Landsail LS388 AS

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 75%
Road Feedback 77%
Handling 71%
Wear 76%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 82%
Snow Grip 30%
Ice Grip 33%

Landsail LS388 AS Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 91% while driving a Audi A3 (225/40 R18 W) on mostly town for 45,000 average miles
Had them on the car 3 years and did 45,000 miles on them. Unbelievable wear, all even and never a puncture until recently. The only reason i replaced them is because the puncture was on the edge and not worth a repair. I have indeed used them again.
3 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2020   
Given 24% while driving a MINI Roadster JCW (205/45 R17 R) on mostly motorways for 350 spirited miles
Mini JCW had RF Pirelli P Zero 205/45/R17 84v Front & Rear. Left Rear Slow Puncture contacted National Dealer to replace, only had these Landsail once fitted on the Monday drove 350 miles felt as though the car was unstable to much body roll tyres didn't grip the road, to much understeer felt the rear end was going in a different direction. Felt extremely uncomfortable driving with these tyres. 5 Days later changed to Pirelli P Zero such a difference
0 - tyre reviewed on March 28, 2020   
Given 64% while driving a Vauxhall (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 600 spirited miles
These are good tyres for the money. They are not as good as premium brand tyres but they are certainly not ditchfinders. I had no choice but to fit these but. I am not disappointed with them at all. The difference between these and more expensive brands is tiny. They are very quiet and grip well and feel safe.
1 - tyre reviewed on February 27, 2020   
Given 90% while driving a Vauxhall Meriva (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
These had been fitted on the front by the dealer before I looked at the car. No probs - they are OK. They are quiet at motorway speeds and are quite happy around town. Wet or dry they seem to do what is required. Only done 500 miles so can't comment yet on wear rate. Haven't tried them in icy conditions yet due to the mild winter. I suppose they will be like any other tyre. Ice is slippy and the car won't want to go around a corner but will want to carry on in a straight line until it leaves the road or hits something. Look out for the spirited driver coming toward you round the corner on the wrong side of the road who is convinced that it is the tyres that have turned him into a bad driver - nowt wrong with a new tyre he just can't drive very well and he's driving too fast.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 26, 2020   
Given 69% while driving a SEAT cordoba 1.4 TDI stylence (195/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 35,000 spirited miles
Great tyre for price.
19 - tyre reviewed on February 20, 2019   
Given 86% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium X (235/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
Purchased these after a bit of reading up and to replace brand new Infinity tyres that had been fitted by the dealer prior to sale. Needless to say the Inifinity's were absolutely dire, with zero feedback the car felt like it was ice all of the time. You just didn't feel 100% in control of the car in any weather.
One went these Landsails.
Now, bearing in mind these are still very "cheap tyres" but the difference was to be honest like chalk and cheese in comparison to Infinity.
These are quiet, comfortable, with what I believe is the most important factor....good feedback.....
I am sure there are better big brand tyres available with regards to scientific on the limit testing, but for as long as you don't drive like "a loon" these really are a good reliable choice. They do their job commendably.
I am no skinflint by a long shot but for everyday use I would not warrant anything else.
If you are 'The Stig', yes by all means get the BBC to pay for more expensive rubber to thrash around your track.
If you are like me with a daily drive that is done mostly within the confines of normal driving, these are shockingly good value for money, with no massively regrettable downsides noted....quiet, grippy, reliable, long lasting.
9 - tyre reviewed on February 11, 2019   
Given 54% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (215/50 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 10,000 spirited miles
These were present on the front of my MK3 Focus when I took ownership just over a year ago with around 7mm of tread on them, I had heard of the Landsail brand prior to this but never owned this make of tyre (A couple of people suggest they are ATS Euromaster's best budget seller?). Luckily as I took ownership of the car at the start of spring and into the hot summer of 2018 with next to no rain - the mere highlight of the tyre was evident as they performed pretty well in the dry and somewhat comfortable while on the motorway and also once warmed up.

However at the first sight of heavy rain it was a different story, traction was hindered and just about every sharp turn at speed caused the front to loose control in no time at all. Setting off from junctions in the wet, be it to turn left, right or even to travel straight ahead caused a wheel spin at just about every given opportunity & without giving it any welly.

Fast forward to the present, the midst of winter in January 2019 & 10,000 miles later - I've finally had enough of them, despite still having 4mm of tread left but I suppose the wear factor on these isn't bad. I was slightly shocked as well to see that both the tyres were starting to show very tiny cracks along the sidewalls so needless to say I wanted shot of these.

I've just replaced them with some new Falken's, a brand which I have used in the past with success and even though it's very early days yet - they are already making me feel more comfortable with driving the car in the wet. I suppose with the Landsail's at roughly £50.00 a corner in my tyre size, and along with other budget brands - there is only so much you're going to get out of them. Sadly in the 215/50/17 fitment a lot of other Focus MK3 owners out there will opt for budget's regardless due to the high price tag that follows with the more premium brands.
4 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2019   
Renault 12 (195/50 R16 V) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
Needed some tyres to get through an MOT in a hurry, the garage had these in stock and they came recommended. Was shocked to discover just how inferior they are compared to the badly worn Barum Bravuris 3HM's that were fitted previously. In dry conditions, they are OK, just noisy at motorway speeds. But it is in wet conditions that these tyres truly let themselves down. Traversing a roundabout in even in the most lightly moist of conditions is akin to sliding across an ice rink, (unless driving at funeral procession speeds is your thing), and don't even think about pulling away briskly at a junction, unless you want to induce instantaneous wheel spin. Even giving it the beans in third or fourth will have these tyres squabbling for grip on a damp road. In recent years, I've had vastly superior tyres than these for the money, in fact, these are on par, if not worse than the budget specials I once bought when I was a broke student. Never again for me.
13 - tyre reviewed on September 6, 2018