245/65 17 Tyres

The following tyres have been reviewed in 245/65 17.
Radar Renegade AT 5 (1) 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 80% 100% 98% 48,000
Gripmax GripMax AT (8) 87% 80% 89% 86% 81% 80% 83% 84% 31,000
Hankook Dynapro HP RA23 (12) 86% 78% 84% 77% 86% 87% 86% 83% 167,157
Yokohama Geolander AT S (12) 84% 80% 83% 75% 85% 81% 86% 79% 249,127
Nokian Rotiiva AT (1) 80% 70% 80% 80% 80% 80% 70% 77% 5,000
Toyo Open Country All Terrain (11) 87% 80% 77% 79% 81% 81% 95% 77% 179,500
Cooper Discoverer ATR (11) 85% 74% 73% 64% 74% 76% 79% 75% 75,236
General Grabber AT (14) 82% 71% 74% 75% 80% 76% 78% 72% 124,864

245/65 17 Tyre Review Highlights

Yokohama Geolander AT S rated 100% while driving a Jeep Grand Cherokee 2.7 LTD
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Bought these for my Grand Cherokee 2.7 CRD. Found them to be excellent on and off road. Handling on the road is good. Off roading they were more then capable, (not talking extreme off roading). Had no worries whatsoever in mud, wet, uphill climbs etc etc. I will definitely be buying again.
tyre reviewed on 2014-08-13 07:27:10
Radar Renegade AT 5 rated 98% while driving a Land Rover Discovery 3
Driving on mostly motorways for 48000 average miles
I bought a set of these tyres, about 2 years ago i doo 2000 miles per month to work every day I got 48,000miles out of my last set I have a discovery 3 which as you know is a heavy 4x4 these tyres a brilliant in the snow Great off roading never once had a puncture no damage to the tyre walls just worn down through to my tracking was out I bet I would of got 60,000miles to a set of these easy, I'm running gt radial adventura atm shocking we do offroading at a 4x4 course and these are bad don't buy gt radial for your 4x4 dangerous tyres, definitely just waiting on my new set of 4 renegade at5's to turn up they are an amazing not over priced well worth the money....
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-01 18:20:23
Hankook Dynapro HP RA23 rated 96% while driving a Kia Motors
Driving on a combination of roads for 70000 spirited miles
Huge surprise! Incredible tire, excelent braking and cornering in dry, good in wet, very confortable and lasted 120.000 km under a mix of conditions including a lot of trailering. Bought another set and probably would do it again, and again.
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-08 16:43:58
General Grabber AT rated 96% while driving a Jeep Grand Cherokee
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
I have the gen grabs at on a Jeep Grand Cherokee and they drive like road tyres on the road wet or dry even when you push it on a bit the so quite down the road compared to bf Goodrich maybe the bfs are a little better in the mud but if your off road a lot you want mud tyres I think but the grabber do both very well will easy get you out of a wet muddy field just spinning them to clean the tread I think they really are the best all rounder especially if you do more road and wet grassy muddy fields I would buy them again with out thinking so quite on the road for a a/t tyres
tyre reviewed on 2016-11-21 12:01:08
General Grabber AT rated 94% while driving a Mitsubishi L200
Driving on mostly country roads for 54 miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-07-03 11:13:53
Toyo Open Country All Terrain rated 91% while driving a Jeep Grand Cherokee 2.7 LTD
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 easy going miles
Purchased these Feb 2018 just after buying my 2004 Jeep GCL 2.7, due to the previous Volvo V50 having a PSA engine....

Have done about 12k miles on them so far, tried in gravel, mud, snow, ice and rock and will say that they are a superb all-rounder. I have full confidence in them now and know I made the right choice in buying them.

Economy - my Jeep is getting better MPG than manufacturer stats
Noise - no noticeable extra noise compared with the road tyres they replaced
Wear - hardly wearing at all, I'm not surprised they last 50k miles. Makes me laugh when I remember wearing out 4 new Yokohamas in 10k miles that were fitted on my classic (proper) Mini.
Tarmac - not pushed it to it's limits on the road as it's a proper solid axle 4x4, not a racing car, so these are more than adequate for the vehicles that they were designed for.
Wet grip - never had reason to panic, it goes round corners, stops etc as it should
Snow/ice - it's fantastic to be able to drive past £80k "premium 4x4s" that are stuck in snow! This is worth the investment alone!
Mud - not really got in-deep as they are not MT tyres, however, I have been on slippy stuff on a hill (snowy wet grassy sloppy mud) they got me up it. MT tyres would without doubt excel here.
Rock/gravel/sand - no worries here really either

I would recommend them to anyone with a 4x4 or AWD that needs to go off road or have a play once in a while, or is even just wanting peace of mind - they will not let you down.

Mud Terrain tyres they are not, so any serious off-roading will require more aggressive tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-28 13:46:33
Cooper Discoverer ATR rated 89% while driving a Kia Motors
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 average miles
Excellent tyres, smooth and comfortable with surprisingly civilised road manners. These are actually quieter than the stock road tyres that came with my Sorento (Kumho KL21's)! Very sure in snow and ice with plenty of 'feel'. I will be buying these again !
tyre reviewed on 2011-12-16 19:02:20
Gripmax GripMax AT rated 86% while driving a Nissan Terrano II
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 easy going miles
Budget tyre low noise and great on road on my Terrano.Also balanced really easily which the tyre fitter said was a good sign
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-27 09:08:16
Nokian Rotiiva AT rated 77% while driving a Volkswagen Amarok permanent 4x4
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-25 17:33:53
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre