Bridgestone Potenza RE71R

Dry Grip 100%
Wet Grip 78%
Road Feedback 81%
Handling 93%
Wear 57%
Comfort 40%
Buy again 99%

The Bridgestone Potenza RE71R is a Extreme Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

Show All

Tyre review data from 8 tyre reviews averaging 78% over 52,400 miles driven.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Bridgestone Potenza RE71R
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Bridgestone Potenza RE71R

Questions and Answers for the Bridgestone Potenza RE71R

2018-05-31 - Is that tyre available in Europe?

I do not believe the Potenza RE71R is available in Europe at the moment.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top Bridgestone Potenza RE71R Review

Given 74% while driving a Subaru Impreza WRX STI (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Easily outperforms my previous tyres (ad08r and hankook rs3) in terms of outright grip. A tad noisy on the highway due to thread pattern. Has constant performance throughout the life of the tyres unlike the ad08r which was great for the first 30% and the rest felt like skating on ice. Great wet weather performance and can effectively cut through small standing puddles but gets sketchy with deep puddles. Lasted me about 20000 miles, only 3 track days but incredibly aggressive daily driving. Will definitely buy again.
87 - tyre reviewed on March 16, 2017   

Latest Bridgestone Potenza RE71R Reviews

Have you driven on the Bridgestone Potenza RE71R tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone Potenza RE71R? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Bridgestone Potenza RE71R >>

Given 83% while driving a Porsche Boxster 2.5 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
I'm running these tires on a '98 Porsche Boxster. 225/45-17 in front and 255/40-17 in the rear. When I purchased the car, it came with a mismatched set of all weather tires that I took to an HPDE session at the beginning of 2019. Those tires were terrible and the ABS was constantly engaging. The first session of this year was at the same track and the difference was night and day. ABS no longer engaged, turn-in was spectacular, grip phenomenal. In my most recent track session, with the tire warn about 50%, I've seen cornering forces in the 1.4G range and the tire just sticks. It appears superior to the Michelin PS4S for track use (the 4S isn't really a track tire) and in my opinion (and without having actually driven a car using them) the RE71R is closer in nature to the M PSC2, but at a much lower price. Keep in mind that the following comparison is made in two very different cars, so take it as you will. Comparing the RE71R to the PS4S (BMW Z4 sDrive35i 225/35-19 F, 255/30-19 R) the RE71R's wear faster, and run noisier (and as someone else mentioned the tire has a funny/different sound anytime it crosses painted lines). On the other hand, it has better turn-in, better cornering grip, and better feel. Also, it does not appear to heat up as much on the track as the PS4S. Keep in mind that the Z4 is a much heavier car and has a lot more power. Also, the Z4 is front-engined vs. the mid-engine Boxster which probably accounts for some of the improved turn-in for the Boxster. While the PS4S have now survived the equivalent of 5 track days with relatively little wear, there are a coupe of spots where the tread has chunked. With the RE71R's at 3 track days and an autocrosss day, the wear is in the 50% range and I expect to have to change them sometime during the next track season. On the other hand, beyond wear, there is nothing wrong with the tires; no track damage whatsoever. I have no opinion on their wet weather or cold weather behavior as I live in Phoenix, AZ and if it rains I don't go out. We also don't track cars mid-summer because no one want to put themselves (or their cars) out on the track when it is 120F in the shade. If money were no object and I was looking for a road only (daily driver, if comfort and noise were important to me) tire, I would go with the M PS4S. But for what I use the car for (mixed daily driver / track use), I find the B RE71R to be superior. I will also make the statement that I *think* the PS4S will outlast the RE71R even on the track (or maybe especially on the track) so, even though the PS4S costs a fair amount more, overall the RE71R's may end up being more expensive. I think that I will be able to get at least 2 seasons out of the 4S vs. about 1 or maybe a little more with the RE71R. One last thought. I have the same tires on my '97 E36 M3 (225/45-17 F, 245/40-17 R) and I love them on that car. Even as a daily driver (I have not tracked that car in 22 years) I think I will stick with the RE71R's when the current set wear out. But that is just me. I'll take the slight comfort, noise and wear penalty to have a tire that I know will just stick when I need it to. And if I ever decide to take that car to the track again, I know the tires will be up to it. Perhaps in a colder climate I would not feel the same way, as cold weather and extreme performance tires don't get along. In fact, I will probably end up putting the RE71R on every car we own, for which they have the correct fitment (other than our BMW X1).
3 - tyre reviewed on February 19, 2020   
Given 87% while driving a Toyota MK3 MR2 Roaster (205/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 4,900 spirited miles
RE71R have been dominating Autocross events in America for years now. Maybe only a couple 200 tw rated tires that come close to the grip these tires offer.
Pros:
RE71R are particularly griping at all levels of turn in and are very confidence inspiring. There are slightly grippier 200tw tires in the dry, but RE71R's always take podium at my local autocross in the wet! NA customers can get this ultra performance tire for cheap from Costco with frequent $150 USD off promotions. The tread life is surprisingly good, considering my past tires on a Nissan 350z (240tw & 300tw) were replaced by 15,000 miles. Granted, the lightweight ZZW30 MR2 probably doesn't wear any tire out very quickly!

Cons:
Extremely noisy for daily driving, but you can deal with it or get a 2nd set of tires. Interesting bit, RE71R makes a distinct noise when driving over a smooth painted line. All the grip comes at a price, as the sidewall is extremely stiff, which you'll feel driving over an unavoidable pothole. Pricy when not on promotion. If taken to the track, the rubber pilling can be so severe the tires will be unusable even though tread depth is still adequate.
2 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2019   
Trying to pick the very best all season tyre? Watch this!
Given 73% while driving a Hyundai Genesis Coupe V6 (255/40 R18) on track for 5,000 spirited miles
These are the ultimate autocross/time trial tire in the 200tw or higher category. They wear more like 150tw however. I always say they are made of "black magic and mozzarella cheese". The tires provide all the grip you want short of mounting hoosiers to the car. You will have to spray the tires to keep them cool on hot summer autocross days. They do not talk when on limit like a normal street tire, instead they grip quietly until they break free, making an awful groaning noise when they do, not the typical high pitched screeching. Also, they sound like a winter tire driving down the road. 10/10 will buy again.
5 - tyre reviewed on July 8, 2019   
Given 83% while driving a Subaru Impreza WRX STI Type RA 1999 (225/45 R17) on track for 3,000 average miles
This tyre is Fantastic
Use on my gc8 with 450hp
Very agressive on the dry, very good handling
I've used it on 4 track days
(Around 72laps of 2,2km)

Good on the road but quiet noisy

I recommend it and I will buy it again
1 - tyre reviewed on January 2, 2019   
Given 78% while driving a Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards) (205/50 R16) on mostly town for 2,000 spirited miles
Very aggressive tyre!
Performance on dry road tops the DOT tyres like M PCS2 and P TR.
Haven't really push in the wet so no comment on that.
A bit pricy though.
10 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2018   

See all 7 customer reviews of the Bridgestone Potenza RE71R (newest first) >>