Michelin Primacy 4

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 84%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 79%
Wear 84%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 73%

The Michelin Primacy 4 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

The MICHELIN PRIMACY 4 tyre offers a new a reference for safety. After three years of development, this tyre provides a high level of performance on wet roads, from the first use until worn to the legal wear indicator (1.6mm). This tyre, thus responds to the need to perform at a high level when worn; a long lasting performance.

Compared to its direct competitors, the new MICHELIN PRIMACY 4 lasts an average of 18,000 kilometres more; confirming the long lasting performance of the new tyres designed by Michelin. The new MICHELIN PRIMACY 4 tyre is a concrete demonstration of the Michelin Groupís strategy: consumers must be able to drive safely, throughout the life of the tyre, right down to the legal wear indicator of 1.6 mm

This tyre replaced the Michelin Primacy 3

Show All

Tyre review data from 67 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 869,135 miles driven.

Latest Group Test Results

2020 Teknikens 17 Inch Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 10 tyres

  • Positive - No obvious flaws and good balance of characteristics, excellent wet handling, low rolling resistance, the best level of comfort.
  • Negative - Average resistance to aquaplaning.

2020 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent handling, traction and wet braking performance, short braking distance on dry surfaces, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Average steering feel in the dry.

2020 ADAC SUV Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 12 tyres

  • Positive - Very balanced with top marks in the wet, excellent low wear, very good in the dry
  • Negative - None mentioned
  • Overall - Highly Recommended
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/60 R15 88H XL   C A 69 7.34kgs
185/60 R15 84T S1 A B 68 7.70kgs
185/60 R15 84H   C A 68 7.17kgs
185/60 R15 84T S1 A B 68 6.80kgs
185/60 R15 84T   C A 68 7.24kgs
165/65 R15 81T S1 A B 68 7.03kgs
165/65 R15 81T S1 A B 68 6.20kgs
185/65 R15 88T   C A 68 7.42kgs
185/65 R15 88H   C A 68 7.62kgs
185/65 R15 92T XL E A B 70 6.70kgs
185/65 R15 92T XL   C A 69 8.12kgs
195/65 R15 91H S1 A B 68 7.70kgs
195/65 R15 95H XL   C A 68 8.16kgs
195/65 R15 91V   C A 68 8.03kgs
195/65 R15 91H S2 A A 69 7.50kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C A 68 7.88kgs
205/45 R16 83W   C A 68 7.82kgs
225/50 R16 92W   C A 69 9.55kgs
195/55 R16 87H S2 B A 68 7.80kgs
195/55 R16 91T XL E A B 70 7.50kgs
195/55 R16 87H S1 A A 68 7.60kgs
195/55 R16 87T   C A 68 7.76kgs
195/55 R16 91V XL   B A 68 7.77kgs
195/55 R16 87H   C A 68 7.76kgs
195/55 R16 91T XL   B A 68 7.81kgs
195/55 R16 87W * A B 68 7.50kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C A 68 8.41kgs
205/55 R16 91H S1 A B 68 8.10kgs
205/55 R16 91V   C A 68 8.49kgs
205/55 R16 91W * A B 69 7.90kgs
205/55 R16 91H S2 A A 69 8.27kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL   C A 70 8.57kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 68 8.50kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL S1 A A 68 8.60kgs
205/55 R16 91H E A B 68 7.70kgs
205/55 R16 91V ST       9.50kgs
205/55 R16 91V S1 A A 68 8.00kgs
205/55 R16 91W   C A 68 8.40kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL VOL A B 68 8.20kgs
215/55 R16 97W XL   B A 68 8.83kgs
215/55 R16 93V   C A 69 8.81kgs
215/55 R16 93W   C A 69 8.77kgs
225/55 R16 99Y XL   C A 68 10.04kgs
225/55 R16 95W   C A 69 9.89kgs
225/55 R16 99W XL   C A 68 9.89kgs
205/60 R16 92V   C A 68 8.86kgs
205/60 R16 92V E MO A B 68 8.50kgs
205/60 R16 92V S1 B B 68 9.10kgs
205/60 R16 92V E A B 68 8.10kgs
205/60 R16 96H XL   B A 68 8.86kgs
205/60 R16 96W XL * A B 68 8.35kgs
205/60 R16 92W   C A 68 12.13kgs
205/60 R16 92H   C A 68 8.86kgs
205/60 R16 92H S1 A A 68 8.48kgs
205/60 R16 96W XL   B A 68 8.86kgs
215/60 R16 95V   B A 69 9.05kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL   B A 68 9.06kgs
215/60 R16 99H XL   B A 68 9.02kgs
215/60 R16 95H S1 A B 69 8.95kgs
195/65 R16 92V   C A 69 8.53kgs
