Continental WinterContact TS 860

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 95%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 88%
Wear 83%
Comfort 89%
Buy again 89%
Snow Grip 85%
Ice Grip 72%
 
Size Price Range  
185/65 R15 £56.40 - £79.39 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £54.90 - £71.39 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £74.00 - £141.50 (43 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £108.00 - £122.00 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 47 tyre sizes - View all.

Continental WinterContact TS 860 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 92% while driving a Skoda (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
I used these tyres for the last 2 winters. New set at the start of each winter. I can see why they win tyres tests as I found them perfect for any condition during the winter months. Driving on ice or black ice is like driving on a normal road conditions, Also snow, wet and dry grip were very good.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 14, 2020   
Given 71% while driving a Audi A6 2.0 TDI (205/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
My first winter tire and I'd say I have mixed feelings about them. The pros are they give nice feedback in spite of winter tires making steering feel lackadaisical but it was still tolerable, very nice dry grip even during spring which makes it feel almost like a summer tire, moderate rolling resistance and they are super comfortable. You can kind of drive them sporty and spirited but the understeer gets present at certain corners and tire squeal might occur at even lower speeds but it is rare. Braking is progressive and excellent. Ice grip definitely a joke and snow grip is above average as they seem to be made for western European climate and not Baltic States climate but this can be solved with lower pressure. These tires love low pressures so keep them around 29-35 PSI. Above 15C temperature outside they feel lackluster but below that they function just fine so a very good tire if you consider dry grip, glue-like wet grip, some snow grip if you live where weather can be bipolar and often damp without changing tires until for summer as it appears these tires seem to last long tread life wise as I still have 5.7mm left. By admission I'd like to point out that yes, Continentals have a tendency to tramline as the notorious rumours suggest. I'd like to highlight comfort as these have very soft sidewalls as well as they roll quietly and give the car the characteristics of dampers being on par with air dampers(may help to soften up stiff cars as well for some gain in comfort) however for my style of driving these do not suit me so avoid these if you want a winter tire that offers fun so consider Blizzaks or Winter Maxx as WinterContacts of this model do not suit my driving style although I may be incorrect and should try the S versions of that tire which might satisfy my enthusiast needs but I fear the softness is the mantra of Continental.
2 - tyre reviewed on June 20, 2020   
Given 89% while driving a BMW 318D (195/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
Bought a set of 4 continentals for my first car. Unfortunately as a student I didn't have much to go for and had to drive these all year round for 2 years. But, as a winter tire it was very good, I recommend these to anyone I can. In the winter these performed so well in the snow, it can dig you out of even the worst situations. Cant say much about ice. Dry performance during spring conditions can be comparable to premium summer tires. In short, you just cant go wrong with these.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 14, 2020   
Given 84% while driving a BMW E90 (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
A safe and comfortable tire. Best on wet and unbelievably quiet! slightly worse in a bend at higher temperatures. I highly recommend!
1 - tyre reviewed on June 8, 2020   
Given 91% while driving a Toyota Auris (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
Those are really premium tires. I had GoodYear before.. i mean they weren't bad or anything but with Continental the whole driving in rain and snow felt more safe! Would recommend!
0 - tyre reviewed on April 8, 2020   
BMW (225/50 R17 V) on mostly town for 4,000 average miles
Excellent
0 - tyre reviewed on March 11, 2020   
Given 91% while driving a Mercedes Benz 250D (1991) (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 18,000 average miles
WHAT A TYRE!! I couldn't think of better winter tyre atm... Had Bridgestone Blizzak LM001 before that were good for aprox. 3000 miles, and after that they basically became hard plastic (all in same winter that I bought them and installed them on car)... Got TS860 because my friend recommended them for winter 2017/2018... As I have really really really really steep hill to my house, where even 4x4 car with moderate tyres struggle on even a little wet road, just imagine what my 30 years old Mercedes with rwd and without traction control feels like... On that hill I am not only able to go without any wheelspin on wet road (which i found impossible with any tyre before) but I can come to full stop at any point and start driving again like it is totally dry road, just mindblowing... Sometimes I feel that they even have better grip on wet road than ecocontact6 have on dry road in summer... I only had 1 chance to drive on snow and ice, as it doesn't snow in my area, and they performed fantastic... This set is at end of their life after cca 25-30k km (15-18k miles), maybe half mm until "minimum depth" mark, so I am going to buy new set in few days...

Until Continental launches new tyre to replace TS860 I won't think of trying other winter tyre... I can't even think how can winter tyre be improved over this
5 - tyre reviewed on January 5, 2020   
Given 82% while driving a Citron C4 (195/65 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 14 spirited miles
Not much snow in my area and not many steep hills or bad off camber bends, but many roads will not be salted or ploughed. Always lots of rain and a fair bit of frost and ice.

Great on cold wet roads below 10 C, especially deep puddles. I was willing to trade some snow and ice performance for these characteristics.

Very good on dry roads, chippings, frost and snow.

Good on sheet ice, if they did slip they tended to catch again within an inch or 2. I found it best to drive with my foot off the throttle and use gears to set my speed.

Comfort is very good, although the tyres do thrum a bit and the sidewalls are a bit flexible, tyre flex is especially noticeable with a loaded car and my car is light.

Tyres are on their third and probably last season as I always bin tyres way ahead of the legal limit, which will be about 20000 miles, which for me is about 1/3 less than most tyres.
Unless something way better is introduced I will most probably get these again, but I might change to 16 inch rims and/or XL rated versions.

HTH




1 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2019   
Given 83% while driving a Opel Vectra C 2.0T (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
Substituted some old Pirelli Snow Sport 210, which were nice for the snow but not good tyres overall. The change was very noticeable. These tyres perform well enaough in the dry. Only when braking very hard the high treadpattern limits the grip. I guess they would improve on this as they wear.
Feedback is just fair in the dry too. Comfort is average. On the bright side, they are quiet and rolling resistance seems to be moderate.
In the wet the tyre is very good. As good as any summer tyree as far as I could test it. Very ressitant to aquaplaning and grippy on every surface.
Snow performance is better than any other tyre I have tried. Grip is good enough to drive normally, just being moderate. Traction is good even on a loaded FWD car going up steep slopes. I never got stuck or had significant wheelspin, and I had the chance to drive several times on hard conditions. Just Great.
Wear has been low for 11.000Km
Overall the tyre is very good, I would go for them again anytime. It's a pity ther is no size of this for my new car.
1 - tyre reviewed on December 14, 2019