Dunlop SportMaxx RT

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 82%
Wear 59%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 69%

The Dunlop SportMaxx RT is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT

This tyre has been replaced by the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2

Show All

Tyre review data from 159 tyre reviews averaging 79% over 1,462,323 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2015 AZ 225/40 R18 Summer Tyre Test - 4th of 14 tyres

  • Positive - Short braking distances on wet surfaces, short braking distance on dry roads, low rolling resistance
  • Negative - Slow response to steering and a tendency to understeer in the dry

2015 Sport Auto 235/35 R19 UHP Tyre Test - 4th of 7 tyres

  • Positive - Good handling on wet roads, short braking distance on dry roads, very low rolling resistance, low noise level
  • Negative - Relatively long braking distances on wet surfaces, slow reaction to the steering in the dry

2015 EVO Magazine Performance Tyre Test - 6th of 10 tyres

  • Overall - The Dunlop performed consistently, but not outstandingly in any test, other than straight line aquaplaning.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
0/0 R0 0         10.31kgs
205/45 R16 83W XL   E A 67 7.24kgs
205/50 R16 87W XL   E A 66 7.63kgs
225/50 R16 92Y XL   E A 67 9.35kgs
205/55 R16 91Y XL   E A 67 8.72kgs
205/55 R16 91W XL AO E B 67 8.60kgs
215/55 R16 97Y XL   C A 67 9.59kgs
215/55 R16 93Y XL   C A 67 9.61kgs
225/55 R16 99Y XL   C B 67 9.96kgs
225/55 R16 95Y XL   C A 67 9.93kgs
195/40 R17 81V XL   E B 70 8.32kgs
215/40 R17 87W XL AO C A 68 8.72kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL * B B 66 8.40kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL *RSC C B 66 9.35kgs
225/45 R17 91W XL   B A 69 9.07kgs
225/45 R17 91Y XL AO2 E A 67 9.84kgs
225/45 R17 91Y AO E B 69 9.13kgs
225/45 R17 91W XL   C B 67 9.30kgs
215/50 R17 91Y XL   E A 67 8.87kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL J B A 68 9.93kgs
235/55 R17 99V XL AO C A 67 11.40kgs
205/40 R18 86Y XL   E A 69 9.95kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL AO1 C A 69 9.73kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL MO C A 68 9.67kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   B A 69 8.90kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL MO E B 70 11.05kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL J B A 68 9.58kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL MO E B 69 9.63kgs
245/50 R18 100W MO C A 68 12.91kgs
245/50 R18 100W XL MO E B 68 12.96kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL MO E B 68 10.23kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL MO F A 68 10.90kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL MO E B 68 10.21kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL MO1 E A 69 10.58kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL MO E A 69 11.50kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL MO E A 70 11.77kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL J C A 69 10.46kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL MO1 E A 71 12.82kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL MO E A 69 9.39kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL MO E A 68 9.64kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E B 70 11.11kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL J C A 68 10.17kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL MO C A 69 9.39kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   C A 68 10.57kgs
275/40 R19 101Y XL MO C C 70 13.89kgs
275/40 R19 101Y XL   C A 69 12.61kgs
275/40 R19 101Y MGT E A 67 14.74kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   B A 67 10.68kgs
245/45 R19 98Y MGT E A 68 12.17kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL MO C A 68 13.07kgs
235/55 R19 101V XL   B A 69 13.70kgs
235/55 R19 101V XL   B A 71 12.65kgs
235/55 R19 101W XL   C A 69 13.85kgs
305/25 R20 97Y XL   E A 70 13.40kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL RO1 E C 71 12.61kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL RO1 E C 71 12.65kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL RO1 E C 71 12.30kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL RO1 E C 71 12.30kgs
305/25 R21 98Y XL   C A 70 13.66kgs
255/30 R21 93Y XL   E A 68 11.56kgs
265/30 R21 96Y XL RO1 E A 71 12.29kgs
265/30 R21 96Y XL RO1 E A 71 12.63kgs
335/25 R22 105Y XL   C A 71 16.10kgs
295/30 R22 103Y XL   C A 70 14.50kgs

Questions and Answers for the Dunlop SportMaxx RT

2016-07-30 - i have dunlop 225/45zr17 on my skoda suberb and i have 39000 kilometers on what millage would i expecp to get

That is excellent mileage for the Dunlop SportMaxx RT, especially if it is the front pair of tyres.


2016-10-08 - What is the correct psi for these tyres

The tyre pressure for the Dunlop Sport Maxx RT is vehicle and load specific. The correct tyre pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


2020-01-02 - Are they run flat??

There are runflat versions of the SportMaxx RT


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/50 R16 £90.30 - £103.69 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £59.30 - £87.60 (17 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £75.50 - £95.98 (25 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £63.22 - £90.67 (29 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 35 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Dunlop SportMaxx RT Review

Given 91% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium X (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Excellent tyre, fantastic performance.
76 - tyre reviewed on December 8, 2012   

Latest Dunlop SportMaxx RT Reviews

Have you driven on the Dunlop SportMaxx RT tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop SportMaxx RT? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop SportMaxx RT >>

Given 74% while driving a Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Side grip is very bad,on the wet road they are very,very good,brakes are solid
0 - tyre reviewed on May 30, 2020   
Given 59% while driving a Subaru WRX Limited (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
I live and drive an above normal amount across Colorado. I have these tires fitted to my 2018 Subaru WRX Limited (Vehicle is stock). These tires were the O.E.M. fitment from Subaru. While they are sporty and do fit the vehicle’s driving dynamics, they leave a lot to be desired. Straight line, high speed grip was a little floaty at first but as the tire wore this settled out. At highway speeds the tire tends to try and track any ruts in the road which causes constant steering input to stay centered in your lane. At city speeds, as the tire wore down, it began to track more aggressively in these ruts resulting in an increasing amount of steering input. Driving in the mountains, spiritedly of course, the tire felt on the limit well before you reached that limit. There was a vagueness when you turned in on what would be the acceptable speed for a corner, regardless of previous speeds entering the same corner. This vagueness was consistent throughout the life of the tire. In the wet, the tires performed admirably. Significantly less grip in the wet when cornering, but no aquaplaning issues. On highway in the wet, the tires were stable and relatively predictable when encountering aquaplaning through deeper water. In the snow you are better off walking to your destination. The road noise was a bit loud, and when encountering bumps and cracks in the road you felt every millimeter of rebound. At 25,000 miles I expected a bit more life from these tires, seeing as majority of the mid-to-outer tread was still well within the legal limit. However, the inside edge of the tires began wearing suddenly and rapidly causing a light grey band of wear to appear which also began a slight squeaking noise. Upon checking my alignment, finding nothing abnormal, and resetting the alignment even more accurately, the tires continued this odd wear pattern. In summary, these tires were acceptable tires fitted from the factory, but with the staggering amount of options available with better characteristics I would not purchase them. They are no cheaper than any Michelin, Goodyear, or Continental offering, which would be the only reason I would repurchase them. These tires will do when you first purchase your vehicle and start to learn its characteristics. But once you’ve achieved a certain proficiency with your vehicle, the next step up in tires is a necessity.
2 - tyre reviewed on May 19, 2020   
Trying to pick the very best all season tyre? Watch this!
Given 66% while driving a Audi A7 S Line 245ps (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
Tyres have developed cracks (some span 1/3 of the tyre) when the tyre wear indicator shows plenty of life left in the tread. Investigating more there appears to be some quite severe cases of tyre failure. Worryingly, my tyres developed the cracks on the inside tyre walls so were unnoticeable until I removed them to change Xenon bulbs. No idea how long they have been like that
6 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2020   
Given 74% while driving a Nissan Skyline V35 (225/40 R19) on mostly town for 12,000 spirited miles
I got these tyres as a temporary substitute when I changed my wheels. They were excellent in the dry and very good in the wet. The Dunlops also made the car quieter overall. Very little noise. I noticed too that the more they wore, the stickier they got. The sidewalls on these isn't as hard as the previous tyres, but the all out grip was impressive none the less. I would definitely buy a new set, but the price and availability make it hard to get.
11 - tyre reviewed on September 3, 2019   

See all 143 customer reviews of the Dunlop SportMaxx RT (newest first) >>