255/60 17 Tyres

The following tyres have been reviewed in 255/60 17.
Pirelli Scorpion ATR (18) 95% 83% 86% 82% 88% 88% 88% 90% 511,605
General Grabber UHP (19) 90% 85% 83% 76% 86% 85% 85% 84% 607,810
General Grabber GT (14) 89% 83% 78% 73% 88% 82% 83% 82% 184,207
Pirelli Scorpion ICE plus SNOW (14) 82% 82% 75% 69% 87% 79% 74% 82% 338,000
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric SUV (10) 90% 83% 88% 84% 63% 90% 71% 81% 75,150
Pirelli Scorpion Winter (7) 81% 81% 74% 74% 76% 78% 80% 79% 56,130
Dunlop SP5000 (3) 83% 83% 80% 77% 83% 70% 70% 78% 42,000
Nexen WinGuard SUV (4) 80% 70% 65% 55% 75% 63% 80% 70% 8,500
Continental 4x4 Contact (31) 80% 75% 69% 52% 51% 75% 51% 67% 614,085

255/60 17 Tyre Review Highlights

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric SUV rated 97% while driving a Mercedes Benz ML350
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Replaced a set of Kumho's (awful tyre!). The Goodyear's handle the weight of the ML very well with good feedback and turn in. Very good wet and dry braking as well as cornering.
Only had for a few months and I would expect high wear, but grip is more important to me. Great tyre, unfortunately expensive.
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-26 06:50:18
Pirelli Scorpion ATR rated 94% while driving a Nissan Navara 3.0L V6
Driving on a combination of roads for 40000 spirited miles
Great tyre for Nissian Navara utes or any other ute for that matter.
Just does not slide in the wet. If you drive over 60% of the time on the road this tyre is awesome - you can throw it around corners in the wet or dry with confidence. Wear is ok for +40,000km and does preform well off road. I think Pirelli GOT IT RIGHT.... this is an older tyre, has been around for more than 10years and other manufacturers are still trying to catch-up. I'm not interested in hard wearing 4WD death trap tyres which are dangerous in the wet and give you an extra 10,000km.
tyre reviewed on 2016-11-10 02:45:28
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric SUV rated 94% while driving a Mercedes Benz ML350
Driving on a combination of roads for 15500 spirited miles
I bought these to go on my ML to replace the average tyres it came with, my main aim was for wet grip. These deliver that is spades, simply a brilliant tyre in the wet and equally as good in the wet, they just hang on!
The ML is not a light car so I am not expecting a lot of kilometres out of them, but they are doing very well thus far.
A very good tyre that I will definitely buy again!
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-16 11:05:04
Dunlop SP5000 rated 89% while driving a Mercedes Benz ML
Driving on mostly town for 37000 average miles
The Dunlops were the best tyre I've used so far, lasting 60,000 km/5 yrs and with enough tread to go another 1-2 years or more. Amazing durability. Would definitely have bought again but they are no longer made in the correct size, but if you can find some old stock, you will not regret snapping them up.

Couldn't say the same for the Pirelli Scorpion Zeros I had before them, that were worn out after 5 years/60,000 km. The Continental SportContacts that it rolled out of the factory on were gone after 2.5 years (40,000 km) - terrible value.
tyre reviewed on 2014-08-29 09:58:06
General Grabber GT rated 88% while driving a Mercedes Benz ML
Driving on mostly town for 23000 average miles
When I bought the car it had Accelera Iota on. I replaced them with grabber GTs and the car seemed like a different car. I have been driving on the GTs for almost 3 years and had 1 puncture due to a 2" screw. Although I have not been seriously off road they managed to drag a caravan cross a wet and boggy field without a problem. There always seems to be plenty of traction, under breaking, cornering and acceleration. I have not used the tyre in the snow or on ice so can not comment on the performance. The tyre does have M.S on the side but does not have the mountain graphic next to it.
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-03 23:27:26
General Grabber UHP rated 83% while driving a Nissan Navara 2.5tdi
Driving on mostly country roads for 25000 spirited miles
Brilliant tyre. I have a Navara truck which I have owned for 10 years. I am now on my 3rd set of these. As an all-round tyre they are great. I am not a green-laner, but when I do go off road these tyres grip well. In the snow (very deep snow a few years ago) they perform well. No need for a summer/winter set or an on-road/off-road set. These will do just fine. They last well too.
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-05 02:37:49
Pirelli Scorpion Winter rated 83% while driving a BMW X5
Driving on mostly motorways for 30000 spirited miles
Great tire, used multiple seasons, provides excellent snow grip until I wore out the tread over 5 winter seasons (the last two were a bit marginal). As expected more noise than summer tires, and obviously cannot push as hard in the dry turns with that much tread, but these provide a lot of confidence in snow, ice and wet conditions; I often just easily drove through where everyone else struggled.
tyre reviewed on 2014-10-19 04:19:00
Continental 4x4 Contact rated 81% while driving a Mercedes Benz ML
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
On a heavy car these tyres have been great. Not even half worn yet. Never got stuck on light off road use and in the snow were great. I have towed a lot so have rotated the tyres. Very pleased. If you don't feel these tyres handle well them I think you are trying to use a 4x4 for something it is not intended for. They are aimed at SUV's not sports cars.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-03 19:33:18
Pirelli Scorpion ICE plus SNOW rated 41% while driving a Renault Koleos
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-02 22:31:29
Nexen WinGuard SUV rated 0% while driving a Mercedes Benz ML350
Driving on mostly country roads for 500 average miles
Grip well in dry and wet, similar braking pattern to the Continental 4x4 contacts I had before, corners similarly and has a decent tread pattern for off-road usage (best tread pattern I could find in this size due to very limited choice). Traction control light hasn't come on during the icy weather or on wet days unlike the Continentals which tended to spin despite being only a third worn. Have dragged 2.5 tons up some steep hills without any complaints.

I've found these tyres perfectly quiet up to around 60mph, after which things become more noticeable but that's probably down to the tread pattern. Rest assured it's nothing remotely like true off road tyres and as my (petrol) engine sounds like a bus anyway, doesn't really bother me. Due to the tread pattern, these are far superior to the previous Continentals, which were quiet running on road but for supposedly recent 4x4 M&S rated tyres, utterly useless in the few inches of snow in January plus had no grip in the mud - quite embarrassing.

I've bought these with the intention of running all year round; car doesn't do many miles as it's a runaround intended for occasional towing / slipway use, but so far I've used it on the motorway as well as winding / steep potholed country roads and these tyres have to my surprise performed flawlessly considering their cost.
I'm very pleased with them.
tyre reviewed on 2018-02-11 01:09:44
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre