Kumho Ecsta PS71

Dry Grip 91%
Wet Grip 84%
Road Feedback 79%
Handling 76%
Wear 76%
Comfort 69%
Buy again 61%
 
Size Price Range  
215/45 R17 £56.10 - £75.65 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £52.80 - £87.72 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £79.00 - £123.16 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R19 £81.80 - £136.27 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £78.60 - £117.05 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R18 £83.00 - £131.24 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 57 tyre sizes - View all.

Kumho Ecsta PS71 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 90% while driving a Audi A6 Avant 2.0TDI (245/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
I drove with this tyres in a combination of road. First on the highway (about 10.000 km) and then in the city and and the surroundings (about 7.000 km). Wear was a little higher on the highway, about 15%, compared to mixed driving.
After 17-18.000 km the tyres have about 5.5-6.2 mm remaining, from 8.5 mm as they had at purchase, which is ok for a UHP tire and the quality in road.

I had no problems with them in terms of balance, even when you can switch between them (face with back after 10.000 km).

I am not the most sporty driver but I do not drive like an old man :D , so for my needs they are excellent, never gave me emotions.

The only complaint is that they are a bit noisy for my taste, especially when they are cold. If they did not have this minus, I would not have considered another tire.

Finally;

They are absolut great for those people who not drive in the rally race, or those who pushing to the limit their car, but with the minus about the noise, could be a litter better.

3 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2020   
Given 50% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Purchased these Kumho’s to try something different, I usual use Conti, Dunlop or Bridgestone.

I found them average in the dry but shocking in the wet. They did not like any patches of water and pulled the car into water spots but then in the dry they felt like any other tyre driving normal but did not take long to reach the limits when driving hard.

I will be going back to my normal choice next time.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2019   
Given 86% while driving a Honda Civic SI Coupe (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
Amazing tires, they work really well. Highly recommended
9 - tyre reviewed on August 7, 2019   
Given 100% while driving a Audi A6 Avant 2.0TDI (245/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Very very good tired. Higly recomanded.
13 - tyre reviewed on July 18, 2019   
Given 87% while driving a Volkswagen Golk Mk5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Best tyre for that price! Love it
6 - tyre reviewed on July 14, 2019   
Given 79% while driving a BMW 335d (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Excellent tyres. Cannot fault in the wet or dry. Will be buying again after my first 8 tyres wear out (on separate high power 2 cars).

Not the most comfortable tyre but then again I run high tyre pressures, the price/cost is excellent and noise levels are perfectly fine to me.

Car is nigh on 380 bhp in power and very close to 553 lb/ft torque and these tyres are great for the price.
11 - tyre reviewed on June 15, 2019   
Given 90% while driving a (275/40 R19) on mostly town for 1,000 spirited miles
So far lived up to what I was hoping for. On my 2017 GT Mustang automatic I always had trouble with the Pirelli P Zero on the rears hooking up with the road under power , even at 80 km/h hitting the pedal to the metal. Also always broke traction with a light part acceleration. The Kumho PS 71 had not yet broke traction under full pedal to the metal at 60 and 80 km/h , even in sports mode. They also launch well with a slight push where the pirellis spun up. Pirellis were only good on hot days where the Kumho PS71 grip at cold nights already off the mark. Don’t know how long they will last , They seem quiet to me. I run 32 psi cold before driving. Pirellis only lasted 17,000 km on the rears,
4 - tyre reviewed on June 14, 2019   
Given 99% while driving a Nissan Qashqai (225/45 R19) on mostly motorways for 14,732 average miles
Cheap and reliable the most important things is it last far longer than my stock 225/45/19 Continental Sport Contact 6 tyres. The Continental Sport Contact 6 lasted me only 15,000 miles, while my Kumho Ecsta PS71 still have 60% left after 17,000 miles. Great responsive handling and reliable during raining days. The only setback of this Kumho Ecsta PS71 have compared to Continental Sport Contact 6 is the noise level. But for the price and performance of this tyre is definitely a good buy. First time trying Kumho tyres and it had really build up my trust in this korea made tyre.
3 - tyre reviewed on June 4, 2019   
Given 93% while driving a BMW 525 (275/35 R20) on mostly country roads for 17,380 spirited miles
Superb dry and wet grip tyre. Nothing much to complaint about, very good tyre. Fitted on my bmw 525 series, Kumho handles my car exceptionally well compared to Yokohama tyres which fail to brake in time during during days.
7 - tyre reviewed on June 3, 2019   
Given 99% while driving a Mercedes Benz E 320 CDi (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
Kumho ps71 has surprised me with its great handling and comfort level. Great priced with all the attributes of Michelin PS4 tyre which I used previously but at less than half the price. Fitted 245/40R18 for my Mercedes E280, been an great all round tyre.
7 - tyre reviewed on May 27, 2019