85% 70% 66% 77% 12,500
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (150) 87% 85% 80% 75% 60% 83% 66% 77% 1,367,096
Kumho Ecsta HM KH31 (27) 81% 73% 76% 74% 72% 78% 74% 75% 229,618
Falken ZE912 (197) 82% 74% 76% 70% 71% 79% 73% 75% 2,160,908
Infinity Ecosis (9) 82% 74% 71% 66% 69% 78% 82% 75% 48,500
Kumho Winter Craft WP51 (11) 81% 71% 67% 69% 80% 83% 66% 74% 42,600
Hankook Optimo H426 (4) 88% 80% 83% 77% 70% 58% 63% 74% 102,000
Michelin Pilot Primacy (50) 79% 75% 71% 68% 85% 71% 65% 73% 974,067
Yokohama ADVAN A460 (17) 84% 74% 77% 73% 83% 64% 56% 73% 336,082
Federal SS535 (5) 90% 65% 83% 58% 80% 60% 76% 73% 89,530
Sunitrac Focus 9000 (8) 82% 73% 73% 75% 80% 62% 63% 73% 127,048
Toyo T1R (278) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,615,683
Continental Premium Contact 2 (184) 84% 77% 75% 72% 62% 73% 62% 72% 4,228,189
Nokian W Plus (14) 79% 74% 70% 69% 86% 84% 71% 72% 144,900
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (153) 83% 77% 76% 73% 60% 65% 65% 71% 2,261,801
Three A P606 (38) 77% 71% 68% 66% 69% 75% 70% 71% 479,901
Continental Sport Contact 2 (224) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,121,532
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (54) 78% 73% 72% 70% 70% 71% 59% 70% 639,624
Kumho Solus KH17 (54) 75% 70% 70% 69% 68% 71% 67% 70% 954,007
Meteor HP Sport (2) 70% 65% 70% 75% 80% 70% 60% 70% 60,000
Michelin Primacy MXM4 (4) 80% 70% 80% 80% 80% 70% 58% 69% 23,025
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (119) 78% 67% 70% 68% 69% 65% 58% 68% 2,355,806
Michelin Energy (39) 69% 63% 58% 62% 85% 75% 64% 68% 898,474
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (145) 80% 69% 70% 67% 64% 64% 54% 67% 2,105,560
Landsail LS388 AS (27) 83% 75% 78% 72% 75% 81% 85% 67% 154,662
Nankang NS2 (201) 76% 58% 66% 62% 74% 63% 61% 66% 1,755,759
Hifly HF805 (47) 78% 65% 67% 67% 54% 67% 62% 66% 335,765
Bridgestone Turanza ER33 (9) 77% 50% 64% 59% 92% 66% 49% 65% 179,000
Davanti DX390 (10) 67% 54% 60% 50% 58% 68% 46% 58% 50,744
Accelera Alpha (127) 65% 44% 54% 49% 69% 56% 49% 55% 1,078,578
Pirelli P6000 (170) 66% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61% 38% 55% 2,433,782
Minerva minerva F109 (5) 70% 44% 54% 50% 50% 62% 38% 53% 24,700
Falken ZIEX ZE329 (9) 73% 54% 56% 58% 35% 49% 36% 51% 120,599
Wanli S1088 (82) 57% 35% 40% 38% 58% 37% 30% 42% 643,289

195/50 16 Tyre Review Highlights

Infinity Ecosis rated 100% while driving a Opel Astra G
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
I have now 15k Kilometers I'll buy it again. I don't change other brand again
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-04 15:43:19
Kumho Solus KH17 rated 100% while driving a Renault dynamique s dci 86 2006
Driving on a combination of roads for 18 average miles
had on the front of my clio dci and done 18.000 miles the car does all types
of roads and only half worn
im very pleased
tyre reviewed on 2012-07-05 21:16:15
Davanti DX390 rated 100% while driving a Toyota Yaris
Driving on a combination of roads for 9000 average miles
I purchased this tyres for around £50 per tyre and have had a full set of 4. I have driven 9000 miles and the front was down to 2mm and the rear on about 4mm. I purchased two front tyres and cost £100. I am very impressed with these tyres as I purchased them over the continental premium contact 2's that the car came with and I noticed a change straight away. As I drive a hybrid I'm used to quiet and these tyres are quiet. They grip well on corners/roundabout really well in both dry and wet conditions. (17-23mph). Wear is good as if I changed the front and back at around 3mm I would likely get another 6000 miles. So 15000 miles on a full set would be great but as I like to change two at a time and weighting up the pros and cons.

I have driven mostly around town, however with a few country lanes and the average motorway trip. I would say around 7000 town, 1000 countryside and 1000 motorway approx.

