Michelin Primacy 4

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 84%
Road Feedback 77%
Handling 78%
Wear 84%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 74%

The Michelin Primacy 4 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

The MICHELIN PRIMACY 4 tyre offers a new a reference for safety. After three years of development, this tyre provides a high level of performance on wet roads, from the first use until worn to the legal wear indicator (1.6mm). This tyre, thus responds to the need to perform at a high level when worn; a long lasting performance.

Compared to its direct competitors, the new MICHELIN PRIMACY 4 lasts an average of 18,000 kilometres more; confirming the long lasting performance of the new tyres designed by Michelin. The new MICHELIN PRIMACY 4 tyre is a concrete demonstration of the Michelin Groupís strategy: consumers must be able to drive safely, throughout the life of the tyre, right down to the legal wear indicator of 1.6 mm

This tyre replaced the Michelin Primacy 3

Show All

Tyre review data from 64 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 841,135 miles driven.

Latest Group Test Results

2020 New 17 Inch Summer Tyre Test - 4th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good dry braking, safe dry and wet handling.
  • Negative - High Noise.

2020 Teknikens 17 Inch Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 10 tyres

  • Positive - No obvious flaws and good balance of characteristics, excellent wet handling, low rolling resistance, the best level of comfort.
  • Negative - Average resistance to aquaplaning.

