Michelin CrossClimate

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 80%
Wear 86%
Comfort 91%
Buy again 86%
Snow Grip 75%
Ice Grip 60%

The Michelin CrossClimate is a Premium Touring All Season tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin CrossClimate Plus

Show All

Tyre review data from 115 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 1,418,850 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2018 New and Worn Summer Tyre Test - 9th of 17 tyres

2018 ADAC All Season Tyre Test - 9th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Lowest wear on test, good in the dry and on icy roads.
  • Negative - Weak on snow.

2017 All Season Tyre Test - 2nd of 12 tyres

  • Positive - The Michelin CrossClimate has an excellent all round performance, with a particular strength in the dry and wet.
  • Negative - Average snow handling.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/60 R14 86H XL   C B 68 6.85kgs
175/65 R14 86H XL   C B 68 6.85kgs
185/65 R14 86H   C B 68 7.11kgs
165/70 R14 85T XL   C B 68 6.48kgs
175/70 R14 88T XL   C B 68 7.10kgs
195/55 R15 89V XL   C A 68 7.37kgs
185/60 R15 88V XL   C A 68 7.37kgs
195/60 R15 92V XL   C A 68 7.76kgs
195/65 R15 95V XL   C A 68 8.00kgs
195/55 R16 91V XL   B A 68 8.10kgs
195/55 R16 91H XL   B A 68 8.10kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 68 8.80kgs
215/55 R16 97V XL   B A 69 9.17kgs
205/60 R16 96H XL   C A 68 8.80kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   C A 68 8.80kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL   B A 69 9.60kgs
215/65 R16 102V XL   B A 69 9.93kgs
215/45 R17 91W XL   C A 69 9.29kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 69 9.30kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 68 9.05kgs
215/50 R17 95W XL   C A 69 9.33kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 69 9.91kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   C A 69 9.37kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 69 9.91kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   B A 69 10.02kgs
215/60 R17 100V XL   B A 69 9.84kgs
225/60 R17 103V XL   C A 68 10.82kgs
215/65 R17 103V XL   B A 69 10.80kgs
225/55 R18 102V XL AO B B 69 11.00kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin CrossClimate

2016-03-25 - Hi! I'd like to have some suggestions from you about these tyres. I drive a Citroen C5 Tourer and now I have to choose new tyres; I've seen the new Dunlop Sportmaxx rt2 as a summer tyre and it seems to be the best choice for my car, but in winter I don't wanna have winter tyres anymore. Could the michelin Crossclimate be a good alternative, a good compromise for my car for an all year round safety drive? Thank you for your answer!

This is exactly the type of motoring the Michelin CrossClimate is designed for. If you plan to use your car in the north of Scotland, or to drive to the alps a dedicated summer / winter solution is still the ideal, however if you just want to use your in the mid/south of the UK, year round without worrying about what tyres are on the car, the CrossClimate is the tyre to fit.


2016-07-18 - Please can you give me an indication of the flexibility of the sidewalls on the CrossClimate, in my experience this has been a let down on tyres with a compound soft enough to work in cold conditions. Many thanks

Like most modern tyres, the CrossClimates have thin sidewalls to reduce heat build up and weight in the tyre, which affects fuel economy and comfort. As you can read in our full test here the CrossClimate has the advantage of feeling like a summer tyre, where the other all season and winter tyre in the test were noticeably more vague.


2016-08-15 - In 175/65R14 these Michelin Cross Climates are XL (maybe they are in all sizes) and I wondered how this would feel on a small supermini that only requires SL? It currently has Michelin Energy Savers on it. Would these tyres mean using higher pressures and if so, by how much? Is the change from SL to XL an allowed change in terms of things like insurance etc? I have used Bridgestone A001s in the past and been impressed but didn't like how they hit the fuel economy. These seem to be an improvement on that front, hence my interest. Finally, can you change just two tyres (on the same axel) or would it be like using winter tyres and you'd need all four changing at once to keep the car in balence? Thanks for any input you can give :)

Michelin are going through a process of simplifying their product range so they only have the highest load rating of the tyres. This is fine for insurance, and looking at the tyre tests, fine for comfort too. Ideally you would change all four tyres, but during the summer and autumn months it is fine to change two, only during freezing, snow and ice driving would the difference become apparent. You would run the standard pressures with the XL CrossClimates.


2016-09-30 - Does the cross climate meet the legal criteria for winter tyres in european countries especially Germany

Yes, the Michelin CrossClimate is mountain and snowflake symbol marked so fully legal in countries which require a winter tyre.


2016-10-28 - Hi, I have just replaced 2 front worn radials on my Merc A180 with crossClimates, but the rear radial tyres dont need replacing yet, will this affect performance and safety when driving.

It's always best to fit the new tyres to the rear of the car, especially when changing tyre types as you are with the CrossClimate. While the balance in the dry should be fine, in cold wet and snow the car might have a tendency to oversteer which is far more difficult to control than understeer.


