Continental Cross Contact A/T

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 73%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 80%
Wear 84%
Comfort 77%
Buy again 75%
Snow Grip 40%
Ice Grip 40%
 
Size Price Range  
235/85 R16 £117.00 - £136.39 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 3 tyre sizes - View all.

Continental Cross Contact AT Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 94% while driving a Land Rover Defender (235/85 R16) on a combination of roads for 80,778 average miles
These tyres were original tyres fitted to my new 2015 Land Rover Defender. They were subjected to varied on road and off road conditions in Southern Africa. They are now being replaced at 130 000km (80778 mi) with legal tread on all tyres. They handled well in both wet and dry conditions with no punctures on any tyre. The performance in sand was better than mud. My one complaint is that the tread traps and throws stones, require checking for stone boring into the tread. I have long been a fan of BFG All Terrain KO but I have never had a tyre last like these tyres, note I maintain a rigorous rotation, balancing and alignment program. I can strongly recommend these tyres as 70/30 multi purpose tyres.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2020   
Given 53% while driving a Land Rover (235/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 60,000 average miles
These are the "summer" tyres on my Defender, for winter use I have BFG A/T which I am more than happy with. Two points I want to make about the Continentals: 1: Whilst they are not directional they do wear in a manner governed by direction. If they are swapped from side ti side they sound very much as if all the wheel bearings are about to fail. Not nice. 2: On snow and ice at about freezing point they are much more likely to spin than the BFGs.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 3, 2020   
Given 86% while driving a Land Rover Defender (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 27,000 average miles
Good all round tyre that wears very well,off road they are average,on road very good.
7 - tyre reviewed on May 28, 2018   
Ford (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 14,000 average miles
THe tyres are comfortable and quite. They handle pretty good on tar and on gravel, but the wear is not good at all. After 14,000km i note some concerning wear on the tyres with bits coming off. For an off road tyre, well I would not buy them again. They have super thin sidewalls and are more expensive than some other tyres which are better suited in this area. I would say these tyres are 70:30 geared towards tar. To be honest I am disappointed.
6 - tyre reviewed on November 29, 2017   
Given 89% while driving a Land Rover Defender (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 57,000 average miles
Done 57000 miles on first set since new. Am renewing tomorrow as only one is worn to the limit. Best mileage for a set of tyres ever. Cannot reccomend more. Good off-road - we live at Bog House Farm, which says it all.
4 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2017   
Given 79% while driving a Toyota Landcruiser (225/45 R17) on track for 1,000 spirited miles
Hey team we live in Australia.We have several large brands to choose from.
MAXXIS
TOYO
ACHILLES
BRIDGESTONE
KELLY
FALKEN ETC. ETC ETC 💥
We have given the conti cross contacts a beating beyond the call of duty.DESERTS BEACHES GRAVEL ROADS THAT GO ON FOR DAYS.TOWING HEAVY LOADS and no problems.Heaps of nicks and tears however in Australia we are happy with around 30/40 thousand Kay life.YES I will buy them again 👍🏽
8 - tyre reviewed on February 4, 2016   
Given 80% while driving a Land Rover Defender (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
not sure on other posts claiming unbelievably low mileage before wearing out. Mine came with the defender as new and have done 50,000 miles so far, with loads of life left. I anticipate at least another 10,000. Road noise is good (for a defender) and off road grip has been absolutely fine during mild conditions (green laning etc). They feel utterly safe at motorway speeds and have been extremely resistant to damage by sharp objects etc both on the sidewalls and tread, which doesn't show evidence of missing chunks as some other tyres out there do.
6 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2015   
Given 97% while driving a Land Rover Defender (235/85 R16) on mostly country roads for 20,000 average miles
bought as new-take offs with new wheels for my 2004 Land Rover, and these are well behaved on the road, with good support for offroad sites. Not brilliant in the mud as a full on MT tyre, but these are 50/50 M&S rated tyres which suit my 20,000 miles a year very well.
I recommend them over the UHP (General Grabber TR) which I had before, as a better all round all season tyre. For sure, slightly noisier and slightly lower (about 1-2mpg) than the TR, but the TR is 70% road biased. There's always a trade off, and this is one I'm happy with. I average 29.5-33.7 mpg depending on traffic and terrain.
3 - tyre reviewed on December 10, 2014   
Given 48% while driving a Land Rover Defender (225/75 R16) on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
These are the summer tyres on my Defender and are acceptable. In winter I have BFG A/Ts which are quieter and have better grip/traction on snow and ice. Neither tyres have worn much, but when the Contis wear out I'll replace them with a quieter "summer" tyre. It's a Defender so I have not exploredred progressiveness or dry grip!!
1 - tyre reviewed on September 4, 2014   
Given 93% while driving a Land Rover Defender (235/85 R16) on mostly country roads for 24,000 average miles
Cannot understand some of the reviews for the Cross Contact AT. These tyres are an excellent all round performer. They are less than half worn at 24,000 miles so I am looking to get around 50k+ out of them. They perform wet or dry are capable off road and have an acceptable noise level on a defender which is not exactly quiet anyway. My usage is 70% county roads 25% "A" roads or motorways and 5% off road. For any tyre to have to handle all of the above summer and winter is a big ask and this tyre is very good.
60 - tyre reviewed on September 8, 2013