Firestone RoadHawk

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 81%
Road Feedback 73%
Handling 60%
Wear 51%
Comfort 78%
Buy again 48%

The Firestone RoadHawk is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

The Firestone Roadhawk targets mainstream motorists who drive all types of journeys urban, highway, commute, school run, shopping on a daily basis. These drivers want a tyre that gives them long-lasting performance in road conditions where wet weather, heavy traffic, sudden braking and motorway speed are all part of the daily mix. In short, a tyre they can always count on.

Show All

Tyre review data from 22 tyre reviews averaging 68% over 101,450 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2020 ACE Mid Range Summer Tyre Test - 7th of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Very low rolling resistance
  • Negative - Long wet braking, poor wet handling, long dry braking, high noise
  • Overall - Conditionally recommended

2020 Tyre Market Overview Braking Test - 11th of 49 tyres

2020 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 9th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Well priced tyres with balanced behavior in the wet and dry. good aquaplaning resistance.
  • Negative - Average wear.
  • Overall - Good.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/50 R15 82V   C A 70 6.69kgs
195/50 R15 82H   C A 70 6.69kgs
185/55 R15 82V   C A 70 6.47kgs
185/55 R15 82H   C A 70 6.47kgs
195/55 R15 85V   C A 71 6.86kgs
195/55 R15 85H   C A 71 6.86kgs
175/60 R15 81V   C A 70 6.37kgs
175/60 R15 81H   C A 70 6.37kgs
185/60 R15 88T XL   C A 70 6.67kgs
185/60 R15 84T   C A 70 6.67kgs
185/60 R15 84H   C A 70 6.67kgs
185/60 R15 88H XL   C A 70 6.67kgs
195/60 R15 88H   C A 71 7.00kgs
195/60 R15 88V   C A 71 7.11kgs
205/60 R15 91H   C A 70 7.13kgs
205/60 R15 91V   C A 70 7.13kgs
165/65 R15 81T   C A 70 5.94kgs
175/65 R15 84T   C A 70 6.43kgs
175/65 R15 84H   C A 70 6.43kgs
185/65 R15 88T   C A 70 6.87kgs
185/65 R15 88H   C A 70 6.90kgs
185/65 R15 88V   C A 70 6.87kgs
195/65 R15 91T   C A 71 7.57kgs
195/65 R15 95T XL   C A 71 7.57kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C A 71 7.57kgs
195/65 R15 91V   C A 71 7.55kgs
205/65 R15 94V   C A 70 7.80kgs
205/65 R15 94H   C A 70 7.80kgs
215/65 R15 96H   C A 71 8.75kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL   C A 72 8.02kgs
195/50 R16 88V XL   C A 70 7.09kgs
205/50 R16 87W   C A 71 7.36kgs
205/50 R16 87V   C A 71 7.38kgs
185/55 R16 83V   C A 70 6.69kgs
195/55 R16 87V   C A 70 7.45kgs
195/55 R16 87H   C A 70 7.45kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C A 70 7.64kgs
205/55 R16 91V   C A 70 7.63kgs
205/55 R16 91W   C A 70 7.63kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 72 7.64kgs
215/55 R16 97Y XL   C A 72 8.40kgs
215/55 R16 97W XL   C A 72 8.42kgs
215/55 R16 93V   C A 71 8.42kgs
225/55 R16 95V   C A 71 8.93kgs
225/55 R16 99Y XL   C A 72 9.20kgs
195/60 R16 93V XL   C A 70 8.37kgs
205/60 R16 92H   C A 70 7.92kgs
205/60 R16 92V   C A 70 7.92kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL   C A 72 8.94kgs
215/60 R16 99H XL   C A 72 8.94kgs
225/60 R16 98Y   C A 71 10.05kgs
225/60 R16 102V XL   C A 72 10.05kgs
235/60 R16 104H XL   C A 71 10.27kgs
215/65 R16 98H   C A 71 10.93kgs
215/70 R16 100H   C A 71 12.20kgs
225/70 R16 103H         12.44kgs
245/70 R16 111H XL         15.35kgs
265/70 R16 112H         17.71kgs
205/40 R17 84W XL   C A 72 9.99kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   C A 72 7.96kgs
245/40 R17 95Y XL   C A 71 11.67kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   C A 71 9.84kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 72 7.96kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 72 8.67kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   C A 71 8.67kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 72 8.80kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 71 12.25kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 72 7.91kgs
215/50 R17 95W XL   C A 72 8.65kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 72 9.25kgs
225/50 R17 98W XL   C A 72 8.94kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   C A 72 8.22kgs
215/55 R17 94W   C A 71 8.45kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   C A 72 9.46kgs
235/55 R17 103V XL   C A 71 13.06kgs
215/60 R17 96H   C A 71 11.52kgs
225/60 R17 99H   C A 71 12.36kgs
235/60 R17 102V   C A 71 12.88kgs
225/65 R17 102H   C A 71 12.60kgs
235/65 R17 104V   C A 71 15.95kgs
235/65 R17 108V XL   C A 71 15.95kgs
265/65 R17 112H         17.83kgs
225/35 R18 87Y XL   C A 71 9.87kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   C A 71 10.66kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 73 12.11kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 73 12.48kgs
215/40 R18 89Y XL   C A 71 9.86kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 72 8.83kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 72 9.19kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 72 9.57kgs
215/45 R18 93Y XL   C A 71 10.40kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 71 8.86kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 71 11.82kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 71 11.27kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 71 13.61kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C A 71 12.72kgs
215/55 R18 99V XL   C A 71 11.11kgs
225/55 R18 98V   C A 71 12.92kgs
235/55 R18 100V   C A 71 12.66kgs
255/55 R18 109W XL   C A 71 17.19kgs
225/60 R18 100H   C A 71 10.05kgs
235/60 R18 103V   C A 71 14.65kgs
235/60 R18 107V XL   C A 71 14.65kgs
235/60 R18 103V   B B 71 14.65kgs
255/60 R18 112V XL   C A 71 16.35kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   C A 73 12.16kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   C A 71 10.89kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 11.83kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   C A 71 8.15kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 73 11.96kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 12.10kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 71 12.10kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 71 12.66kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   C A 71 12.37kgs
235/45 R19 99W XL   C A 71 13.09kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 71 10.56kgs
275/45 R19 108Y XL   B A 73 12.34kgs
255/50 R19 107Y XL   C A 71 18.11kgs
225/55 R19 99V   C A 71 14.07kgs
235/55 R19 105W XL   C A 71 14.19kgs
255/55 R19 111V XL   C A 71 16.48kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL   C A 71 11.61kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C B 73 13.32kgs
275/40 R20 106Y XL   C A 73 12.50kgs
255/45 R20 105W XL   A B 73 11.83kgs
265/45 R20 108Y XL   B A 73 12.55kgs
275/45 R20 110Y XL         14.18kgs
295/35 R21 107Y XL   C A 73 14.05kgs

Questions and Answers for the Firestone RoadHawk

2017-04-24 - Are Firestone Roadhawk tyres Directional as regard fitting, or can they be fitted any way, ie inside out etc.

The Firestone RoadHawk is an asymmetric tyre so can be fitted in either direction, just make sure the "outside" is on the outside of the wheel.


2017-08-14 - I will be needing new tyres in approx. 6 months and wondered if the Firestone Roadhawk is due to be tested this year. It appears to be in my price range, and seems better than most at that price point. I just wondered if anything conclusive has been printed??

All the summer tests of 2017 have been published now, but if you read our launch report there are some figures from TUV which shows the Firestone RoadHawk performing favourably.


2017-08-17 - These firestone tyres have not been tested against a 'good ' tyre such as the Hankook Ventus Prime 3. They have been compared with lesser tyres I believe. And they don't seem to be available with 95 rating only 99 or XL rating. Which I am not looking for as my car has quite hard suspension anyway. Would you think the Hankook tyres would be a better purchase?

I would argue the Uniroyal RainSport 3, Fulda EcoControl HP, Kleber Dynaxer HP3 and Nexen N Blue Plus TUV tested the RoadHawk against, which is covered in the RoadHawk launch report, are good tyres for the sector. Unfortunately I've seen no benchmark for comfort so can't comment on which option will be more comfortable.


2017-09-05 - What is the thread depth of the Firestone Roadhawk 195/65/15 please?

I believe the starting tread depth of the Firestone RoadHawk is a little over 7mm.


2018-06-20 - is the roadhawk 94w run flat tyre?

As far as I'm aware there is no runflat version of the RoadHawk currently.


2019-02-19 - where are the tyres made ?

Firestone and Bridgestone use factories all over the world, you would have to check directly with Firestone for the size you are looking at.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
195/55 R16 £60.82 - £85.00 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £39.89 - £63.01 (36 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/50 R17 £69.20 - £90.52 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £45.76 - £70.63 (36 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £56.99 - £83.26 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 94 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Firestone RoadHawk Review

Given 61% while driving a SEAT ALhambra TDi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
Purchased Two front tyres @ Halfords as they where cheap for a mid to premium tyre and had £20 Argos voucher attached.
When I checked tyre tread depth found only 7mm middle and 6.5mm outer edge.
Never had a new tyre under 8mm before, alway 8 to 10mm.
May be that's why there cheap!
Will contact Firestone to see why.
549 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2017   

Latest Firestone RoadHawk Reviews

Have you driven on the Firestone RoadHawk tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Firestone RoadHawk? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Firestone RoadHawk >>

Given 56% while driving a Kia Motors Rio (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
Got these tyres @ halfords to go on my kia reo seem to be a good price for a mid to perm tyre only to find when it came to the MOT fail inside edge down to the wire after 8k won"t be buying again.
4 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2020   
Given 100% while driving a BMW 320D M Sport (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
The car had some generic tyres fitted when I bough it and I have used firestone on previous cars, so wanted to get a set fitted on the front asap.

I'll get a set for the rear in the new year, but so far so good.
5 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2019   
Want the best 18" Sports tyre? Watch this!
Given 63% while driving a Vauxhall Zafira 1.9 CDTI Auto (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 5,300 easy going miles
We fitted four of these tyres to a Vauxhall Zafira 1.9 CDTI Automatic.
They tend to look under-inflated, because the side walls bulge a bit more than all the other tyres we've used in the past.
After just 5300 miles, the front tyres are now down to 3 - 4.5mm across the width.
Yes, the wear is uneven despite the tracking being done at the time of fitting. But even ignoring that, if they were 4-4.5 all the way across, they would seem to be wearing much faster expected, for a car that is driven gently much of the time.
The grip is all I could ask for at the price, both wet and dry. Even in damp conditions you don't tend to get much wheel spin.
Despite the softer sidewalls, they still give decent feedback, and have not made the handing much worse (though the Zafira is not the sort of car that you can throw around bends at the best of times).
If they were not wearing so fast, I'd have been pleased with them, especially for the fairly low price I paid.
But it seems that they will need replacing once they are about 7000 - 8000 miles old! That's just not good enough.
2 - tyre reviewed on November 18, 2019   
Given 67% while driving a Skoda Octavia (195/65 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 800 easy going miles
First off, it's paramount to state these tyres ARE NOT SPORT tyres. These tyres are a middle of the road, family car, daily driver tyre. They are soft, grippy in the wet & dry, quiet, and very comfortable when driven in the green zone. They're not designed or manufactured for even moderately spirited driving, not-to-mention sporty driving.
I have these fitted on the front of my Mk2 Octavia replacing a pair of Hankooks that were fantastic for the 2 years I had them but should have lasted much longer considering their price point.
So, if you are looking for tyres for the car you ferry your little precious ones around in then you are on to a winner here. They do everything very well. Their only two negatives are pricing and durability. Their price point is a little excessive for their known wear issues. They're not starting off great at 7mm thread depth and Firestone are not noted for their supremely durable compounds so I'll be happy if they last 2.5 - 3 years on the back as Im switching to a pair of Crossclimates on the front as soon as my tyre shop gets them in.

Final word. Know what type of driving you do b4 choosing this tyre. It great only for what its designed to do.
2 - tyre reviewed on November 3, 2019   
Given 61% while driving a Toyota Avensis (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 23,000 average miles
After checking over the Roadhawk as the outer edge of the front tyre was worn I was surprised to find there was only maybe 1mm of tread above the legal marker bumps left across the tyre which in fairness was evenly worn across all of the tyre. I found the receipt and the tyre was only 18 months old with 23000 miles on it.
Looking at the Black Circles website these tyres are described as 'mid-range' and cost £96.50 being described as 'formulated for long lasting tread'??!
My diesel Avensis is no power machine so I'm really disappointed with the wear rate!
I noticed other reviews mirrored my opinion that if when fully inflated the sidewall looks saggy.
Handling and grip are pretty good, using rural roads with lots of standing water or muddy surfaces from tractors have never been a problem but I wouldn't buy Firestones again because of the poor wear.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 9, 2019   

See all 22 customer reviews of the Firestone RoadHawk (newest first) >>