195/65 R16 92V S1 B B 68 8.65kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 70 8.37kgs
205/45 R17 88H XL S1 A B 68 7.70kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL S2 A B 68 7.60kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL S1 B B 68 8.10kgs
215/45 R17 91V XL   C A 68 8.56kgs
215/45 R17 91W XL   C A 68 8.56kgs
215/45 R17 87W   C A 69 8.56kgs
215/45 R17 91V XL S1 B B 68 8.50kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   B A 68 8.90kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL S1 A A 68 8.90kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   C A 69 8.84kgs
225/45 R17 91W   C A 69 8.78kgs
225/45 R17 91W VOL A B 69 8.40kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL * A A 68 8.61kgs
225/45 R17 91W S1 B B 69 9.00kgs
225/45 R17 91V   C A 69 8.77kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   B A 70 8.89kgs
235/45 R17 94W   C A 69 9.24kgs
235/45 R17 94Y   C A 69 9.24kgs
235/45 R17 97W XL   B A 70 9.24kgs
245/45 R17 99W XL   C A 70 10.52kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 70 10.52kgs
205/50 R17 93H XL S1 A B 68 8.70kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL S1       10.02kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 68 8.60kgs
205/50 R17 89V   C A 68 8.56kgs
215/50 R17 91W S2 A B 69 8.90kgs
215/50 R17 91W   C A 69 9.29kgs
215/50 R17 91W S1 B A 69 9.40kgs
215/50 R17 95W XL   B A 68 9.10kgs
225/50 R17 94Y   C A 69 9.50kgs
225/50 R17 94W AR. B A 69 9.58kgs
225/50 R17 98W XL   B A 68 9.48kgs
225/50 R17 94W   C A 69 9.52kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   B A 68 9.55kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   B A 68 9.54kgs
225/50 R17 94V   C A 69 9.44kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL VOLDT A B 68 9.50kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL VOL A B 68 9.80kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL * A B 68 9.70kgs
205/55 R17 95W XL * A B 68 8.80kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   B A 68 9.03kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL J A B 68 8.80kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL S1 A B 68 8.80kgs
205/55 R17 91W MO A B 68 8.80kgs
215/55 R17 94V   C A 69 9.40kgs
215/55 R17 94V S1 A B 69 10.40kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL S1 A A 68 9.65kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   B A 68 10.22kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL * A B 68 10.20kgs
225/55 R17 97Y   C A 69 10.22kgs
225/55 R17 101V XL VOL A B 68 10.20kgs
225/55 R17 97W   C A 69 10.14kgs
235/55 R17 99V   C A 69 10.76kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   B A 70 10.83kgs
235/55 R17 103W XL   B A 70 10.80kgs
215/60 R17 96H S1 A A 69 9.90kgs
215/60 R17 96V   B A 69 9.78kgs
215/60 R17 96V S1 A A 69 9.79kgs
215/60 R17 96H   B A 69 9.70kgs
225/60 R17 99V   B A 69 10.47kgs
235/60 R17 102V VOL A B 69 11.40kgs
215/65 R17 99V MO B A 69 10.60kgs
215/65 R17 103V XL S1 A A 68 10.80kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   B A 68 9.60kgs
235/40 R18 91W S1 B A 69 9.60kgs
245/40 R18 93H AO B A 70 9.80kgs
225/45 R18 95W XL   B A 68 9.49kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   B A 68 9.49kgs
235/45 R18 98W XL S1 A A 72 9.60kgs
235/45 R18 98W XL   B A 70 9.81kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   B A 70 9.81kgs
235/45 R18 98W XL VOL A B 70 9.70kgs
245/45 R18 100W XL S1 A B 70 10.40kgs
245/45 R18 100W XL   B A 70 10.42kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL MO A B 70 10.30kgs
245/45 R18 96W   B A 68 11.55kgs
255/45 R18 99Y   C A 70 10.69kgs
225/50 R18 99W XL * A B 68 10.62kgs
225/50 R18 99W XL   B A 68 10.09kgs
235/50 R18 97V   C A 69 11.36kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   B A 70 11.36kgs
215/55 R18 99V XL S1 A B 68 10.50kgs
215/55 R18 99V XL VOL A B 68 10.80kgs
225/55 R18 102Y XL AO1 B A 68 11.00kgs
225/55 R18 102Y XL AO2 A A 68 10.50kgs
225/55 R18 102V XL S1 A A 68 10.55kgs
235/55 R18 100W MO S1 A B 69 11.30kgs
235/55 R18 100W MO B A 69 11.40kgs
235/55 R18 100V VOL A B 69 11.20kgs
235/55 R18 100V AO B A 69 11.40kgs
235/40 R19 96W XL A VOL A B 70 10.20kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Primacy 4

