Avon ZZ5

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 86%
Wear 70%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 78%

The Avon ZZ5 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Avon ZZ3

Show All

Tyre review data from 90 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 589,571 miles driven.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Avon ZZ5
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/40 R17 84W XL   E A 70 9.43kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   E A 71 12.06kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   E A 71 12.22kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E B 70 10.00kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 70 10.54kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL         11.31kgs
235/40 R18 91Y   E A 69 11.31kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 69 11.34kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 70 11.83kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E B 70 11.71kgs
245/40 R18 93Y   E A 69 11.83kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   E A 70 10.85kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   E A 70 11.74kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   E A 70 12.66kgs
245/45 R18 100W XL   E A 70 12.66kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   E A 71 12.26kgs
295/30 R19 100Y XL   E A 73 13.48kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 70 11.36kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL          
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 70 11.97kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 71 12.57kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   E A 71 11.44kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 70 12.37kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71 13.48kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL   E A 71 12.93kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL          
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E A 70  
255/35 R20 97Y XL   E A 71 13.03kgs

Questions and Answers for the Avon ZZ5

2018-03-07 - Do you know if AVON ever put their car tyres forward for comparison against their rivals? I believe Avon to be a respected British tyre company but i can never seem to find them appear in the tyre tests. Because i want to support British companies i have 2 cars both with full sets of avon ZZ5 which i find to be excellent but it troubles me that i cant see them reviewed against direct rivals Do they have something to hide?

The Avon ZZ5 is quite an old tyre now. If you look at a newer pattern, such as the Avon ZV7, it has been tested and scores comparatively well for its price point.


2020-06-03 - Can I replace Avon ZZ5 with Avon ZV7 on my Fiesta ST ? Thanks.

Replacing the ZV7 with the ZZ5 is no problem.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
Available in 5 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Avon ZZ5 Review

Given 98% while driving a Volkswagen MKV GTI (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
PERFECTLY SUITED TO MY CAR.VERY SECURE WET WEATHER PERFORMANCE.DRY GRIP AND STEERING FEEL VERY PLEASING>STILL TRYING TO FIND A DOWNSIDE TO THE BEST TYRE I HAVE EVER PUT ON MY CAR>
164 - tyre reviewed on April 24, 2016   

Latest Avon ZZ5 Reviews

Have you driven on the Avon ZZ5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Avon ZZ5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Avon ZZ5 >>

Given 76% while driving a Audi A6 2.0 TDIe C6 model (255/35 R19 W) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
Bought these with Audi A6 C6 '10 plate. They were pretty much new when I bought the car. 20k later there was nothing left on the front. I still got few k left on rear ones. The sportiest tyres I ve had, however I never really owned a proper sport tyre before. In warm weather, once the tyre was warm I was really happy with the grip, handling and responsivness even though my Audi was front wheel drive only. Had my car remapped to 205bhp on the wheel and aprox 430NM so quite a lot of torque sent to the front. In these conditions tyre performed really well. Even more experienced drivers were suprised at what speeds you can go around the corner. On the other hand, in wet and cold conditions it can be quite scary, trying to go up the hill and around the corner in first normally results in wheelspin howevever I am aware my front were worn unevenly. It appeared previous owner was putting way to much air in them as middle part had considerably less tread than sides. Had the front swapped for Nexen N Fera SU4 (75 a piece). This was much more comfortable to ride on and better in wet however much noisier and even though the dry grio was good, Avon felt much sportier and way mlre responsive. Overall really good in dry, not so good in wet. Not the best in terms of wear. For 124 a tyre I will be trying Goodyear Eagle F1 AS5 as it has much better reviews and I miss the sporty feel.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 6, 2020   
Given 97% while driving a Audi TT Mk1 1.8T 225BHP (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
Fitted to my Audi TT Quattro, replaced set of miss matched Chinese hedge finders that came with the car. Absolutely transformed the handling. Ok I've got four wheel drive but have never managed to loose grip in spirited driving in the wet or dry. Were rubbish for the first hundred or so miles, really slippy but guess they were bedding in.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 15, 2020   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Audi A4 1.8T S Line (255/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 11,500 average miles
Purchased used Audi A4 with 4x new Avon ZZ5 tyres. Less than 12000 miles later I’m changing all tyres. Whilst there’s a good amount of tread left, I’ve never been satisfied or felt secure with grip in either wet or dry conditions. However, my biggest complaint is tyre noise. Whilst I appreciate a 19” tyre will never provide a quiet, comfortable ride, these tyres are woeful. The tyres make a drone noise similar to a failing bearing and especially in colder conditions. I’ve been to several garages who have confirmed bearings are good and all suspect the tyres. For me and my fellow passengers sanity these tyres are going. Would I recommend? No. Would I buy myself? Definitely not.
1 - tyre reviewed on December 26, 2019   
Given 100% while driving a Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards) (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Fitted them to fronts of my MX5, after puncture on original Bridgestone tyre ... these are so much better. Definitely recommend. More grip and feel, especially when below 15 DegC - inspiring confidence, without any wear issues.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 16, 2019   
Given 74% while driving a Ford S Max Titanium X Sport (225/45 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 10,000 spirited miles
While these tyres perform well in dry and wet conditions after 10000 miles I can say predominant dry driving will wear these tyres quickly. Switching tyres back to front half way is advised as the drive tryes lose adhesion after some wear, which translates poor wet driving grip.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2019   

See all 88 customer reviews of the Avon ZZ5 (newest first) >>