Kumho Ecsta KU39

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 78%
Road Feedback 80%
Handling 76%
Wear 73%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 80%
 
Size Price Range  
215/50 R17 £71.20 - £75.40 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 36 tyre sizes - View all.

Kumho Ecsta KU39 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 72% while driving a Nissan 350z (265/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Excellent dry grip for the price. Wet grip is average, not dangerous but will spin up when you put your foot down. Sidewalls are very hard so they are a bit noisey and harsh.
Overall a good tyre for the price
0 - tyre reviewed on January 22, 2020   
Given 93% while driving a BMW X3 (235/45 R19 V) on a combination of roads for 22,000 easy going miles
I have bought these tyres to the rear wheels for my 2007 BMW X3 3.0sd (twin turbo 286 HP, 6 automatic gearbox, four wheel drive version) in May 2017. Now, the time is October 2019 and the tyres have been used for 22000 miles since new in 3 summer seasons (mostly from April to November).
GRIP: Dry Grip: Very good overall, but it is not excellent like a Michelin Pilot Sport or Continental Sport Contact.
Wet Grip: Very good overall.
Offroad usage: Satisfactory. I have even used them on bushy, grassy and muddy offroads. Only once I had a risk of staying (bushy and muddy conditions with slight uphill were together), but my X3's electronic systems have helped to go inch by inch! Else they were very good in handling and traction.
BRAKING: Dry and wet : Very safe.
Offroad : Safe enough.
WEAR: Expected life of the tyres are around 30000 miles according to current wear figures. Also, tyres are very durable against unusual knocks created by potholes and bumps (ps: I have used 42-45 psi tyre pressure, recommended tyre pressure of the BMW is 42psi for maximum loaded car, once a month, I check the tyre pressures, and approximately 3 psi loss per month could be faced)
DRIVING STYLE: 80% 50MPH average speed drive (60 mph in German and Austrian Highways!). 1% offroad usage. Around 6000 kms, Ukrainian roads and offroads have been used with extreme potholes, bumps. (My left front suspension has been broken because of Ukrainian roads!)
BUY AGAIN: Yes. They are very good in performance/price measure.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 25, 2019   
Given 56% while driving a Renault Clio IV 1.2 Tce (205/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
Tyre wall too soft, will bend during heavy cornering
Wear is quite good actually
Tyre started showing cracks early in his life. Will not buy again.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 6, 2019   
Given 90% while driving a Smart Forfour (205/45 R16 W) on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
Premium tyres at mid range prices. Pleasantly surprised how good these tyres are, replacing a set of Continental EcoContacts. Handles very well in the dry, turn in is much sharper than the Contis, making the vehicle much more nimble, yet comfort and noise is outstanding, absorbs bumps very well considering these are 45 profile ultra performance tyres, with very little road roar compared with the Contis, it transformed the whole character of the car. Wear rate should be good at 280. Sporty looking tread pattern, with squared off shoulders. Haven't had much chance to test them properly in the wet yet. I would definitely buy these again.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2019   
Given 90% while driving a Audi TT (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Seem to be really good tyres- had gt radial sport active fitted previously which were absolutely awful in the wet and changed because these were so bad in the wet. The kuhmo are so much better and grip really well in the wet and dry grip is superb- the price is really competative about £110 a tyre compared to £160 ish for premium tyres. Wear seems fine so far to as some reviews say they wear really quickly. Only slight negative is they do seem a bit noisy on certain road surfaces. For the price they are a great all round tyre and would have no hesitation about buying them again
0 - tyre reviewed on February 2, 2019   
Given 73% while driving a Toyota MK2 MR2 Turbo (235/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 miles
The new KU39 sided versions are way better than the previous models.

Still running the old version on the front and will replace with the latest KU39s asap.