2017-09-27 - Can you mail the catalog of primacy 4 or all the tyres size for me?

We will be attending the Michelin Primacy 4 launch in mid October 2017, so we will have a full list of Primacy 4 sizes on the website shortly after.


2018-02-13 - When will 15'' sizes be availabe for this tire? Michelin said they would be availabe from january. Have they dropped 15''?

The plan is a phased transition in some sizes from Energy Saver+ to Primacy 4. 2018 sizes are 185/65-15 and 195/65-15 in May/Sept, more to follow in 2019.


2018-03-12 - Need your help . Canít decide between Michelin Primacy 4 , Continental Premium 6 and Dunlop SportMaxx RT2. Car: Ford Focus 2008 1.6 Ti-VCT 115hp . 2009-2013 ContiSportContact5 (35000km) . 2013-2018 ContiSportContact5 (30000km). 225/4018 both of them

A very hard question to answer! I would be between the Michelin and Continental Premium Contact 6, but I would probably end up choosing the Michelin Pilot Sport 4!


2018-06-04 - For a 205/55/R16/91V tyre size, which is better, Michelin Primacy 4 or Continental Premium contact 5?

They are both comparable tyres. The Michelin will have better mileage, the Conti might have slightly better wet grip.


2018-09-01 - Considering both these or Pilot Sport for Golf 1.4 in 205.55 R16. Both seem excellent tyres...but not really sure how they compare to each other. I am assuming PS is more sporty, ie stiffer sidewall? Can anyone clearly characterize the differences in "qualities" of these tyres in order to aid decision-making? (over and above all the excellent reviews). Thank you!

Your assumption is correct in that the Primacy 4 should be slightly more comfortable, slightly quieter and slightly better mileage, where as the PS4 will feel slightly more sporty.


2018-09-17 - I am thinking about buying this tyre, but I don't know which version to choose between: 225/45/R17 91W/Y or the 225/45/R17 94W XL. The XL has better fuel rating and one decibel lower noise level. Would there be any drawbacks if opting for this version? The car is an Audi A3 Sportback 2.0TDI 170HP.

In theory the higher load rating could give you slightly less comfort, but in practice the differences can be very hard to notice so I would suggest that would be the tyre I would look at fitting.


2018-10-15 - Following on from the question someone had relating to the XL version being better noise and efficiency ratings that xl version appears more preferable to the 91 rated version. Would the 94 xl version need a higher psi or is it OK to run at the car manufacturers recommended psi (assuming the only psi rating given is for a 91 rated tyre)?

It's always best to start running at the manufacturers recommended pressures. Sometimes XL tyres with loads like to be around 2 psi higher, but again worth checking.


2018-11-23 - What is your advice 're replacing 2 tyres? Front primacy 3 on my volvo are worn but rears have over 5mm tread left. Do you think primacy 4 would be a good fit to replace the fronts as presumably they have similar characteristics to the primacy 3s. Do you think I should put the newer tyre on the rear?

Yes, the Primacy 4 would be a good replacement for the Primacy 3, and the general advice is to put the newer / better tyre on the rear of the vehicle to avoid oversteer.


