Nankang AR 1

Dry Grip 91%
Wet Grip 48%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 89%
Wear 78%
Comfort 71%
Buy again 88%

The Nankang AR 1 is a Trackday and Competition Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

Show All

Tyre review data from 23 tyre reviews averaging 79% over 53,791 miles driven.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Nankang AR 1
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
235/45 R13 91V XL   E E 72  
235/45 R13 87V   F E 71  
175/50 R13 72V          
175/50 R13 72V   X X    
185/60 R13 80V   E F 71  
205/60 R13 86V   E E 72  
205/60 R13 86V   E F 70  
185/60 R14 82V   E F 70  
245/40 R15 88W XL   F E 71  
225/45 R15 87W   E F 71  
195/50 R15 82V   F E 70  
195/50 R15 82V   E E 72  
205/50 R15 86W   F E 71  
205/45 R16 83W   F E 71  
225/45 R16 89W   F E 71  
225/45 R16 93W XL   E E 72  
195/50 R16 88W   E E 72  
195/50 R16 84W   F E 70  
205/40 R17 80W   E E 72  
205/40 R17 80W   F E 71  
215/40 R17 87W XL   E E 72  
215/40 R17 83W   F E 71  
235/40 R17 94W XL   E E 72  
235/40 R17 90W   F E 71  
245/40 R17 91W   E F 71  
255/40 R17 98W XL   E E 73  
215/45 R17 87W   F E 71  
215/45 R17 91W XL   E E 72  
225/45 R17 94W XL   F E 72  
235/45 R17 97Y XL   F E 72  
235/45 R17 97Y XL   E E 72  
295/30 R18 98Y XL   F E 75  
295/30 R18 98Y XL   E E 74  
315/30 R18 98Y XL   E E 74  
255/35 R18 90Y   E F 71  
255/35 R18 94Y XL   E E 73  
265/35 R18 97Y XL   E E 73  
265/35 R18 97Y   E E 73  
275/35 R18 99Y XL   E E 73  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   F E 72  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E E 72  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E F 71  
245/40 R18 93Y   E F 71  
305/30 R19 102Y XL   E E 74  
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E E 72  
265/35 R19 98Y XL   E E 73  
275/35 R19 100Y XL   E E 73  
305/30 R20 103Y XL   E E 74  
305/30 R20 103Y XL   F E 75  
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E E 72  
265/35 R20 99Y XL   F E 74  
265/35 R20 99Y XL   E E 73  
285/35 R20 104Y XL   E E 74  

Questions and Answers for the Nankang AR 1

2019-09-27 - It would be great to have a big review on track tyres with this tyre + all other semi slicks/track tyres like the Michelin PS Cup 2, Toyo R888, Federals and so on!

Definitely working on it!


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
Available in 5 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Nankang AR 1 Review

Given 73% while driving a BMW M3 (265/35 R18) on track for 150 spirited miles
I got a set of four 265/35/18 tyres for track use and first got a chance to test them last week at Bedford on the GT Circuit. It was my first time on track tyres and since my last track day, I'd also got HSD Monopro coilovers, with professional geometry, corner weighting, and a full alignment.

To say that the new setup made a difference would be the understatement of the century. I'm glad I have bucket seats, as otherwise I'd have fallen off my seat round every corner. The tyres felt predictable, gave good feedback, and were quite progressive on the limit. While learning the circuit and getting the feel for the limit, I went sideways quite a lot, and it was FUN! However, I didn't but these to go sideways, obviously, I wanted to be fast. During the whole track day, the only car to pass me was another e46 M3, which was fully track prepped, stripped to the shell with a cage, Nitron coilvers, BBK, and Toyo R888R tyres. He was 3 seconds a lap quicker than my 2min : 52sec best.

I'll definitely buy these again when the time comes.
87 - tyre reviewed on May 24, 2016   

Latest Nankang AR 1 Reviews

Have you driven on the Nankang AR 1 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Nankang AR 1? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Nankang AR 1 >>

Given 92% while driving a Honda FK2 type r (235/35 R19) on track for 0 spirited miles
Ecxcellent grip on dry weather
2 - tyre reviewed on July 16, 2020   
Given 78% while driving a Porsche 987 Boxster S (275/35 R18) on track for 0 spirited miles
Been tracking a 944 and a Boxster for years. Both cars highly modified for track work. I just want to have fun and buy whatever r-comps or similar that are on sale. Had sets of re71rs, Toyota r888rs, nitto nt01s. Then saw nangang ar1s on sale. Wow!, as much or more grip as all the above and unlike a review above, I Did not find the tires going any greasier earlier than the others. If you overdrive your car, a specially if its heavy, ALL tires will get greasy. And I got more track sessions out of AR1 than any of the above, except Maby the nittos. Super tire
0 - tyre reviewed on July 1, 2020   
Trying to pick the very best all season tyre? Watch this!
Given 90% while driving a BMW 328i Coupe (235/40 R17) on for 3,000 miles
I bought this tires set for my E36 328i and mainly used this tires on track, sometimes daily commute to work if I feel lucky ;) So far, this tires is simple excellent on the track. Great feedback, turn in sharp. It will tell you once it is at its limit. Even if you slightly oversteer, it will grip back as long as you have are sensitive on gas pedal. I managed to cut down 3 seconds from 47s to 44s on one of the local track and around 5s from 1.31s to 1.26s on another local track (worth to mention that also my previous tires is just summer performance tires RE003 - but it is still a really good one). Once it is at the right temperature, it grips like shit on toilet. One more thing I really like from this tires is that it only take 1 2 turns to warm up, so you can go pretty much all in right from the beginning. My car is 1300kg so normally I start at 28 psi cold and usually ends up at around 34-35 psi.

Daily drive, it is super noisy. But it is semi-slick so you can't complain much about it. Tires make the whole car feels heavy - yes this tires is super heavy.

Also, I like the tread pattern design.
7 - tyre reviewed on November 29, 2019   
Given 57% while driving a BMW M3 (295/30 R18) on track for 1,000 miles
Like others said in other reviews
I ve used 3sets of Nankang AR1 brefore i write this review on F80 M3 with 490RWHP set up.
My sizes were 265 35 18 front and 295 30 18 rear.
The only problem with AR1 is that it starts to get heat soaked pretty quick for a semi slick tire. You will have to cool down after a consecutive attack, if not it has tendency to become very greasy.

It doesnt last that long obviously but It does provide more grip than most of Extreme summer tires.

If you are limited on tire expense,i would go with something that lasts a little longer.
However if you are not limited, AR1 will provide more DRY grip for a limited time.

Break away characteristic is adequate. I would say it is on the liniar progressive side.

5 - tyre reviewed on November 24, 2019   
Given 76% while driving a Subaru Impreza WRX STI (225/45 R17) on track for 200 miles
Very strong grip, one of the best semi-slick tire on the market I ‘ve tried (dry road)
Take one turn to warm it
Use at 29 psi hot tire pressure
I recommend it for sure and I will buy it again


Didn’t try on the wet but I won’t recommend
4 - tyre reviewed on November 3, 2019   

See all 20 customer reviews of the Nankang AR 1 (newest first) >>

https://bs.serving-sys.com/serving/adServer.bs?cn=display&c=19&mc=imp&pli=29943428&PluID=0&ord=[timestamp]&rtu=-1