Dunlop Sportmax Qualifier D209

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 76%
Road Feedback 92%
Handling 83%
Wear 69%
Comfort 95%
Buy again 83%

Dunlop Sportmax Qualifier D209 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 74% while driving a Yamaha R1 (190/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,700 spirited miles
had them on my modded 2009 R1, they are ok but not near the limit, the low down torque hit can cause them to break traction sometimes and they require you to push them to get the heat in to be able to get the best out of them. New they are very good but seemed to drop off, although they had tread left the grip wasnt there like when new
43 - tyre reviewed on April 3, 2015   
Given 93% while driving a Honda CBR600 FS (120/60 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Not much to say really and its always hard picking a tyre that works with a motorbike as my SV hated Dunlops but the CBR loves them.

Feedback in the dry and wet in cool/ cold temps is very good (maybe too much for some) but I find when riding in slick conditions like we are at the moment with all mud and leaves on the road the slight twitch you get from the rear or front lets you know its getting close to the sliding point so you can wind it in before getting hurt.

In the dry and warm/ hot these tyres are spectacular they just grip, I'm more of an old school rider (29 yrs old ha) but I've learn't to lean the bike rather than hanging off it and the only time I have come close to losing it was when leaning a little to much and nearly rolled off the shoulder but the feedback saved me as the rear gave a little slip. I will say though these tyres when at the steeper leaning angles give the sensation of a slide but its firmly planted so don't worry.

Wear is the only niggle I have, the back has lasted about 1600 miles and has about another 400ish left in them but I will probably change it in about 200 as its approaching winter. The front has had the same number and has about another 1000 left in it but the shoulders are getting a little steeped so might have to change before then.

Comfort is fine, and on the CBR600 F3 (1998) that these are on I run the rear at 38psi (42psi is book pressure) and the front at 36 in the summer and 34 in the winter but those are my personal choices as I find they offer me the best riding experince.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 23, 2014   
Given 69% while driving a Suzuki (160/60 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,500 average miles
Great tires in the dry.

Cant really comment on wet as I take it real easy when the roads are wet, to the point wher I couldnt compare once tire from another.

Rubbish on wear though, done literally just over 2k on an SV 650 and the tire was way over 50% wear when I picked up a nail and decided to just replace the tire rather then bothering with a repair.

Good tires, but wouldnt buy again purely from the terrible lifespan you get from them.

0 - tyre reviewed on December 19, 2013   
Given 87% while driving a Yamaha R1 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
had these on a 2009 R1 and a 2010 R1. done motorways, town, silverstone in the wet and dry. tyres are awesome in the dry, however if you just commute, they arent for you. the sides are very sticky and give plenty of warning on a big bend before you go falling off and dying, wet grip is fine if you adjust your riding style accordingly. under hard braking these bad boys just sink their teeth into the road and you WILL stop. you'll go over the bars before the front skids out if your doing it right.

full confidence in this tyre and would definatley buy again fo road and track.

you will chew through a pair in 1000 miles if you hack it though!! quite pricey, but if you've got a cheap bike then go and buy cheap tyres.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 6, 2012   
Given 92% while driving a Yamaha YAMAHA YZFR6 (180/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 6,100 spirited miles
I fitted these to a 2010 YZFR6. Gentle riding on first 150 miles. Used t/o Summer & Winter - current.

Both Front & Rear tyres have a hard compound centre which helps with wear.

Both F & R tyres have sound micro grippage - where the tyre forms into the surface, but it needs smooth handling to do so. Macro grip is pretty standard stuff.

Fantastic dry grip on the F tyre, with no slippage at lean angles on A & B roads (65 - 85mph). Doesn't like gravel just like any other tyre so add caution. R tyre needs loads of heat before grip's affective (4 miles dry avg. 65mph). R Slips on dry too often in town with hard braking, but good cornering characteristics & responsive.

F & R hold their own in the wet, with more confidence in country bends on wet surfaces (@ 65 - 70mph) than dry funny enough, but caution on soaked surfaces with only macro grip taking effect. The F tyre offers good drainage, R tyre keeps up fine with good grip on the edge.

On M roads (60 - 1600mph) & track there was no issue with grip & handling on turns & overtaking. Responsive R tyre.

Back tyre needed replacing after 4500 miles, 6000 for the front. Wish I could've had more.

Comfy & R6 don't go together!

Priced around the same as Avon Viper Sport AV59's. Ok price.

Great for starting out on race track.
2 - tyre reviewed on May 28, 2011   
Given 94% while driving a Suzuki GSXR600 K7 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Dunlop Sportmax Qualifier D209 so far is very durable to use on a high speed rides plus twisty. You can lean as far as 45 degrees angle or can go as far to the corner edge of the sidewall.

Done 12,000+ kms since installation and still has more miles to go. Has not tested it much on a wet road here in UAE but am confident it does gives a good grip.

Need to check it on my first trackday and will be back here for the new comments.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 10, 2010   
Given 89% while driving a Suzuki gsxr 750 k1 (190/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Ive got a gsxr 750 k1 , was running pireli corsas, but last year switched to michline 2cts , were a very goot tire , but bit unsure in the wet n very pricy, this year i got a set of dunlop d209 qualys , bet ive ever had , did a track day on them ,started wet , then got dryer threw the day , were very gripy evin in the wet, filled me full of confidence , were very progresive , ,felt like i could lay down power when cranked over, fast heat up , would buy again
0 - tyre reviewed on September 14, 2010   
Given 91% while driving a Suzuki GSX 1300 RK4 Hayabusa (190/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,175 spirited miles
Firstly the bike eats rear tyres. These are one of the best I've tried.
Most of the roads are good A's, some B's with the odd motorway.
Able to corner well over a ton plus, often 2 up. Never given me a bad moment.
Not really able to comment on them in the wet as I put my sensible hat on when it rained.
Tyre has worn well with hardly any squaring in the centre.
Would I buy again - yes I have.
1 - tyre reviewed on June 8, 2010   
Given 81% while driving a Yamaha YZF 600r (180/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 6,600 spirited miles
Great tyres at a great price. Perfect balanced tyre for both road and the occasional track use.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 12, 2009   
Given 84% while driving a Honda CBR600F Y 2000 (180/55 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
The grip, wet or dry is very good, although this tyre still doesn't inspire me to get the bike right down. Maybe that just because i've not had the bike long, but i can't help but feel they could give a little bit more.

The feedback in the wet is very good, you can feel when it's starting to go, and have sufficient warning to correct yourself before it does. Still spun it up in the wet through 2nd, but that's rather to be expected.

Not a noisy tyre at all, and very comfortable to ride on. Tyre life seems to be fantastic thus far, tyre hasn't squared off too much, and loads of tread left on it.

Wouldn't buy again, purely because i want to try some different tyres to see what feels good.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 13, 2008