2019-07-30 - Is Primacy 4 an upgrade to the Primacy 3? Reason I ask if because the Primacy 3 is more expensive than the Primacy 4. Making me think that Primacy 3 might actually be better as an overall tyre? As I currently got my 2 rear tyres changed and bought the Primacy 4 tyres. However the Formula One Autocentre fitted the Primacy 3 tyres saying that the order of the Primacy 4 is due in another 6 weeks so he suggested to keep the Primacy 3 for the same price? Wondering if I should just keep the Primacy 3 tyres now they are fitted.

If you ordered the Primacy 4, I would want those tyres. They are a direct replacement for the Primacy 3, and improve on the Primacy 3 in most areas.


2019-08-26 - Living in a small market country like Cyprus where the market is limited to options in "strange" sizes (Lexus IS220d with 225/45/17 & 245/45/17) I have the following decision to take. The Pilot Sport 4 I have on the car now are wearing down (will get roughly around 30K km on them) and I enquired about Evo 3, Conti Premium 6 and F1 A5 (had the A3 before the PS4) and I can only find the front tyres (!!!) at the moment. So I'm kinda left with the F1 A3 and the Primacy 4. I liked the F1 A3 a lot but knowing that the F1 A5 is out there I'm a bit bummed. I know one tyre is a performance tyre and the Primacy 4 is a touring tyre and I'm not really driving the car on sport mode so I'm leaning towards the Primacy 4. Price for the Goodyear should be a bit cheaper (around Ä530 compared to Ä580 for the Primacy 4). Any opinion to get me over the line? :) Thank you.

Without knowing your market it is very difficult for me to recommend anything else, especially as you really seem to know your tyres! The extra purchase price of the Prim4 should be offset by the extra mileage, but the Asymmetric 3 will likely be the grippier tyre overall.


2020-01-06 - Rear primacy 3 XL on my BMW 520D are worn (after 12k mileage) but Fronts have over 5mm tread left. Do you think primacy 4 would be a good fit to replace the rear? How do primacy 4 perform on grip as compared with PS4? Usually I drive within speed limits. Sometime 80 to 90mph

Primacy 4 is the obviously replacement for the 3, it's improved slightly in almost all categories. Dry and wet grip should be broadly similar to the Pilot Sport 4, but they won't handle as nicely.


2020-08-18 - I have a VW Golf 1.4 Tsi 90kw (2015) came factory fitted with Dunlop Sport BluResponse 205/55 16 91V. Generally run Michelin tyres on my cars. Iím looking at the Primacy 4 as all round replacements, historical spinal injuries/surgery mean comfort is a priority nowadays, in your recent test the Primacy 4 rated highly on subjective comfort. However, in the video it was listed as a 91H, so my quandary is, would the 91H provide slightly improved subjective comfort over a 91V? Every little helps. . . Being a 90kw model, both VW and Michelin have recommended 91H or higher for 205/55 16 wheels.

In that size, the 91H and 91V tyres are the same construction, so it wouldn't make a difference.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
195/55 R16 £87.20 - £114.99 (85 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £59.45 - £100.00 (48 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £66.10 - £119.59 (104 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £84.90 - £100.89 (89 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £110.89 - £138.69 (93 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/55 R17 £118.00 - £144.20 (58 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 51 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin Primacy 4 Review

Given 65% while driving a BMW 320i (225/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 2,200 average miles
2016 BMW 320i 225/50/17
2014 VW GOLF 205/55/16
After the initial minutes of euphoria having the latest Michelin's on both of our cars I am now more doubtful about these tires.
We have only driven ca 2200 km with the BMW and ca 1800 km with the VW, not much distance but on very various roads in just a few days and enough to have a good impression, it is similar impression with both cars.
It's rather good tires on good roads, good grip in turns wet and dry, acceptable/good comfort on good roads, relatively low noise although there is an unusual, but modest, mechanical or metallic sound from these tires, it is not loud but a little unpleasant.
The steering feel and handling is not quite as precis as I got used to with the other tire-brands, not at all a huge difference but I miss that little extra sense of road-feel and response.
As soon as I left the tire dealer with the new Michelin's I noticed a little slippery unstable feeling basically at all the time at any speed and road surface, wet or dry on both cars.
This little slippery feeling has not disappeared on any of the cars.
It is difficult to explain, it must be experienced, it is as if there is a little wax or oil on these tires, it is very little and hardly noticeable, not a huge problem but it is always there and it's slightly annoying.
Even on completely straight driving on highways there is this little sliding feeling, basically at any speed, it's very little but it's there, it's like the cars somehow are floating a little bit and never lands, the cars never really feel completely solid planted on the roads like with the other previous tire-brands.
I never really drive the cars over the limits in turns but very near the limits, the grip is good with the Michelin's on good roads, it is possible to go fast in turns, but on both cars there is this for me an unusual little slippery unstable shaky or vibrating feeling near the limits, not much, but still, I never felt that with the other tire-brands near the limits and I felt that I had more control with those other brands, although the grip is good it makes me drive these Michelin's a little bit slower in turns even on good roads than with the other tire-brands.
And on bad roads I have to slow down quite a bit with the Michelin's compared to my old tires, not so much a problem with the VW but still noticeable and unwanted, the BMW however is really bouncing around on bad roads with the Michelin's, it is uncomfortable and unstable, it does not feel safe at all.
I can not explain this, if it had been a different tire dimension and bigger wheels then I could understand the bouncing but it is the same roads and the same cars with the same wheels and tire-sizes that I have driven with other tire-brands.
The Michelin's are significantly more expensive than most other brands, I can not say anything about the wear because they are brand new, they do however in my opinion not excel at anything and their behavior on bad roads are not good.
In general the Michelin's are good tires but they do not handle quite as good as my previous tires, very small differences but in favor of previous tires.
My previous tires was Continental on BMW and Dunlop Sport BlueResponse on VW, good and stable tires with no particular fault except very high wear, I would still prefer any of them over the Michelin's.

461 - tyre reviewed on March 1, 2018   

Latest Michelin Primacy 4 Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin Primacy 4 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Primacy 4? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Primacy 4 >>

Given 70% while driving a Mercedes Benz C180 (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 100 easy going miles
Tyre performs as you would expect a michelin to, HOWEVER, tyre wall is covered extensively in a fine ribbed pattern that makes the tyre look grey-faded from day one. Very disappointing design flaw in my opinion. May be less of a problem if you have a narrow sidewall, but my 195/65/15ís look awful.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 13, 2020   
Given 70% while driving a Mercedes Benz C180 (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 100 easy going miles
Tyre performs as you would expect a michelin to, HOWEVER, tyre wall is covered extensively in a fine ribbed pattern that makes the tyre look grey-faded from day one. Very disappointing design flaw in my opinion. May be less of a problem if you have a narrow sidewall, but my 195/65/15ís look awful.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 13, 2020   
Trying to pick the very best all season tyre? Watch this!
Given 43% while driving a Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT (205/55 R16 R) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
I am michelin user since 1981. After each purchase of a new car I changed the tyres with michelin, if the original ones were not. Last year when I bought it, Golf came with Continental Eco Contact tyres that I used around 1000km, I mostly complained about noise. Comfort and handling were good enoughİ!
45 - tyre reviewed on August 20, 2020   
Renault Megane II Break 1.5dCI 105Hp (195/65 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Recently purchased four Primacy 4 to substitute 4 Dunlop Sport Bluresponse, which were down to 2mm in 28.000 miles (45.000 km), permutations included. I live in Spain and my driving is about 20 miles (30 km) a day from the city towards an industrial area. My other option was the Goodyear Efficientgrip Performance 2, but an offer for the same price made me choose the Primacys. I was surprised as I checked the initial depth at about 6.5mm in the center channels and slightly less, about 6,2mm, in the outer channels. I just hope they last longer than the previous. They are made in Poland, weeks 10 and 11, so just before this virus disaster.
11 - tyre reviewed on August 19, 2020   
Given 94% while driving a Fiat Punto Evo mjet 95hp (195/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 20,000 spirited miles
Best tyres for my Fiat Punto! Silent, grippy and last long. Drive mostly on motorways. Wear is OK, even with my sporty drivestyle. Bumps and ridges are damped nicely. Would definitely buy again! Gighly recommended.
2 - tyre reviewed on August 3, 2020   

See all 58 customer reviews of the Michelin Primacy 4 (newest first) >>

https://bs.serving-sys.com/serving/adServer.bs?cn=display&c=19&mc=imp&pli=29943428&PluID=0&ord=[timestamp]&rtu=-1