225/40 17 Tyres

The following tyres have been reviewed in 225/40 17.
General Altimax One S (5) 98% 83% 92% 94% 90% 78% 100% 91% 24,000
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (147) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85% 88% 87% 2,662,853
Michelin Pilot Sport AS Plus (2) 95% 85% 75% 75% 85% 95% 95% 86% 15,350
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (138) 90% 88% 83% 82% 82% 90% 82% 85% 1,155,474
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (277) 90% 88% 85% 84% 74% 83% 80% 83% 3,731,734
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 (29) 94% 72% 91% 91% 70% 75% 91% 83% 178,100
Falken FK452 (210) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73% 73% 74% 2,708,411
Gislaved Ultra Speed (10) 84% 71% 79% 65% 77% 67% 66% 73% 334,000
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (153) 83% 77% 76% 73% 60% 65% 65% 71% 2,261,801
Ovation W 582 (3) 67% 80% 60% 63% 77% 77% 67% 70% 68,000
Nexen N1000 (18) 80% 68% 69% 65% 68% 66% 62% 68% 112,134
Nankang NS2 (202) 76% 58% 66% 62% 74% 63% 60% 66% 1,755,779
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (126) 70% 48% 57% 54% 69% 48% 43% 55% 1,244,457
Autogrip F107 (125) 57% 27% 44% 37% 60% 50% 28% 43% 1,112,261
BCT S800 (83) 51% 30% 38% 37% 61% 32% 24% 39% 381,146

225/40 17 Tyre Review Highlights

Nexen N1000 rated 100% while driving a Toyota Corolla
Driving on mostly town for 12 spirited miles
FANTASTIC!!!!
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-08 13:34:14
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 rated 99% while driving a Ford Focus RS Mk1
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Buy them!
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-25 01:08:29
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 rated 99% while driving a Mazda RX8
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Driving a mazda rx-8 from 2008. Previously I had the Falken fk452's (fitted on 2010) which at the time were the best of the best (value for money) there was. These tires so far are outperforming the falkens for quite a bit! As compared with Potenza's and Supersport's they are BETTER hands down. I drive both aggressively and regularly both on highways and urban environments and the road feel you get from these tires are excellent! Even when using a lower profile (40's from 45's) the feedback is excellent and the noise is very minimal. For tear I cant say much yet, but they are doing pretty good so far! And I saved the best for last. The grip level of those tires are seriously the best you can get for this category hands down! Unless you are going semi or full slick, then this is what you should get. Having driven many friends's cars (all the same car as mine) with the other top 10 tires fitted, I can honestly say this your choice. On track days those tires posted on average, -4s / -5s of a normal lap, which is almost unbelievable! The price on those premium tires was almost the lowest on all the top10 in the list, which was a huge surprise to me as I would have expected to pay up to 1k euros for 4 new tires of this performance, yet I paid only half that!!!! I would definitely buy again in the future, and would write a review again when I reach 10k miles! All in all seriously go for it! -Lefsef
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-19 02:22:12
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 rated 93% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI
Driving on a combination of roads for 50000 spirited miles
amazing tyres! great in all respects
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-16 08:51:12
Michelin Pilot Sport AS Plus rated 93% while driving a Porsche 1993 928 GTS
Driving on mostly motorways for 350 spirited miles
I had been running Yokohama Advan ES 100 which came with the car when I purchased it 3 years ago. I live in Vancouver and wanted a tire that could handle occasional wet snow (yet to happen) so I opted for the Michelin Pilot Sport AS Plus. Great improvement over the Yokohamas - QUIET, comfortable, and sure footed. They are "softer" in their feel and may have a less stiff sidewall but handling is first class. I was a bit trouble by the high cost but now that the deal is done am happy with the purchase.
tyre reviewed on 2010-02-05 20:47:57
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 rated 93% while driving a Subaru Impreza
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2009-12-07 19:48:39
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 rated 93% while driving a Evolution
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Without a doubt, one of THE best tyres I've ever used. Had a full set on my Evo (already one of the best 4WD sports saloons) which was modified with HKS suspension. This may have contributed to my very high ratings for the tyre, but I have nothing bad to say at all about F1s. They wore quicker than I thought though...unless that was down to my driving?! ;oP
tyre reviewed on 2009-09-12 17:46:08
Falken FK452 rated 89% while driving a Toyota MK2 MR2 NA
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
A lot of tyre for the money! As per the Falken 451's but slightly more grip in the wet. They wear well even with fast driving and repeated hard cornering, mine have done aprox 10k miles on twisty country roads and I still have about 3mm tread left,traction is very good even with hard launches and unlike some of the other tyres I've used they are very stable under heavy/emergency braking. Well worth a look if your after a great all round tyre!
tyre reviewed on 2007-07-06 15:33:53
General Altimax One S rated 89% while driving a Audi A1
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
I put a pair of these on the front of my wife's 2018 Audi A1 TDI after the Bridgestones were looking tired @17k miles. I was dubious about using mid range tyres for the first time ever but the Continental ownership of General reassured me. The tyres are rated B/C in respect of wet weather and rolling resistance.
Having now scrubbed in for a thousand miles the tyres are very impressive, it's a nippy little car with bags of torque for such a low kerb weight but the front grips well in the wet and seems to pull up well under moderate braking. So far, so good, it's difficult to comment on the wear rate but @ £75 per they're looking good.
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-17 22:57:48
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 rated 87% while driving a Lotus Elise
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
I used to have RE040 on my first Elise but their grip was only average in the dry and merely acceptable in the wet. My second Elise had AD07's as standard and again they were OK but nothing special so I tried some AD08 on the rear and the transformation was not quite what I was expecting. Once the tyres were warmed up the dry grip is very good but the important thing was how much more progressive they are. Driving right up to and over the limit is not much more confidence-inspiring. Their wet grip is also better than my old ADO7 and miles better than RE040's. Deep water can be a problem but that would be the same for most high performance tyres. The other thing is that they were quieter than my AD07's. It's just a pity I can't get them in 175/55 16's for the front.

I would never buy anything else.
tyre reviewed on 2014-06-26 07:53:08
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre