Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 80%
Road Feedback 80%
Handling 81%
Wear 77%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 71%

The Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Dunlop SportMaxx RT

Show All

Tyre review data from 64 tyre reviews averaging 79% over 441,244 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2020 Tyre Market Overview Braking Test - 17th of 49 tyres

2020 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 14th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Good lateral grip, short dry braking, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Understeer handling and long wet braking.
  • Overall - Satisfactory.

2019 Gute Fahrt Summer 18 Inch Tyre Test - 4th of 12 tyres

  • Positive - Shortest dry braking, highest aquaplaning resistance, good comfort.
  • Negative - None mentioned
  • Overall - Highly Recommended.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/40 R17 84W XL   E A 67 7.92kgs
205/40 R17 84W XL   E A 70 7.69kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 71 8.13kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   C A 68 8.13kgs
245/40 R17 91Y XL   E A 68 9.86kgs
245/40 R17 95Y XL   C A 69 9.86kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   C A 69 8.24kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   C A 69 8.24kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 67 8.70kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 68 9.10kgs
225/45 R17 91Y XL   E A 68 9.10kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL * C A 71 9.00kgs
235/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 68 9.61kgs
235/45 R17 94Y   C A 68 9.48kgs
235/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 71 9.41kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 69 9.41kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 68 9.60kgs
245/45 R17 95Y XL   C A 68 9.60kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 68 9.85kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   C A 67 8.65kgs
215/50 R17 95Y XL   C A 68 9.30kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 68 9.55kgs
225/50 R17 94Y XL   C A 66 9.55kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 68 9.61kgs
215/55 R17 94Y XL   C A 68 9.61kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL   C A 68 9.93kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 68 9.93kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL *MO B B 69 10.06kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   C A 71 9.95kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 68 10.80kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 68 10.98kgs
235/60 R17 106V XL   C A 71 11.50kgs
225/35 R18 87Y XL   E A 68 8.66kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   C A 69 9.33kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 69 9.90kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 70 10.28kgs
275/35 R18 95Y XL   C A 69 10.75kgs
205/40 R18 86Y XL   E A 67 10.00kgs
215/40 R18 89W XL   C A 70 8.87kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 68 9.50kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 69 9.65kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 69 9.79kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C B 70 9.60kgs
245/40 R18 93Y XL   E A 69 10.36kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 69 10.12kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 69 10.36kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL   C A 69 11.80kgs
275/40 R18 103Y XL MO C A 68 13.98kgs
275/40 R18 103Y XL MO C A 68 13.64kgs
275/40 R18 103Y XL MO C A 68 15.20kgs
275/40 R18 103Y XL MO C A 68 13.64kgs
205/45 R18 90Y XL   C A 67 8.50kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 67 9.61kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 69 9.90kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 71 9.90kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL         10.49kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL *MO C A 69 12.20kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL *MO C A 69 12.19kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL *MO C A 69 12.48kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   B A 68 10.00kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL *MO C A 69 12.19kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   B A 69 10.50kgs
225/55 R18 102V XL   B A 70 10.40kgs
225/60 R18 104Y XL   C A 68 13.71kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   C A 69 10.22kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL   E A 70 11.40kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   C A 68 9.28kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 68 9.58kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   C A 67 9.98kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 69 10.59kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 69 10.87kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL MO C A 70 13.50kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 70 11.43kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL *MO C A 68 12.23kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 69 10.77kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL *MO C A 68 12.50kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL *MO C A 68 12.30kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 70 11.31kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 70 11.05kgs
225/45 R19 92W XL *RSC C A 68 11.90kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 69 11.18kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   C A 69 10.44kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL   C A 70 11.50kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 69 10.80kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 69 11.06kgs
285/40 R20 108Y XL MO C A 70 15.60kgs
285/40 R20 108Y XL MO C A 70 15.60kgs
255/45 R20 105Y XL MO C A 69 13.10kgs
255/45 R20 105Y XL MO C A 69 13.10kgs
285/35 R21 105Y XL MO C B 71 14.70kgs
255/40 R21 102Y XL MO C A 70 17.00kgs
265/45 R21 104W XL   C A 69 12.98kgs

Questions and Answers for the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2

2016-12-01 - Dunlop sportmaxx rt2 or coopers zeon cs sport. both A rating for wet. Which one would be better? i have an Insignia.

The Dunlop SportMaxx RT2 has shown to be better than the Cooper in the 2016 Sport Auto UHP Tyre Test.


2016-11-02 - I'm considering buying a set of these tyres but the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance tyres look good too. So my main question is, If both sets of these tyres were the same price (Dunlop Vs Goodyear), which set would you go for? I currently drive a FWD Hyundai Coupe 1.6 ( A car which I find very heavy ) on Irish roads and need to upgrade my tyres immediately. At present, the tyres on my car are Landsail items, and are utter rubbish. Between horrible handling, a hard ride and high noise levels, I have to contend with the fact that 4 separate tyre dealers in my area couldn't balance my wheels correctly, so I have to swap them asap for a quality set-up.

That depends on your requirements from the tyre. The Dunlop Sport Maxx RT2 is intended as a performance tyre, whereas the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance is a touring tyre. As such, the Dunlop will have a more sporty feel, and the Goodyear will offer more comfort. Both are excellent tyres and will offer significant improvements over your current landsail tyres.


2017-08-14 - The Dunlop Sport Max RT 91W factory fitted front tyres on my Octavia estate(64 plate) are coming up to their limit after 25500 miles.( the back ones have lots of tread left) I am not a performance driver, preferring comfort and good mpg( 58 mpg over this mileage). What do I go for to replace them?

Depending on size, the Continental Premium Contact 6 looks to be an excellent blend of comfort and performance.


2017-12-19 - Hi, I have a 2016 Subaru WRX STI with the recommended 245/40 R18 Dunlop SportMaxx RT2 tyres. Unfortunately, I find the ride excessively hard (I know this is a characteristic of the car). Is there a tyre of the same size that would help the ride comfort and smooth things out, without too greatly compromising the vehicle? Softer sidewalls? I see above you recommend Continental Premium Contact 6 as an excellent blend of comfort & performance, and I believe the Goodyear F1 AsymmetricaI 3 is also very good. I only drive at normal road speeds, and own the vehicle for it's AWD ability to operate in all conditions (dry, rain, mud, frost, sunny etc.) - I am not interested in maximum attack style track days!. Any help or suggestions greatly appreciated.

For all its sporty credentials, the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 is actually a comfortable UUHP tyre. The Continental Premiumcontact 6 would be a good option, also the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance will be more comfortable than the Asymmetric 3 and RT 2.


2018-04-17 - Do these tyres have good alloy wheel protection ?

In certain sizes the SportMaxx RT2 has a raised flange to protect the wheel, you would need to check with your tyre dealer to see if your size does.


2018-05-27 - Is there any significant difference between SportMaxx RT2 & Goodyear Asym. 3 in terms of feedback and comfort considering the fact Dunlop's parent company is Goodyear?

Not a huge amount! In theory the RT2 is slightly more sport focused than the Asymmetric 3, but I've not had chance to do the test back to back so can't confirm this. Both are excellent tyres.


2018-07-25 - Are these going to be available in 16" or shall I go with the maxx RT? I'm currently using Barum Bravuris 3HM, is the maxx rt's overall performance better than the Barums? Is it worth to replace the Barums with maxx rt or rt 2 if it's going to be available in 16"?

It is very unlikely Dunlop would develop this in a 16 inch as their focus is very much on 17 inch plus. The only chance of it being developed in 16 inch is if Dunlop had an OE fitment request, which is again very unlikely.


2019-04-12 - Hi, I need to fit my old 2000 corvette cab with staggered size 245/45YR17 and 275/40YR18. The Dunlop RT2 and the Hankook S1, V12 are the one that I could find in both size, given that I am only looking at major brands. I am focusing on touring if any. The Dunlop attracts me due to lower noise and good braking in the wet, which in sweden is a interesting point. The Hankook is similar in test result, except for the noise and recommended. What is your take on this? Should I mix brand and model front and rear? Should I stay with same model? Dunlop or Hankook? Thank you very much.

I would avoid mixing front and rear where possible. I'd probably go for the Dunlops over the Hankooks if it's an earlier version of the S1. In turn, the S1 Evo 3 would probably be the smarter purchase as it's a newer tyre than the RT2.


2020-05-22 - I have a mercedes clk 350 convertable with 225 40 18 on the front and 255 35 18 on the rear. I am looking for maximum comfort and low noise as I use it as a tourer rather than a sports car. I have Pirelli P zero which are starting to crack between the treads so its time for a replacement. I was thinking of Dunlops RT2 going off peoples reviews. What are your thoughts. would you recomend another tyre over the dunlops.

The Falken FK510 has higher levels of comfort than the RT2


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £76.00 - £87.00 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £69.60 - £97.96 (47 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £89.30 - £111.95 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £116.30 - £159.50 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 74 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 Review

Given 93% while driving a Renault Megane RS250 CUP (235/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
I have changed my ContiSportContact 5Ps with these. Quite happy so far. The car feels like more responsive and quiter. I have preferred these over SportContact6s purely because of the price advantage but it doesnt feel like a wrong choice so far. The rim protectors, which dont exist on 5Ps, are also nice. I have just painted my rims before installing these and these protectors have already save me from scratching the rims couple of times.
255 - tyre reviewed on April 30, 2016   

Latest Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 Reviews

Have you driven on the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 >>

Given 64% while driving a Skoda (225/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
This is a very soft tyre. The sidewalls are very soft so for turning fast isnt so good. Very comfortable and very quiet!
0 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2020   
Volkswagen (225/45 R17) on track for 1,500 spirited miles
Replaced totally worn Michelin Primacy Oem fitted wich where decent but not sporty. I find this tyre is close to being Dangerous!.. Very little steering response. Worst of all is the initial turning. It turns and then without increasing speed or turning the wheel more it suddenly looses grip...squicking.. I had the correct pressures(38-40) ..played up and down a bit nothing changed.. I think the sidewall is way way too soft. The problem is much worse in high speed corners (over 120-130kms) where it suddenly looses grip without ANY warning and its really frightening i ve done just 2000 kms and the Sport max on the sidewall is almost worn out.. The totally destroyed (no thread at all left in them ) Michelin where handling A LOT better and they are not considered to be a "grippy" tyre
0 - tyre reviewed on October 26, 2020   
Trying to pick the very best winter tyre? Watch this!
Given 39% while driving a BMW 320D (255/35 R18 W) on mostly town for 7,000 average miles
Big noise after 9.000 km,because of,uneven grinding of the tires.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 13, 2020   
Given 76% while driving a Skoda (225/50 R17 W) on mostly town for 25,000 spirited miles
Very soft sidewalls for turning fast, but in general use very good and value for money tyre
1 - tyre reviewed on October 10, 2020   
Given 84% while driving a Lexus CT200h (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 4,500 easy going miles
Fitted these tyres to my Lexus and I only have positive things to say about them. Firstly dry grip is great and same for wet grip. I avoid standing water so canít comment on aquaplaining. Iíve had no issues with breaking distances in dry or the wet. I do drive sensibly and not someone who pushes the car over 75mph or at speed around corners. You may describe me as a Sunday driver. Comfort of the tyres and driving experience is better than my previous tyres which were Hankooks, I get many many miles out of my tyres due to my way of driving but canít say what Iíll get out of these yet, only covered 4500 miles on them so far and there still like new. My Hankooks on the front covered 17000 miles and rear the same, but they were not worn out when I changed to the Dunlopís. They were about half way worn. People say change tyres in pairs and that is good advice but I change all 4. Itís something Iíve always done. If one tyre goes they all go... so overall I like the Dunlopís and canít think of any reason why I wouldnít buy them again.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 7, 2020   

See all 58 customer reviews of the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (newest first) >>