2020 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent handling, traction and wet braking performance, short braking distance on dry surfaces, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Average steering feel in the dry.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/60 R15 88H XL   C A 69 7.34kgs
185/60 R15 84T S1 A B 68 7.70kgs
185/60 R15 84H   C A 68 7.17kgs
185/60 R15 84T S1 A B 68 6.80kgs
185/60 R15 84T   C A 68 7.24kgs
165/65 R15 81T S1 A B 68 7.03kgs
165/65 R15 81T S1 A B 68 6.20kgs
185/65 R15 88T   C A 68 7.42kgs
185/65 R15 88H   C A 68 7.62kgs
185/65 R15 92T XL E A B 70 6.70kgs
185/65 R15 92T XL   C A 69 8.12kgs
195/65 R15 91H S1 A B 68 7.70kgs
195/65 R15 95H XL   C A 68 8.16kgs
195/65 R15 91V   C A 68 8.03kgs
195/65 R15 91H S2 A A 69 7.50kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C A 68 7.88kgs
205/45 R16 83W   C A 68 7.82kgs
225/50 R16 92W   C A 69 9.55kgs
195/55 R16 87H S2 B A 68 7.80kgs
195/55 R16 91T XL E A B 70 7.50kgs
195/55 R16 87H S1 A A 68 7.60kgs
195/55 R16 87T   C A 68 7.76kgs
195/55 R16 91V XL   B A 68 7.77kgs
195/55 R16 87H   C A 68 7.76kgs
195/55 R16 91T XL   B A 68 7.81kgs
195/55 R16 87W * A B 68 7.50kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C A 68 8.41kgs
205/55 R16 91H S1 A B 68 8.10kgs
205/55 R16 91V   C A 68 8.49kgs
205/55 R16 91W * A B 69 7.90kgs
205/55 R16 91H S2 A A 69 8.27kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL   C A 70 8.57kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 68 8.50kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL S1 A A 68 8.60kgs
205/55 R16 91H E A B 68 7.70kgs
205/55 R16 91V ST       9.50kgs
205/55 R16 91V S1 A A 68 8.00kgs
205/55 R16 91W   C A 68 8.40kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL VOL A B 68 8.20kgs
215/55 R16 97W XL   B A 68 8.83kgs
215/55 R16 93V   C A 69 8.81kgs
215/55 R16 93W   C A 69 8.77kgs
225/55 R16 99Y XL   C A 68 10.04kgs
225/55 R16 95W   C A 69 9.89kgs
225/55 R16 99W XL   C A 68 9.89kgs
205/60 R16 92V   C A 68 8.86kgs
205/60 R16 92V E MO A B 68 8.50kgs
205/60 R16 92V S1 B B 68 9.10kgs
205/60 R16 92V E A B 68 8.10kgs
205/60 R16 96H XL   B A 68 8.86kgs
205/60 R16 96W XL * A B 68 8.35kgs
205/60 R16 92W   C A 68 12.13kgs
205/60 R16 92H   C A 68 8.86kgs
205/60 R16 92H S1 A A 68 8.48kgs
205/60 R16 96W XL   B A 68 8.86kgs
215/60 R16 95V   B A 69 9.05kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL   B A 68 9.06kgs
215/60 R16 99H XL   B A 68 9.02kgs
215/60 R16 95H S1 A B 69 8.95kgs
195/65 R16 92V   C A 69 8.53kgs
195/65 R16 92V S1 B B 68 8.65kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 70 8.37kgs
205/45 R17 88H XL S1 A B 68 7.70kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL S2 A B 68 7.60kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL S1 B B 68 8.10kgs
215/45 R17 91V XL   C A 68 8.56kgs
215/45 R17 91W XL   C A 68 8.56kgs
215/45 R17 87W   C A 69 8.56kgs
215/45 R17 91V XL S1 B B 68 8.50kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   B A 68 8.90kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL S1 A A 68 8.90kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   C A 69 8.84kgs
225/45 R17 91W   C A 69 8.78kgs
225/45 R17 91W VOL A B 69 8.40kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL * A A 68 8.61kgs
225/45 R17 91W S1 B B 69 9.00kgs
225/45 R17 91V   C A 69 8.77kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   B A 70 8.89kgs
235/45 R17 94W   C A 69 9.24kgs
235/45 R17 94Y   C A 69 9.24kgs
235/45 R17 97W XL   B A 70 9.24kgs
245/45 R17 99W XL   C A 70 10.52kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 70 10.52kgs
205/50 R17 93H XL S1 A B 68 8.70kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL S1       10.02kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 68 8.60kgs
205/50 R17 89V   C A 68 8.56kgs
215/50 R17 91W S2 A B 69 8.90kgs
215/50 R17 91W   C A 69 9.29kgs
215/50 R17 91W S1 B A 69 9.40kgs
215/50 R17 95W XL   B A 68 9.10kgs
225/50 R17 94Y   C A 69 9.50kgs
225/50 R17 94W AR. B A 69 9.58kgs
225/50 R17 98W XL   B A 68 9.48kgs
225/50 R17 94W   C A 69 9.52kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   B A 68 9.55kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   B A 68 9.54kgs
225/50 R17 94V   C A 69 9.44kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL VOLDT A B 68 9.50kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL VOL A B 68 9.80kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL * A B 68 9.70kgs
205/55 R17 95W XL * A B 68 8.80kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   B A 68 9.03kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL J A B 68 8.80kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL S1 A B 68 8.80kgs
205/55 R17 91W MO A B 68 8.80kgs
215/55 R17 94V   C A 69 9.40kgs
215/55 R17 94V S1 A B 69 10.40kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL S1 A A 68 9.65kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   B A 68 10.22kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL * A B 68 10.20kgs
225/55 R17 97Y   C A 69 10.22kgs
225/55 R17 101V XL VOL A B 68 10.20kgs
225/55 R17 97W   C A 69 10.14kgs
235/55 R17 99V   C A 69 10.76kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   B A 70 10.83kgs
235/55 R17 103W XL   B A 70 10.80kgs
215/60 R17 96H S1 A A 69 9.90kgs
215/60 R17 96V   B A 69 9.78kgs
215/60 R17 96V S1 A A 69 9.79kgs
215/60 R17 96H   B A 69 9.70kgs
225/60 R17 99V   B A 69 10.47kgs
235/60 R17 102V VOL A B 69 11.40kgs
215/65 R17 99V MO B A 69 10.60kgs
215/65 R17 103V XL S1 A A 68 10.80kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   B A 68 9.60kgs
235/40 R18 91W S1 B A 69 9.60kgs
245/40 R18 93H AO B A 70 9.80kgs
225/45 R18 95W XL   B A 68 9.49kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   B A 68 9.49kgs
235/45 R18 98W XL S1 A A 72 9.60kgs
235/45 R18 98W XL   B A 70 9.81kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   B A 70 9.81kgs
235/45 R18 98W XL VOL A B 70 9.70kgs
245/45 R18 100W XL S1 A B 70 10.40kgs
245/45 R18 100W XL   B A 70 10.42kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL MO A B 70 10.30kgs
245/45 R18 96W   B A 68 11.55kgs
255/45 R18 99Y   C A 70 10.69kgs
225/50 R18 99W XL * A B 68 10.62kgs
225/50 R18 99W XL   B A 68 10.09kgs
235/50 R18 97V   C A 69 11.36kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   B A 70 11.36kgs
215/55 R18 99V XL S1 A B 68 10.50kgs
215/55 R18 99V XL VOL A B 68 10.80kgs
225/55 R18 102Y XL AO1 B A 68 11.00kgs
225/55 R18 102Y XL AO2 A A 68 10.50kgs
225/55 R18 102V XL S1 A A 68 10.55kgs
235/55 R18 100W MO S1 A B 69 11.30kgs
235/55 R18 100W MO B A 69 11.40kgs
235/55 R18 100V VOL A B 69 11.20kgs
235/55 R18 100V AO B A 69 11.40kgs
235/40 R19 96W XL A VOL A B 70 10.20kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Primacy 4

2017-09-27 - Can you mail the catalog of primacy 4 or all the tyres size for me?

We will be attending the Michelin Primacy 4 launch in mid October 2017, so we will have a full list of Primacy 4 sizes on the website shortly after.


2018-02-13 - When will 15'' sizes be availabe for this tire? Michelin said they would be availabe from january. Have they dropped 15''?

The plan is a phased transition in some sizes from Energy Saver+ to Primacy 4. 2018 sizes are 185/65-15 and 195/65-15 in May/Sept, more to follow in 2019.


2018-03-12 - Need your help . Canít decide between Michelin Primacy 4 , Continental Premium 6 and Dunlop SportMaxx RT2. Car: Ford Focus 2008 1.6 Ti-VCT 115hp . 2009-2013 ContiSportContact5 (35000km) . 2013-2018 ContiSportContact5 (30000km). 225/4018 both of them

A very hard question to answer! I would be between the Michelin and Continental Premium Contact 6, but I would probably end up choosing the Michelin Pilot Sport 4!


2018-06-04 - For a 205/55/R16/91V tyre size, which is better, Michelin Primacy 4 or Continental Premium contact 5?

They are both comparable tyres. The Michelin will have better mileage, the Conti might have slightly better wet grip.


2018-09-01 - Considering both these or Pilot Sport for Golf 1.4 in 205.55 R16. Both seem excellent tyres...but not really sure how they compare to each other. I am assuming PS is more sporty, ie stiffer sidewall? Can anyone clearly characterize the differences in "qualities" of these tyres in order to aid decision-making? (over and above all the excellent reviews). Thank you!

Your assumption is correct in that the Primacy 4 should be slightly more comfortable, slightly quieter and slightly better mileage, where as the PS4 will feel slightly more sporty.


2018-09-17 - I am thinking about buying this tyre, but I don't know which version to choose between: 225/45/R17 91W/Y or the 225/45/R17 94W XL. The XL has better fuel rating and one decibel lower noise level. Would there be any drawbacks if opting for this version? The car is an Audi A3 Sportback 2.0TDI 170HP.

In theory the higher load rating could give you slightly less comfort, but in practice the differences can be very hard to notice so I would suggest that would be the tyre I would look at fitting.


2018-10-15 - Following on from the question someone had relating to the XL version being better noise and efficiency ratings that xl version appears more preferable to the 91 rated version. Would the 94 xl version need a higher psi or is it OK to run at the car manufacturers recommended psi (assuming the only psi rating given is for a 91 rated tyre)?

It's always best to start running at the manufacturers recommended pressures. Sometimes XL tyres with loads like to be around 2 psi higher, but again worth checking.


2018-11-23 - What is your advice 're replacing 2 tyres? Front primacy 3 on my volvo are worn but rears have over 5mm tread left. Do you think primacy 4 would be a good fit to replace the fronts as presumably they have similar characteristics to the primacy 3s. Do you think I should put the newer tyre on the rear?

Yes, the Primacy 4 would be a good replacement for the Primacy 3, and the general advice is to put the newer / better tyre on the rear of the vehicle to avoid oversteer.


2019-07-30 - Is Primacy 4 an upgrade to the Primacy 3? Reason I ask if because the Primacy 3 is more expensive than the Primacy 4. Making me think that Primacy 3 might actually be better as an overall tyre? As I currently got my 2 rear tyres changed and bought the Primacy 4 tyres. However the Formula One Autocentre fitted the Primacy 3 tyres saying that the order of the Primacy 4 is due in another 6 weeks so he suggested to keep the Primacy 3 for the same price? Wondering if I should just keep the Primacy 3 tyres now they are fitted.

If you ordered the Primacy 4, I would want those tyres. They are a direct replacement for the Primacy 3, and improve on the Primacy 3 in most areas.


2019-08-26 - Living in a small market country like Cyprus where the market is limited to options in "strange" sizes (Lexus IS220d with 225/45/17 & 245/45/17) I have the following decision to take. The Pilot Sport 4 I have on the car now are wearing down (will get roughly around 30K km on them) and I enquired about Evo 3, Conti Premium 6 and F1 A5 (had the A3 before the PS4) and I can only find the front tyres (!!!) at the moment. So I'm kinda left with the F1 A3 and the Primacy 4. I liked the F1 A3 a lot but knowing that the F1 A5 is out there I'm a bit bummed. I know one tyre is a performance tyre and the Primacy 4 is a touring tyre and I'm not really driving the car on sport mode so I'm leaning towards the Primacy 4. Price for the Goodyear should be a bit cheaper (around Ä530 compared to Ä580 for the Primacy 4). Any opinion to get me over the line? :) Thank you.

Without knowing your market it is very difficult for me to recommend anything else, especially as you really seem to know your tyres! The extra purchase price of the Prim4 should be offset by the extra mileage, but the Asymmetric 3 will likely be the grippier tyre overall.


2020-01-06 - Rear primacy 3 XL on my BMW 520D are worn (after 12k mileage) but Fronts have over 5mm tread left. Do you think primacy 4 would be a good fit to replace the rear? How do primacy 4 perform on grip as compared with PS4? Usually I drive within speed limits. Sometime 80 to 90mph

Primacy 4 is the obviously replacement for the 3, it's improved slightly in almost all categories. Dry and wet grip should be broadly similar to the Pilot Sport 4, but they won't handle as nicely.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
195/55 R16 £82.38 - £112.45 (85 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £65.80 - £116.00 (115 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R17 £107.00 - £160.90 (52 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £80.94 - £98.51 (92 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £107.30 - £126.19 (96 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/55 R17 £114.83 - £133.50 (59 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 48 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin Primacy 4 Review

Given 65% while driving a BMW 320i (225/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 2,200 average miles
2016 BMW 320i 225/50/17
2014 VW GOLF 205/55/16
After the initial minutes of euphoria having the latest Michelin's on both of our cars I am now more doubtful about these tires.
We have only driven ca 2200 km with the BMW and ca 1800 km with the VW, not much distance but on very various roads in just a few days and enough to have a good impression, it is similar impression with both cars.
It's rather good tires on good roads, good grip in turns wet and dry, acceptable/good comfort on good roads, relatively low noise although there is an unusual, but modest, mechanical or metallic sound from these tires, it is not loud but a little unpleasant.
The steering feel and handling is not quite as precis as I got used to with the other tire-brands, not at all a huge difference but I miss that little extra sense of road-feel and response.
As soon as I left the tire dealer with the new Michelin's I noticed a little slippery unstable feeling basically at all the time at any speed and road surface, wet or dry on both cars.
This little slippery feeling has not disappeared on any of the cars.
It is difficult to explain, it must be experienced, it is as if there is a little wax or oil on these tires, it is very little and hardly noticeable, not a huge problem but it is always there and it's slightly annoying.
Even on completely straight driving on highways there is this little sliding feeling, basically at any speed, it's very little but it's there, it's like the cars somehow are floating a little bit and never lands, the cars never really feel completely solid planted on the roads like with the other previous tire-brands.
I never really drive the cars over the limits in turns but very near the limits, the grip is good with the Michelin's on good roads, it is possible to go fast in turns, but on both cars there is this for me an unusual little slippery unstable shaky or vibrating feeling near the limits, not much, but still, I never felt that with the other tire-brands near the limits and I felt that I had more control with those other brands, although the grip is good it makes me drive these Michelin's a little bit slower in turns even on good roads than with the other tire-brands.
And on bad roads I have to slow down quite a bit with the Michelin's compared to my old tires, not so much a problem with the VW but still noticeable and unwanted, the BMW however is really bouncing around on bad roads with the Michelin's, it is uncomfortable and unstable, it does not feel safe at all.
I can not explain this, if it had been a different tire dimension and bigger wheels then I could understand the bouncing but it is the same roads and the same cars with the same wheels and tire-sizes that I have driven with other tire-brands.
The Michelin's are significantly more expensive than most other brands, I can not say anything about the wear because they are brand new, they do however in my opinion not excel at anything and their behavior on bad roads are not good.
In general the Michelin's are good tires but they do not handle quite as good as my previous tires, very small differences but in favor of previous tires.
My previous tires was Continental on BMW and Dunlop Sport BlueResponse on VW, good and stable tires with no particular fault except very high wear, I would still prefer any of them over the Michelin's.

433 - tyre reviewed on March 1, 2018   

Latest Michelin Primacy 4 Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin Primacy 4 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Primacy 4? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Primacy 4 >>

Hyundai (205/55 R16 R) on a combination of roads for 20,000 miles
I been a big advocate for a good tyres, and primacy 4 was a best decision I done thus far! In last 7 months I covered around 10k miles and have very little wear at the front. Little to no wear at the rear! Happy Michelin customer will buy again.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 30, 2020   
Given 93% while driving a BMW 520i (245/45 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 1,000 easy going miles
Had the Dunlop Veuro 303 previously. This tire has uneven wear on all tires and also had step wear on all tires for some reason. This made the ride noisy and felt as though my wheel bearings had gone bad. I decided to go with the Primary 4 after 3 months of reviewing and must say what a difference this makes. The ride comfort is amazing and the road noise is nearly gone fully. I can't comment on the wet grip as we live in a desert (Dubai). I will update this review after a few months on the tire wear. But from the reviews, it looks as though they will last me 60k km.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 20, 2020   
Want the best 18" Sports tyre? Watch this!
Given 100% while driving a Peugeot 208 1.5 BlueHDi (185/65 R15 T) on mostly motorways for 1,000 spirited miles
The tire is at 6.2mm of tread, Treadwear 340 Traction A Temperature A readings. You get what you'd expect out of a premium tire manufacturer for the touring segment. Dry and wet grip are phenomenal. Braking hard in the dry is like being kicked backwards. If anything (or anyone) is loose in the car, they'll start flying forward, be careful. That's how good the grip is. Wet braking is astonishing, too. Even if the tarmac is horribly slippery, you still get friction and decelerate. On good tarmac, when braking in the wet you start wondering if it really is wet outside and not dry. Straight aqua: I cannot comment yet, because the conditions have not been appropriate for conclusions. I think feedback, handling and comfort are balanced perfectly fine so as to blend the properties of a grippy and comfortable tire with those of a long-lasting and effective in wet braking one. Noise is very low, not the lowest I have experienced, but definitely low. For wear, I cannot comment so far, but given my experience with Michelin for more than two decades, I'd say they'll most likely top 80.000 before getting anywhere near the 1.6mm limit. As for their price, I got them for 250 euros a set of four, balanced, new valves. Buy again? Hell yeah.
6 - tyre reviewed on June 19, 2020   
Given 67% while driving a Ford Focus (235/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
In January 2020 I did get a new Focus ST Line (182 BHP) fitted OEM with these tires. For some reason Ford has switched from Pilot Sport3 to Primacy4 on all new ST-Lines with 18" rims. I know the PS3's very well from my 2 Peugeot's 308 GT's I had before the Focus. Perfect tires with the only disadvantage they wear faster. But back to the Primacy4. From start on I had vibrations on all conditions at nearly all speed (tires cold and warm, warm lesser vibrations but still there). The wheels where balanced and the car drove straight perfectly, so that could not be the reason. After approx. 3000 miles the garage switched under garanty the tires to Continental PreniumContact6. The difference could be feld immediately, apart from a little more road noise with the Conti's and a little bit less feedback, esp. turn in, the Conti's where much more comfortablee (no vibrations) and much more grip also (inner wheel didn't slip anymore in same conditions). I think that the combination of hard wheel suspension bushes of the Focus im combination with the longtidunal laminated profile of the Primacy4 its results in more vibrations, the reason why none of the Focusses I did testdrive (they had all PS3) had the same problem. I did testdrive a Peugeot 208 II with 16 inch rims and this car had also the same vibrations but lesser due to a more comfortable suspension set up. For me never again Primacy4 tires.
20 - tyre reviewed on April 18, 2020   
Given 84% while driving a BMW 320D (225/50 R17 R) on a combination of roads for 5 spirited miles
F30 BMW 320D on standard factory fitted Bridgestone runflats on potholed concrete Bangkok roads was enough to shake fillings loose and they had to go. Fitted Michellin Primacy 4 and as they say the difference was like night and day. I can now drive on streets I have steadfastly avoided in the past and the expressway ride feels like air suspension in comparison. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend Michellin Primacy 4
15 - tyre reviewed on April 18, 2020   

See all 53 customer reviews of the Michelin Primacy 4 (newest first) >>