2017-03-26 - Are crossclimate legal as wintertyres in countries that req wintertyres as law in certain months.

Yes, the Michelin CrossClimate is "mountain and snowflake" rated, which makes it a legal winter tyre.


2017-04-04 - When will the Michelin Cross Climate be available in 165/65/14 size

Unfortunately Michelin don't currently have any plans for 165/65 R14 CrossClimate size.


2017-11-05 - Does cross climate have a greater fuel consumption than summer tyres? Because I see mixed user reviews about this but no actual test.

If you look at the 2017 all season tyre test the CrossClimate has a lower fuel use than the summer tyre included in the test.


2018-03-04 - Im considering purchasing some cross climates for my car. However, my car has 14" wheels and I understand that Michelin do not produce the crossclimate+ tyre in 14" sizes. Is there a noticeable difference in durability and performance when worn between the standard crossclimate and the + models? And is there a reason why they do not produce the + model in 14"?

There are minimal differences between the CrossClimate and CrossClimate+ versions of the tyre. I would imagine the current lack of + version would indicate it's a low volume size and the moulds have yet to be updated.


2018-03-30 - My current Continental Sport Contact 3 tyres are down to 3mm on the front (rear 6mm). On any kind of light snow/slush the front tyres just spin. Could I fit 2 Cross Climate tyres or shouldn't you mix summer and all season tyres?

It is not advised to fit just two all season tyres, when you do encounter snow or ice the grip imbalance is so high it can cause very dangerous situations.


2018-06-28 - I'm in a quandary; which would be my best choice? Michelin CrossClimate or Nokian Weatherproof SUV 235/65R17 for a Toyota RAV4?

It depends on your usage plans, however I believe the CrossClimate a better all season tyre for the majority of the UK as the Weatherproof behaves more like a winter tyre in the dry, which gives you extended dry braking.


2019-03-01 - Why Crossclimate have so much difference from Crossclimate+ on ice performance?

It shouldn't, both tyres should be very similar.


2020-05-05 - In which country or countries are your Michelin CrossClimate tires that are sold in Iceland currently manufactured?

I'm afraid I can't answer that question, but it will be noted on the sidewall of the tyre.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
195/55 R16 £138.36 - £166.19 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £85.35 - £92.90 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £103.41 - £112.10 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 52 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin CrossClimate Review

Given 37% while driving a Honda Accord Tourer (205/55 R16 T) on a combination of roads for 17,000 average miles
I am somewhat disappointed in these tyres, having previously had Conti Wintercontact TS850 and Nokian Weatherproof under me, these have not showed the same level of wet grip and wear as the Weatherproof.
Tread depth is low from new and this may improve on dry braking and handling at the expense of long life.
Over rated in my view for the most part.
429 - tyre reviewed on October 15, 2016   

Latest Michelin CrossClimate Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin CrossClimate tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin CrossClimate? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin CrossClimate >>

Given 80% while driving a BMW 520d (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 11 average miles
Given that this is a winter rated summer tyre Iíve been pleasantly surprised at how well they handle in the wet and ice. Only driven once in snow but were way better than normal summer tyres on my rear wheel drive BMW 5 series. Not as good as some tyres in the dry but completely manageable. Comfort levels felt unchanged from the previous Pirelli tyres fitted by BMW.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 28, 2020   
Given 75% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk5 1.9 TDI (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 15,000 average miles
Pretty much great tire overall. In the dry i had no problems with understeer. In the wet they are not the best tires i tested, some understeer happens quite often but its probably bad road quality in my country that is problem. In the snow i had overall ok perfomance they will pull you almost anywhere but they are just for snow emergency situations, i would not fit them in snowy areas. Wear is amazing, 1.5 years and they are almost as new.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2020   
Want the best 18" Sports tyre? Watch this!
Given 74% while driving a Vauxhall Vectra (215/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 45,000 average miles
Excellent Tyre. Very sure footed in the dry and decent in the wet, in the snow you have to take it easy but they are ok. the longevity of this tyre is amazing, nearly 46000 miles! Comfort is also excellent. Would highly recommend this tyre if your looking for an all-rounder.
3 - tyre reviewed on February 22, 2020   
Given 88% while driving a Nissan LEAF Tekna (215/50 R17) on mostly town for 22,000 average miles
22000 miles nearside on the marks and off side about.0.5 millimeter above the marks. Good wet braking and good dry braking. Tire very quiet can't hear them. Only on the front of car fulkens on the back. Good in the snow and ice. Very pleased with them. Sad I can't at this time afford them so will have to go with a cheaper premium summer tire. I suppose you get what you pay for. Car is a Nissan Leaf. Only down side is fuel economy not the best.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 20, 2020   

See all 106 customer reviews of the Michelin CrossClimate (newest first) >>