I am very likely to be purchasing these again as the overall price per mile is very good.
If a new better tyre comes out then I might be persuaded to change.
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-14 04:57:01
Toyo Proxes CF2 rated 100% while driving a Toyota Vios
Driving on for 0 miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-24 09:48:02
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 rated 100% while driving a Fiat Punto Evo mjet 95hp
Driving on mostly town for 12000 easy going miles
Fitted a set to the wifes diesel punto old car 2004 model with some after market alloy wheels on 195/50/15.
I wanted her to be safe in the wet as most branded tyres are good in the dry, she had a slide with Michelin energy tyres fitted when it was wet and it scared her so we opted for a tyre known for wet grip to put her mind at rest. Suspension and tyre pressures were all correct as was alignment.
Four fitted and I have to say they are awesome I took it out the first time it rained and did it rain bouncing heavy rain and I give it some as it is like driving a go-cart, It gripped like a track tyre in the dry. I took her out with me and she said wow she couldn't believe what a difference different tyres can make to the handling.
They look good they grip very well in the dry and phenomenal in the wet they are very comfy and she has now done about 12k on them and the rears are like new still and the fronts have about 5mm left so all in all that is very good.
She hasn't noticed any difference in fuel economy which is unusual going from Michelin Energy to Uniroyal Rainsport 3 but it does do over 60mpg it is only a 1.3 td.
All in all best wet grip I have found but it is a small car. I have Dunlop sport maxx on my Focus and they are good but I dare say the Rainsport3 would be even better.
tyre reviewed on 2019-09-15 13:44:45
Bridgestone A001 rated 98% while driving a Rover 75 2.0 cdti Tourer
Driving on a combination of roads for 23000 easy going miles
Best all round tyre ever owned. Snow 5*, ice 3*, wear 5* (done 23k mile still 5-10k left on a front wheel drive) best lasting tyre we have had in the last 150k miles.

Only negative is marginally more noise at low speed/ round town. On the motorway no noticable difference.
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-11 12:35:41
Accelera 651 Sport rated 97% while driving a Mazda MX5
Driving on a combination of roads for 3500 spirited miles
Have these tyres fitted on my Mk2 MX5 1.8 trackday car, and I must say - I'm dead impressed by them especially considering the price point that they come in at.

As you would expect, dry grip is fantastic, a few thousand hard road miles and a full day on track at Snetterton have shown that they're a really comprehensive package on dry roads, and wear rates have been surprisingly low - unlike some semi slick tyres these ship with a decent amount of tread so there's plenty of life in them, which is a big advantage.

They're not massively loud on the road even in an MX5 which has about the same amount of sound deadening as a cold war era Russian fighter jet, and they offer great feedback even on bumpy country roads.

Where these tyres really surprise though, is in wet weather conditions. I hadn't driven my MX5 on semi slicks before these, and was impressed by my Nexen Nfera SU4s in terms of their ability to contain the back end of the car on greasy or wet roads. On my first rainy drive on these, I expected to fight the car through every corner and be battling for grip across the whole journey.

But no. I had extremely reasonable aquaplaning resistance, good cornering grip and didn't experience anything in the way of tram-lining or camber following. In fact, I found myself able to accelerate out of corners without the back end giving so much as a wobble, really really impressed with these in the wet.

Paid £46 a corner, which for semi slicks even in 195/50/16 is mentally cheap. Wouldn't even bother trying other tyres, have Toyo R888s on my RX7 daily and while they most likely offer a little better grip in the dry as a result of their increased contact patch, their sheer lack of ability in the wet makes them a far less convincing overall package unless you're chasing a couple of seconds a lap.

For a trackday hobbyist like myself though, the Accelera 651 Sport really does shine.
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-11 18:58:20
Maxxis All Season AP2 rated 97% while driving a Mazda MX5
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
They never let me down
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-13 21:17:00
Continental UltraContact UC6 rated 97% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
I AM VERY SATISFY THIS TYRE BECAUSE IT.S REALLY GOOD FOR SEMI-PERFORMANCE CAR, DRY GRIP AND WET GRIP ALSO VERY WELL, NEVER WILL LOST CONTROL OR SOUND WHEN CORNERING.

THE COMFORT WILL STILL GOOD BECAUSE NOT MUCH NOISY, BUT WHEN PASSING RUGGED ROAD WILL HAVE A BIT OMISSIONS. SO FAR YES, I WILL RECOMMEND THIS TYRE, IT'S SAFE AND FUN.
tyre reviewed on 2017-06-07 15:39:32
Toyo Proxes CF2 rated 96% while driving a Toyota Yaris
Driving on mostly country roads for 19000 average miles
I have a Toyota Yaris Sport version, when i put a complet set of 4 tyres, instantly i notice excelent Handling and Grip, Wet grip is excelent compare others tyres.

19.000 miles after mounted, front tyres mid life, and rear tyres as new.

This tyres is a recommendation by a friend, and definitively i will buy it again.
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-26 10:58:53
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre