Avon ZV5

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 79%
Road Feedback 77%
Handling 78%
Wear 71%
Comfort 78%
Buy again 74%

Avon ZV5 Reviews (newest first) - Page 3

Given 89% while driving a SEAT LEON 1.6 105 bhp (195/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Just got a 2nd full set of these after having two come as rears on my old leon. Have replaced awfully quick wearing Hankook Ventus Prime 2 fronts and Dunlop 200E rears and the car is very happy. Cabin noise and comfort are greatly improved. The car is mainly used on country B-Roads and these handle well for quick corners and rough surfaces. My partner actually borrowed the car and asked if I had fitted new suspension as it felt that much different. Will buy a set for her car when due later this year.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 7, 2015   
Given 83% while driving a Peugeot 407 Coupe (245/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 10,000 spirited miles
Changed from Pirelli P-Neros to Avons after some good experience of these on an Alfa 164. Wear so far is excellent (no visible change after 10Kmiles) admittedly mainly on motorway driving. Awesome dry-road grip, though they prefer smooth sweepers; choppy roads make them apparently flex under very hard cornering. Very quiet also, with very good wet-grip, though i can't really comment on how they break away - don't often drive this car beyond its limits in the wet. Overall thoroughly recommended. £78 each from F1 autocentres. BTW this car needs regular alignment checks as the front suspension is carrying a lot of weight. Worth it to get even wear though.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 23, 2015   
Given 77% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/45 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 45,000 average miles
Now on my 3rd set so yes I do buy again! as with a previous review I have the XL version which is tight and gives good feedback. These tyres take some time to 'Bed in' perhaps as much as 500 to 1000 miles, but when they do they are every bit as good as much more expensive conti's, they do wear faster than conti's which were my old tyre of choice, but then they are half the price, I cannot fault this mid range tyre and would recommend on your Ford Fiesta.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 21, 2015   
Given 67% while driving a Volkswagen Polo GTI (195/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Fitted to Polo 6N2 GTi.

Decent enough all round but sporty tyre. Can't help but feel that a slightly stiffer sidewall would help this tyre, tends to be progressive but ultimate grip levels feel a little low, giving plenty of understeer if worked harder. Wet level grip is less - decent enough progressive feel but more understeer. Wear however is very good. I've had 6 of these so far on the car, 2 were changed due to previous shoulder wear only. I would recommend these as a decent all round tyre, but will be fitting Bridgestone RE002's next time which I feel are a far superior tyre for the same sort of price.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 23, 2015   
Given 60% while driving a Skoda Octavia (205/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 15,000 average miles
Very noisy tyres with a noticeable transferred buzz/roar over 62 MPH, and buzzy through country roads. Good dry grip, wet grip declines rapidly towards wear limit, good wear.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 22, 2015   
Given 87% while driving a Audi A3 2.0T Sporkback (225/40 R18 H) on mostly motorways for 35 average miles
Had these fitted to my Audi A3 Sportback S-Line 2.0TFSI Quattro - Wonderful tyres so much so I have just purchased another 4 for my car. They offer great grip in both dry and wet conditions, especially matched to the AWD system of my A3. Covered over 35,000 miles mainly motorway driving (M4) mixed with some city driving, and only now have they needed replacing! Having driven in all weather conditions, these really shine on the motorway when there is a lot of standing water, they cut through areas of standing water at speed (70 mph) like a hot knife through butter! They offer great dry grip, and really even if pushed rarely will I see a loss of traction! (might be down to the traction control and Quattro) but these do help! I would recommend these for any car, especially those with over 200 BHP ! Great tyres and looking forward to another 35,000 miles out of this set! Highly recommend the AVON Zv5 5*****
1 - tyre reviewed on January 14, 2015   
Given 54% while driving a Toyota Celica VVTi 140 (205/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Very disappointed. I have a 2005 Celica VVTi with Koni adjustable dampers and Black Diamond fast road pads for spirited driving (a little rallying on tarmac stages as well). Once the tyres wear down to 3mm they are susceptible to aquaplaning. General wet weather grip is OK but understeer is prominent for fast road driving. Corner entry in the wet is significantly lower with these tyres than Toyo Proxes T1-R. Dry grip doesn't fair that well either. Tyre does loose grip progressively but the more you load the tyre the less grip there seems to be. Heavy braking almost instantly activates the ABS on my car even when braking from 30-0mph.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 12, 2014   
Given 87% while driving a Mazda MX5 (205/50 R16) on mostly country roads for 300 average miles
mazda mx5 purchased with MARANGONI tyres fitted. on no account should you even consider buying them they are lethal fitted avon zv5 and it has transformed the car this is my first mx5 i liked it. now i love it with these great tyres on
0 - tyre reviewed on November 27, 2014   
Given 84% while driving a Rover 75 2.0 cdti Tourer (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 17,000 easy going miles
Fab tyres. My Last set on front lasted 17k. Rears still going. Just replaced with a new set of yes you guess it Avon's. AT on side which signifies Avon Melskham. I like to support UK stuff where I can.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 19, 2014   
Given 73% while driving a Ford Mondeo (215/55 R16) on mostly town for 15,000 average miles
Just bought my second set of Avons for my ford mondeo for the rear of the car. These tyres are made in Serbia and are constructed using polyester. The first set of Avons are on the front and going strong - these were made in England and have rayon within the tyres. Very happy with first set, interesting to see how new set compare. Avons are owned by Cooper Tires Inc (American company). Their UK tyres are made in Melksham England.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 2, 2014