Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 82%
Wear 81%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 77%

The Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Dunlop SportMaxx RT

Show All

Tyre review data from 51 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 254,744 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2020 Tyre Market Overview Braking Test - 17th of 49 tyres

2020 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 14th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Good lateral grip, short dry braking, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Understeer handling and long wet braking.
  • Overall - Satisfactory.

2019 EVO Summer Tyre Test - 4th of 7 tyres

  • Overall - Lowest rolling resistance and best curved aquaplaning result, the Dunlop had mild traction issues in the dry and wet.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/40 R17 84W XL   E A 67 7.92kgs
205/40 R17 84W XL   E A 70 7.69kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 71 8.13kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   C A 68 8.13kgs
245/40 R17 91Y XL   E A 68 9.86kgs
245/40 R17 95Y XL   C A 69 9.86kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   C A 69 8.24kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   C A 69 8.24kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 67 8.70kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 68 9.10kgs
225/45 R17 91Y XL   E A 68 9.10kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL * C A 71 9.00kgs
235/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 68 9.61kgs
235/45 R17 94Y   C A 68 9.48kgs
235/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 71 9.41kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 69 9.41kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 68 9.60kgs
245/45 R17 95Y XL   C A 68 9.60kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 68 9.85kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   C A 67 8.65kgs
215/50 R17 95Y XL   C A 68 9.30kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 68 9.55kgs
225/50 R17 94Y XL   C A 66 9.55kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 68 9.61kgs
215/55 R17 94Y XL   C A 68 9.61kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL   C A 68 9.93kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 68 9.93kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL *MO B B 69 10.06kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   C A 71 9.95kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 68 10.80kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 68 10.98kgs
235/60 R17 106V XL   C A 71 11.50kgs
225/35 R18 87Y XL   E A 68 8.66kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   C A 69 9.33kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 69 9.90kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 70 10.28kgs
275/35 R18 95Y XL   C A 69 10.75kgs
205/40 R18 86Y XL   E A 67 10.00kgs
215/40 R18 89W XL   C A 70 8.87kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 68 9.50kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 69 9.65kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 69 9.79kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C B 70 9.60kgs
245/40 R18 93Y XL   E A 69 10.36kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 69 10.12kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 69 10.36kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL   C A 69 11.80kgs
275/40 R18 103Y XL MO C A 68 13.98kgs
275/40 R18 103Y XL MO C A 68 13.64kgs
275/40 R18 103Y XL MO C A 68 15.20kgs
275/40 R18 103Y XL MO C A 68 13.64kgs
205/45 R18 90Y XL   C A 67 8.50kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 67 9.61kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 69 9.90kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 71 9.90kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL         10.49kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL *MO C A 69 12.20kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL *MO C A 69 12.19kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL *MO C A 69 12.48kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   B A 68 10.00kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL *MO C A 69 12.19kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   B A 69 10.50kgs
225/55 R18 102V XL   B A 70 10.40kgs
225/60 R18 104Y XL   C A 68 13.71kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   C A 69 10.22kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL   E A 70 11.40kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   C A 68 9.28kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 68 9.58kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   C A 67 9.98kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 69 10.59kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 69 10.87kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL MO C A 70 13.50kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 70 11.43kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL *MO C A 68 12.23kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 69 10.77kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL *MO C A 68 12.50kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL *MO C A 68 12.30kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 70 11.31kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 70 11.05kgs
225/45 R19 92W XL *RSC C A 68 11.90kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 69 11.18kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   C A 69 10.44kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL   C A 70 11.50kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 69 10.80kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 69 11.06kgs
285/40 R20 108Y XL MO C A 70 15.60kgs
285/40 R20 108Y XL MO C A 70 15.60kgs
255/45 R20 105Y XL MO C A 69 13.10kgs
255/45 R20 105Y XL MO C A 69 13.10kgs
285/35 R21 105Y XL MO C B 71 14.70kgs
255/40 R21 102Y XL MO C A 70 17.00kgs
265/45 R21 104W XL   C A 69 12.98kgs

Questions and Answers for the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2

2016-12-01 - Dunlop sportmaxx rt2 or coopers zeon cs sport. both A rating for wet. Which one would be better? i have an Insignia.

The Dunlop SportMaxx RT2 has shown to be better than the Cooper in the 2016 Sport Auto UHP Tyre Test.


2016-11-02 - I'm considering buying a set of these tyres but the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance tyres look good too. So my main question is, If both sets of these tyres were the same price (Dunlop Vs Goodyear), which set would you go for? I currently drive a FWD Hyundai Coupe 1.6 ( A car which I find very heavy ) on Irish roads and need to upgrade my tyres immediately. At present, the tyres on my car are Landsail items, and are utter rubbish. Between horrible handling, a hard ride and high noise levels, I have to contend with the fact that 4 separate tyre dealers in my area couldn't balance my wheels correctly, so I have to swap them asap for a quality set-up.

That depends on your requirements from the tyre. The Dunlop Sport Maxx RT2 is intended as a performance tyre, whereas the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance is a touring tyre. As such, the Dunlop will have a more sporty feel, and the Goodyear will offer more comfort. Both are excellent tyres and will offer significant improvements over your current landsail tyres.


2017-08-14 - The Dunlop Sport Max RT 91W factory fitted front tyres on my Octavia estate(64 plate) are coming up to their limit after 25500 miles.( the back ones have lots of tread left) I am not a performance driver, preferring comfort and good mpg( 58 mpg over this mileage). What do I go for to replace them?

Depending on size, the Continental Premium Contact 6 looks to be an excellent blend of comfort and performance.


2017-12-19 - Hi, I have a 2016 Subaru WRX STI with the recommended 245/40 R18 Dunlop SportMaxx RT2 tyres. Unfortunately, I find the ride excessively hard (I know this is a characteristic of the car). Is there a tyre of the same size that would help the ride comfort and smooth things out, without too greatly compromising the vehicle? Softer sidewalls? I see above you recommend Continental Premium Contact 6 as an excellent blend of comfort & performance, and I believe the Goodyear F1 AsymmetricaI 3 is also very good. I only drive at normal road speeds, and own the vehicle for it's AWD ability to operate in all conditions (dry, rain, mud, frost, sunny etc.) - I am not interested in maximum attack style track days!. Any help or suggestions greatly appreciated.

For all its sporty credentials, the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 is actually a comfortable UUHP tyre. The Continental Premiumcontact 6 would be a good option, also the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance will be more comfortable than the Asymmetric 3 and RT 2.


2018-04-17 - Do these tyres have good alloy wheel protection ?

In certain sizes the SportMaxx RT2 has a raised flange to protect the wheel, you would need to check with your tyre dealer to see if your size does.


2018-05-27 - Is there any significant difference between SportMaxx RT2 & Goodyear Asym. 3 in terms of feedback and comfort considering the fact Dunlop's parent company is Goodyear?

Not a huge amount! In theory the RT2 is slightly more sport focused than the Asymmetric 3, but I've not had chance to do the test back to back so can't confirm this. Both are excellent tyres.


2018-07-25 - Are these going to be available in 16" or shall I go with the maxx RT? I'm currently using Barum Bravuris 3HM, is the maxx rt's overall performance better than the Barums? Is it worth to replace the Barums with maxx rt or rt 2 if it's going to be available in 16"?

It is very unlikely Dunlop would develop this in a 16 inch as their focus is very much on 17 inch plus. The only chance of it being developed in 16 inch is if Dunlop had an OE fitment request, which is again very unlikely.


2019-04-12 - Hi, I need to fit my old 2000 corvette cab with staggered size 245/45YR17 and 275/40YR18. The Dunlop RT2 and the Hankook S1, V12 are the one that I could find in both size, given that I am only looking at major brands. I am focusing on touring if any. The Dunlop attracts me due to lower noise and good braking in the wet, which in sweden is a interesting point. The Hankook is similar in test result, except for the noise and recommended. What is your take on this? Should I mix brand and model front and rear? Should I stay with same model? Dunlop or Hankook? Thank you very much.

I would avoid mixing front and rear where possible. I'd probably go for the Dunlops over the Hankooks if it's an earlier version of the S1. In turn, the S1 Evo 3 would probably be the smarter purchase as it's a newer tyre than the RT2.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/50 R17 £86.99 - £102.17 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £71.44 - £86.42 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £65.81 - £102.60 (36 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £112.24 - £130.96 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 75 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 Review

Given 93% while driving a Renault Megane RS250 CUP (235/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
I have changed my ContiSportContact 5Ps with these. Quite happy so far. The car feels like more responsive and quiter. I have preferred these over SportContact6s purely because of the price advantage but it doesnt feel like a wrong choice so far. The rim protectors, which dont exist on 5Ps, are also nice. I have just painted my rims before installing these and these protectors have already save me from scratching the rims couple of times.
233 - tyre reviewed on April 30, 2016   

Latest Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 Reviews

Have you driven on the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the SportMaxx RT 2.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 100% while driving a Mazda MX5 (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 16,000 spirited miles
Best tyre
3 - tyre reviewed on February 15, 2020   
Given 60% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 Vector Sport TiD 150 Saloon (225/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
These tyres were fitted to the car shortly before I bought it and now, 18,000 miles later, the fronts are under 3mm and ready to be changed.

I drive 100 miles a day commuting on mixed roads at varying speeds in all weather conditions . The fact that I can’t remember anything specific about them probably says they’re pretty good all rounders. Not the sharpest turn in, but that’s mainly the car’s wooden steering rather than the cars fault.

I’d prefer they had lasted longer, but then I don’t know how long they were on before I got the car. Overall, pretty good value for money I would say.
2 - tyre reviewed on January 19, 2020   
This is the ultimate tyre test! Watch now!
Given 97% while driving a Audi audi a3 s line 2,0tdi 150bhp (235/35 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
Average yearly mileage is 18k. After having 2 full sets of Pirelli P Zero, decided to try different brand as Pirellis only lasted about 8000 before changing ( replaced at 3mm) when cold easy spun tyres on take off, once warm grip was great with no issues on both dry and wet roads..... once worn they became real noisy .... so decided to try Dunlop Sport Maxx RT2 and so far after 5000 miles superb tyres and very pleased with them, down to about 6mm ....tyres grip great in the wet and dry... they dont suffer from wheelspin when cold....much quieter. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Dunlops as an excelent replacement
10 - tyre reviewed on October 2, 2019   
Given 97% while driving a Ford Focus MK2 1.8 TDCI (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
Got a good deal so had a set of 4 fitted to Focus 1.8tdci replacing Michelin ps4.
Now I have travelled about 5k miles on these Dunlops and I cannot fault them. Usually country roads and town driving.
Dry Grip is there always from starting from cold to warm, Michelin was the same in the dry.
Wet grip I slowly started to push the car a bit more to find out what I would get from these Dunlops and I was amazed they were brilliant I never slid had any twitches on the steering gave me a lot more confidence in the wet, I had none in the Michelin in the wet they were dreadful and slid easily under acceleration (sorry Michelin but they felt more plastic than rubber in the wet)
The Dunlops don't give any road noise as I can hear but I am driving a diesel so that may drowned it out if there is any, same with the Michelin.
Comfort is excellent easy to live with and being 40 series that is a big plus as some cheaper brands are like riding on wood,
All in all I have tried a lot of different brands on different cars and these Dunlops are up there with the best Pirellis I have had, I find them better than Michelin and Conti which I have had on this car and I would recommend them to anyone with a similar family hatchback, my friend has the same tyre on an s-type jaguar and loves them too.
Cost wise I suppose it all depends on what deals are available at the time but we know all top quality brands are going to be of similar cost.
Mileage I have done 5k and they still look like new so I am happy I got just over 9k from the Michelin on the front of the car I have a suspicion these will do better by looking at how much tread is left after 5k.
Would I buy again? Yes without hesitation, I would only be tempted away if I got Pirelli at a similar cost I got these for £300 all in for four.
9 - tyre reviewed on September 15, 2019   

See all 47 customer reviews of the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (newest first) >>