Decent all round tyre which is fine for my MR2 Turbo as they are a bit lairy in the wet!
0 - tyre reviewed on November 13, 2018   
Given 84% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer VRX (225/45 R18) on mostly town for 9,000 spirited miles
Fitted these to replace the ageing Cinturato P6 tyres that were on my Lancer when I bought it. The old tyres were lacking grip, starting to get noisy and had premature tyre squeal when driving hard.
Fitted 4x KU39 from Tempe Tyres in Sydney.
Upsized from 215/45/R18 to 225/45/R18 on the stock 7.5in.

Tyres were fantastic. Loads more grip right off the bat. Drove the car home after the tyres were fitted on the freeway for 2 hours in the pounding rain. No issues.
Nice stiff sidewall so no feeling of washiness or roll. Loads of grip wet and dry for what they are and low tyre noise (at least for the 10 months I used them)

Unfortunately the car they were on was written of by a red light runner who T-boned me so only put 15,000kms on the tyres, but they were still going strong after roughly a year.

Will definitely buy again.
3 - tyre reviewed on August 25, 2018   
Alfa Romeo (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 37,500 average miles

I am better at speaking in English than writing it. sorry for my bad enlgish but i hope you understand!

Dry grip; 8. Well.... when it is summer the tyres are great! Only when it is below under 7 degrees the tyres want to do a step aside. But... If you drive sportive you never have a unsafe feeling in summer.

Wetgrip; 7. If you drive in the rain with a normal road you have 0% stress about the grip, even in roundabouts or in turns on a 60mile motorway the tyre go's wherever you want to go there is no complains about. However. If there is aquaplanning (i dont know if this word is correct cause i'm dutch and here in the Netherlands you have aquaplanning alot), the Kumho's KU39 struggle's with the water... only option is to slow down the speed or doing two hands on your steering wheel! But if you know this and you seeing alot of water on the road you can lowing your speed for like 10km/h's and there are no problems.

Road Feedback; 9. The Kumho's give you always the feeling what's happening. And that's the reason why i love them.

Handling; 10. When you go with to much speed around the corner most tyres you go in to a slip . These tyres don't!!! In all the 37.5000 miles and my sportive drivenstile i have no unsafe feeling when i realy push hard. When you think; Oh shit mayby i'm late to take the corner. No problem... when you want to take a corner on your right... you go that way you want!

Wear; 10. AWESOME. I have an Alfa Romeo 147 JTD 140hp 340nm and i'm drive normal for like 90% of the time. Only i have my moments like everyone.... and then i realy pushed hard around the corners. Sometimes i leave with wheelspin by the trafficlights, or have slippy tyres when i go hard in a sharp turn.

I driven 37.500 miles (60.000km) on 1 set Kumho's KU39 front tyres!!! That's alot. Only they are now gone, and when they are born like now, you have not much grip but it is cold outside and i think that is normal when the tyres have 1.6mm left.

Comfort; 10; No complains about the comfort the sidewall is not soft but bad roads are no problem for the tyres (or your back)

Buy Again; 6. Well it is very hard to find tyres who are 100% what you want IMO. But i tink if you looking for a cheap tyre that makes you happy in all conditions buy the Kumho for sure. If you live in a country where it rains all day mayby you have to look at another tyre like the Uniroyal rainsport 3 (only with aquaplanning you have to pay attention on the road), but if you live in Italy, Kroatië or another warm country the Kumho's ku39 are perfect for you!!!

I give this time the change to Michelin Pilot Sport 4. They are much expensiver then Kumho's..... but YOLO. You can spend out your money 1 time in you life!
8 - tyre reviewed on February 14, 2018   
Ford (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
Have not had these long, but weather in Ireland is wet and dry so in a short time it has had good experience on all sorts of roads and conditions. They perform as well as Goodyear Efficient Grip in all areas except one! Rolling resistance must very very high! Averaging 45MPG before i am lucky to break 40MPG now and i only fitted them on the front. Makes a big different over a lot of miles, and wont recover the reduced cost of the tyres. Sorry Kumho, not again!
10 - tyre reviewed on August 16, 2017