170/60 17 Tyres

The following tyres have been reviewed in 170/60 17.
Dunlop TrailSmart Max (3) 93% 93% 87% 87% 100% 100% 93% 93% 15,400
Bridgestone Exedra Max (2) 90% 80% 85% 80% 80% 100% 85% 86% 14,000
Michelin Pilot Road 2 (14) 90% 81% 85% 80% 88% 85% 74% 83% 95,000
Pirelli Scorpion Trail II (7) 90% 74% 87% 87% 79% 83% 77% 82% 208
Michelin Pilot Road (4) 80% 78% 75% 80% 95% 90% 78% 82% 16,000
Avon Storm 2 Ultra (25) 87% 71% 76% 77% 89% 84% 83% 81% 169,700
Pirelli Angel GT (9) 83% 81% 76% 76% 84% 84% 79% 80% 31,150
Continental ContiRoad Attack (11) 83% 72% 83% 79% 84% 83% 72% 79% 29,050
Maxxis M6029 Supermaxx (10) 85% 74% 79% 82% 71% 80% 79% 79% 25,921

170/60 17 Tyre Review Highlights

Dunlop TrailSmart Max rated 99% while driving a
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
Removed the original Michelin Anakee from my 1000 Km BMW R1200 GSA 2018 Rallye due to the fact that this Michelin are very noisy, terrible grip on mud and trails of gravil and the fact that during the first 1000 Km the bike did not feel right .
On my previous GSA (2015) i always used the previous Dunlop Trailmax . 3 sets of tyres acomplished 63.000 Km`s .
Mostly tarmac on a 90/10 % of Road and off.road-terrain .
This Evolution of the Dunlop Trailsmart , Dunlop Trailsmart MAX are the ultimate 90%/10% Tyres . The behaviour in the city traffic allows to go over and behond regarding grip, brake safety , and acelariontion grip and perfect cornering.
In Highway we are taken to a dream like experience . On dirt much much more grip than then the Anakee .
Out of a hundred i give the 99% for sure . The new silica compound and the lateral soft sides are simply brilliant .
No doubt a Winning mix the Dunlop Trailsmart and the new BMW R1200 GSA Rallye
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-19 12:22:17
Dunlop TrailSmart Max rated 94% while driving a KTM 1290 Super Adventure S
Driving on a combination of roads for 1200 spirited miles
Motorcycle: 2017 KTM Super Adventure S, with 19,000km. 2,000km on these tyres.

These tyres are amazing, the turn-in/handling is as good as the previous Road Attack 3 but the mud and gravel; performance is in another world. Trail performance is more off-road than sports tour, especially compared to RA3 and Scorpion Trail 2, while dry performance is more sport than tour, the best of both worlds.

Wet performance is brilliant.

They are also very quiet and extremely comfortable. With the Semi-Active suspension on the 1290 SA S, it's truly a magic carpet ride. The suspension can even be left in comfort mode and the tyres are so stable it feels perfectly planted even at autobahn speeds (200km/h+). Sport suspension can be kept for track use only and street is really only needed when pushing hard on twisty country roads. Fast cruising on country roads is effortless.

The wear has been great, at nearly 2,000km they look like new and have only a tiny amount of squaring which has actually made them even more stable in turn in. Amazing. A Scorpion trail will be quite squared off at this point. They even survived a 15-18mm sharp-pointed screw without deflating at 100km as the rubber thickness is much more than most tyres it seems. I unscrewed the screw expecting the tyre to deflkate (it was in the shoulder, about 50% from centre) and it didn't, I was expecting the screw to be about 5mm long and was shocked when I saw how long it was.

What is also interesting is for the same kind of riding (very mixed) I usually do, there seems to be more "spare" less used tyre at the edge than previous tyres, i.e. these seem to corner the same at less lean angle giving more reserve and the promise of even more sporty riding on track or dry roads where higher speeds are allowed.

