Aptany RA301

Dry Grip 77%
Wet Grip 71%
Road Feedback 71%
Handling 71%
Wear 56%
Comfort 69%
Buy again 67%

The Aptany RA301 is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

Show All

Tyre review data from 14 tyre reviews averaging 69% over 102,106 miles driven.

Latest Group Test Results

2016 Test World Performance Tyre Test - 13th of 13 tyres

  • Positive - Low noise level, low rolling resistance
  • Negative - Long braking distances and poor handling on dry and wet roads
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/45 R16 84V XL          
205/45 R16 87W XL   C B 70  
225/50 R16 92V   C B 70  
205/40 R17 84W XL   C B 70  
205/45 R17 88W XL   C B 70  
215/45 R17 91W XL   C B 70  
225/45 R17 94W XL   C B 70  
235/45 R17 97W XL   C B 71  
245/45 R17 95W   C B 71  
205/50 R17 93W XL   C B 70  
215/50 R17 95W XL   C B 70  
215/55 R17 98W XL   C B 70  
225/55 R17 101W XL   C B 70  
215/40 R18 85W   C B 70  
225/40 R18 92W XL   C B 70  
245/40 R18 97W XL   C B 71  
235/45 R18 98W XL   C B 71  
245/45 R18 100W XL   C B 71  
275/30 R19 96W XL   C B 72  
225/35 R19 88W XL   C B 70  
245/35 R19 93W XL   C B 71  
245/40 R19 98W XL   C B 71  
255/40 R19 100W XL   C B 72  
245/45 R19 102W XL   C B 71  
255/50 R19 107W XL   C B 72  
275/30 R20 97W XL   C B 72  
225/35 R20 93W XL          
245/35 R20 95W XL   C B 71  
275/40 R20 106W XL   C B 72  

Questions and Answers for the Aptany RA301

2018-04-05 - APTANY MACRO 275/40/20 IS THE TIRE DIRECTIONAL? WHY DOES IT SAY OUTSIDE AND INSIDE ON THE TIRE, PLEASE ADVISE

If it says outside and inside then it is an asymmetric tyre. The tyre pattern would also confirm this.


2018-11-15 - what should the tread depth be on a new aptany 205/55R/16 91H RW211 winter tire

I don't know the exact figure, but it should be somewhere between 7 and 9mm


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
235/35 R19 £42.86 - £64.59 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 9 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Aptany RA301 Review

Given 80% while driving a Vauxhall Insignia CDTI SRI 160 (245/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Great budget tyre, low noise, average wear, look good.
312 - tyre reviewed on August 16, 2016   

Latest Aptany RA301 Reviews

Have you driven on the Aptany RA301 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Aptany RA301? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Aptany RA301 >>

Given 79% while driving a Honda Accord Tourer (235/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Just purchased my second set of the aptany RA301 235/45/17 97W for a Honda Accord Estate.I have these still fitted on a 2013 mondeo.For the price point these are excellent tyres.Dry grip is fine but its in the wet where these excell...they are incredable.Never once lost grip with these including wet...the way they cut through water even at motorway speeds is remarkable.The construction is good and i feel totally connected to the road at all times. There is one draw back though and thats tyre wear! Im no test pilot and they have covered 20k now with maybe 4/5k until they done.They are summer tyres so compound is soft.A few other things to factor in though...a premium brand tyre may get double the mileage if your lucky but they will cost at least 2-3X.Also after a few thousand miles your likely to have picked up a puncture or few...after 4 years and 25k miles i would want a fresh set of boots no matter what brand i had bought. Fuel rating C and most important for me rated B in the wet means you have a very safe tyre when you need it most.Pretty quiet on the open road as well. To sum up there cant be a better tyre out there than this for the money..£240 fitted with valves and balancing.My honda currently has equivalent ZV7 by avon....not a bad tyre by any means but they are no where close to the aptany in the wet and why im changing. Highly recommend and wont break the bank giving these a try.
1 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2020   
Given 86% while driving a Kia Motors Forte (215/45 R17) on mostly town for 3,106 easy going miles
I'll be honest about buying these. The car they went on is a 2011 Kia Forte SX, that is driven mostly by my wife, to and from work on weekdays. I drive it on weekends when we run around town for groceries and such. given that it's on a 9 year old daily driven car, that is driven pretty conservatively, I didn't want to spend a lot on tires. I'm not willing to spend a boat load of money on a car that may expire in the near future. The last set of budget tires, with similar tread wear rating of ~300 lasted 2 summers. So if we get the same out of these, I'll be happy. Some would argue that spending more money on tires that would last, say 4 summers, would be a better choice. But, I like a value, and many times, budget doesn't allow spending that much on rubber at any given time. These were purchased in late March 2020, and mounted in mid April. Oil change was just done on July 7 2020, as well as a tire rotation. Wear has been even, and assuming that depth at new was 8mm, after 5000kms, they are down to just under 7mm. So, not bad at all for a 340 treadwear tire. When they were first mounted, both y wife and I noticed they were a bit noisier than the ones they replaced. On par with our winters. I also noticed they were a bit twitchy, as if the car needed an alignment. They track well now, and are very quiet on new pavement. It hasn't rained in a while, so I can't quite comment on how they perform in the rain. That being said, I adjust my driving for the conditions, so I'm sure they'll be ok. Would I buy them again? If it's for the Kia, then yes. But, I've got my eyes on Rotalla next time.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 8, 2020   
Trying to pick the very best winter tyre? Watch this!
Given 44% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (235/35 R18) on for 8,000 miles
These are the fastest wearing tyres I have ever bought. My last set lasted 30,000 miles, these are shot ofter 8,000
0 - tyre reviewed on July 4, 2020   
Given 37% while driving a Volkswagen Caddy (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 2,500 easy going miles
The worst tyres Iíve come across put them on in February an the fronts are gone already
8 - tyre reviewed on May 16, 2020   
Given 60% while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (205/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 8,500 average miles
Cheap tyres do the job for a year about 9000milies
On a mk2 ford focus 2.0i
Work well just bad wear rate
Will not buy again.
Ok on the back of car.

0 - tyre reviewed on December 6, 2019   

See all 12 customer reviews of the Aptany RA301 (newest first) >>