Nokian WR D4

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 84%
Road Feedback 80%
Handling 79%
Wear 66%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 73%
Snow Grip 93%
Ice Grip 79%
 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £45.40 - £72.69 (32 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £61.70 - £88.00 (30 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £89.60 - £113.99 (30 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £122.00 - £125.00 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/55 R17 £92.95 - £107.40 (23 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 43 tyre sizes - View all.

Nokian WR D4 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 53% while driving a (215/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Very bad on wet roads. Not buying again
0 - tyre reviewed on February 6, 2020   
Given 76% while driving a SEAT LEON 1.8TSI (225/40 R18) on mostly town for 3,000 spirited miles
Used for 2 months. First I can say that these tires are really quiet. Snow handling is great, I was driving in a snow storm on a highway and felt very safe. Haven’t tested too much icy roads yet, but seems to be okay by the first impression.
Sometimes tends to be searching for a path on a straight road, need to adjust with the steering wheel. But not too bad, considering the 225 width.
Dry grip is average, wet grip is bit loose, powerful FWD car cannot put the torque onto the tarmac, gets wheel spin little too easy. Although aquaplaning is great, deep thread works well.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2019   
Given 87% while driving a SEAT Ibiza FR SC 1.2 TSI (215/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
See my winter review: https://youtu.be/5xcEHoJ_Sd0

Although there are possibly better winter tyres suited to the British climate, I really wanted to try out the Nokian WR D4 in snow, so was hopeful for a cold winter.

I've had the tyres on from November to March and I've used them in a range of temperatures from sub zero to the mild winter days we've had this time round

My initial reactions when I first had them fitted and it was mild, was that I felt the car frequently understeer on country road corners - obvious, I guess, as there's less rubber on the road. I'm not a particularly fast driver, but I did have to change my driving style slightly whilst cornering.

When the temperature dropped though these tyres felt amazing. Especially 4°c and below the soft compound really gripped the road. I noticed on frosty and icy mornings that the grip level was superior to my summer tyres.

Then it snowed. Wow! I almost felt like I was driving in my summer tyres on a bone dry road. The Nokians gripped the road to get my up steep hills without a problem, the breaking response was amazing as the car easily slowed or stopped and just general driving in the snow felt normal.

These tyres gave me so much confidence in the snow and, having a young child, I felt safe.

They're definitely going back on next winter.
6 - tyre reviewed on March 18, 2019   
Given 96% while driving a Opel Corsa C (175/65 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 1,800 average miles
I drove Nokian WR D4 on 14inch wheels for more than 2500 km (all season) and i am very satisfy from the tires, about their feedback on dry and snowy roads, especially on snow when i had no problems with grip or the most important braking. after 2500 km i still got 7 - 7.5 mm of thread on my tires, i higly recomend WR D4 especially because of the price/performance ratio, and their silent wall technology which makes them very quit tyre even on 120km/h speed on high way....
11 - tyre reviewed on March 8, 2019   
Given 87% while driving a Citron C5 (225/55 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
If you use that tyre with correct pressure, you can not complain about any other items and no need to look for any other tyres for winter. I had lost first 4mm after 9000 km by 32 psi. Then i increased the pressure to 35 psi and lost other 3 mm after 14.000 km. For wet, dry and snow i cannot offer any other tyre since i had almost used 12 different tyres in winters and covered more than 200k km. for ice, performance is a little bit behind of UG and Alpin.
14 - tyre reviewed on February 8, 2019   
Given 84% while driving a Renault clio iv 1.5 DCI 90ps (195/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
these tyres are brilliant for winter conditions and cold rain conditions i have them on my 2015 renault clio iv 1.5 dci i have put around 15.000 kilometers in snow and rain and dry conditions in 2 years the wear is fairly good they have about 70-60 % treadlife still on them .the only think that i dont like but i guess its the same in the winter tires is the noise they make and especially when braking . last but not least they are very very good in pooring rain, just 2 days ago i made 650 kms in 1 day in pooring rain almost all day they eat through the water like nothing they grip the road and make you feel safe.
2 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2019   
Given 69% while driving a Hyundai i30 (225/40 R18 V) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Dry: Very good steering response and grip

Wet: Easy to oversteer with a FWD car, you can break the tyres loose with a hard pull on the steering wheel and allow you to drift through corners nicely. In short, the wet grip is not very good, a lot of wheel spin when accelerating fast, and the tyres can start slipping in corners quickly without warning but you can keep steering, no understeer.

Snow: Very good in snow, but much better in deep snow than on thin layers of snow or frozen snow.

Comfort: Pretty pleasant ride, dampens vibrations well but they're a little too noisy at any speed (mostly when wet)

Wear rate: Pretty bad, probably due to the very soft compound and aggressive pattern.

Conclusion: Very fun tyres to drive, but not the safest in the wet.
8 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2019   
Audi (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
The tires i bought, NOKIAN WRD 4, for winter have excelent adhesion on snow, when i drive i can move the car easily without forcing it. I can barelly hear the tires noise on the steet and i am really pleased of.Their adhesion give me confidence an safety on the road.
1 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2018   
Given 99% while driving a Opel insignia (225/55 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 15,000 miles
The tyres work perfectly in 30cm snow,on ice and i rain.They are free of sound I recommend them
0 - tyre reviewed on December 1, 2018   
Given 56% while driving a Peugeot 308 sw 1.6 hdi (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 15,000 easy going miles
Very good on snow and ice. Not so good on wet and dry roads. Poor feedback. Main issue was wear: after 2 winters all the side treads (outside and inside) are almost completely shredded. Otherwise the central tread is still very good. They are quite literally falling apart. I cannot recommend them.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 29, 2018