All this is very confidence inspiring.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-11 07:39:20
Continental ContiRoad Attack rated 93% while driving a Honda VFR 750
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
I am on my 6th set of Conti Road Attacks. The first time I fitted them, after finally getting rid of the OEM Bridgestone BT014, I could not believe how quickly my bike could turn. Chalk and cheese compared to the Bridgestones, where it was like turning a lump of lead. I have toured through France, Belgium, Holland, Germany and Spain several times. On my average trips I do between 4000 and 6000 miles and can still ride for the rest of summer. The one thing I will say is that once they square off at the back they can be a bit scary in wet conditions, opposite camber and worn shiny roads as are normal in Belgium. My fault though I tried to do too much on one set. These tyres are great and way better than Bridgestones. If you have a VFR look no further.
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-17 10:24:58
Michelin Pilot Road rated 87% while driving a Yamaha YZF 600r
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Dry grip for these tires is remarkable for a sport touring tire. Wet grip is also very good, only spun the rear up a few times and only at 80+mph while pouring rain. Wear seems like it is also way above average. For comparison I eat through a set of pilot powers in 3,000mi. and these lasted a hair over 6,000 still tearing up the California Canyons. Will buy again :)
tyre reviewed on 2009-01-08 10:20:06
Michelin Pilot Road 2 rated 87% while driving a Honda ST1300 Pan Eoropean
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 average miles
Brilliant at everything but picks up every - and I do mean every - possible puncture out there! And when they get a puncture, it's almost always at an angle so is irreparable. And don't think it was just bad luck.....I've had 9 rear punctures this year and only 2 of them could be fixed. Yes, that's right, I've had 7 pairs of tyres - both pilot road GT3's and 4's inside 1 year! Seeing as I do the same roads year in, year out and never had anything like these problems on other brands, I can only put the blame on the design.
Totally not cost-effective. Never again! Gone back to the much cheaper Avons.
tyre reviewed on 2015-11-18 17:28:15
Bridgestone Exedra Max rated 85% while driving a Honda ST1300
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
I used the EXEDRA MAX (Radial), which is better than the bias ply version, on a Honda ST1300 while riding around Australia. Two up and towing a trailer full of camping gear at 100+km/h, the rear tyre lasted the 8,000km from Townsville to Perth, via Broome.

None of the Sport/Touring tyres from any brand that we have used during the last 15 years have lasted much more than 6,000km while touring and towing the trailer behind our CBR1000FS or the ST1300.
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-15 00:19:24
Continental ContiRoad Attack rated 83% while driving a VW Polo 6R 1.6 TDI Bluemotion
Driving on mostly town for 3000 average miles
The tires handle extremely well on dry corners on pavement. They provide an enormous amount of confidence. They are fitted as OEM on my KTM 1190. They have their limitations off road, even in slightly sandy situations on pavement they will give you a bit of a slide when you are not expecting.
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-01 09:04:37
Avon Storm 2 Ultra rated 77% while driving a Kawasaki ZX6R
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
A lack of grip in the rear in severe rain alerted me to the fact the rear was close to the wear limit. Having checked the mileage the rear had done almost 12000 miles! The front has done 6000 miles and still has life left.

The tyres have served me well on a mixture of commuting and weekend rides. I did lose the front in rain under heavy braking but can I attribute that to the tyre? I don't think I can but how any other tyre may have handled the situation I can't answer. For the price and life these tyre are a good choice for sport touring.
tyre reviewed on 2014-08-15 21:15:41
Pirelli Angel GT rated 77% while driving a Yamaha R3
Driving on a combination of roads for 11250 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-10 21:59:05
Maxxis M6029 Supermaxx rated 63% while driving a Honda VFR 750
Driving on a combination of roads for 2217 average miles
I found that these tyres have good traction wet or dry but they do have soft tread and the one thing that lets them down is the fast wear rate, used for commuting and only lasted 2217 miles until the centre was down below 1mm. I have previously used the similarly priced Continental Motion which lasted just over 4000 miles with the same use and I had expected similar wear rates on this tyre. It has now been replaced with a Pirelli Diablo and I will see how long that lasts.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-06 00:48:16
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre