Pirelli Cinturato P7 Blue

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 75%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 73%
Wear 87%
Comfort 76%
Buy again 63%
 
Size Price Range  
215/50 R17 £100.00 - £153.39 (17 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R17 £106.90 - £177.20 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £92.00 - £195.50 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £80.00 - £137.49 (35 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/55 R16 £107.40 - £129.79 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R17 £92.80 - £129.76 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 15 tyre sizes - View all.

Pirelli Cinturato P7 Blue Reviews (newest first) - Page 2

Given 94% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (225/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 36,430 spirited miles
The previous tyres fitted to my Mk3 Skoda Octavia vRS when it was new lasted less than 22,000 miles of spirited cross country driving on mixed A & B roads so I went looking for a tyre that would wear less but provide better economy and grip in both wet and dry conditions. After reading many tyre reviews I decided to fit a set of 4 Pirelli Cinturato P7 Blue tyres as they had scored well in previous tests and reviews, and I have not been disappointed. After covering over 36,400 miles there is still just under 4mm of tread on each tyre, mind you I have rotated Front to Rear every 10,000 miles to ensure even wear, even with a Stage 1 remap the tyres handled the additional power and torque for the last 26,000 miles and have continued to provide me with the same level of grip and comfort as they did when initially fitted. I think that they are so good, that I'm about to order another full set.
3 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2018   
Given 73% while driving a Lancia Delta 1.4 T Jet Platino (215/50 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 2,015 spirited miles
Realy good on wet roads.
Not enough energy efficinesy. I did not find eny drop in fuel consumption.
Silades on start and sharp corners.
There was some balance problems; can not be solved easly.
Light, good tire...
12 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2017   
Given 91% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 Aero 1.9 TTiD convertible (235/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 44 average miles
I use these tyres on my 200hp Saab convertible that I drive daily with an average of 40.000 miles per year.
From the first week of December till halfway March I use winter tyres (Vredestein WIntrac s)
The Pirelli P7 Blue on the rear staill have 5mm after 44.000 miles of use.
On the front it's less than 3mm now. Will replace those after the winter season :-)
No doubt in my choice: Pirelli P7 Cinturato Blue !

Excellent cornering at high speeds, verry pleassant to drive in heavy rain, superb steering, silent and extreme durable.

The review system doen't allow separate front/rear axle........ frond is EOL, rear is midlife.
2 - tyre reviewed on October 5, 2017   
Given 73% while driving a Opel Vectra C GTS (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I bought these tires as a replacement for my Bridgestone Potenza RE002.
I was looking for a more eco/touring tire, and oh my got I made the right choice.

Soft side wall with lowest rolling resistance (and A mark for fuel use) makes these tires very comfort oriented. And yes they are a great improvement compared potenza's on this respect.

The grip on the wet is good, superb on braking but not so good on cornering. On the wet the grip is plenty on braking.
Cinturato P7 bule's are know for having a very soft side wall which makes the car "wobbly" when turning, so this gives no sporty feeling and no confidence at all. Road feedback is OK but leaves plenty to be desired since the handling is no good.

Due to the soft side wall the car rides much better then sporty tires, at first it feels like you're in a cloud. And fuels usage is very good.

At last it all depends on what you want from tires, if you are looking for comfort and fuel efficiency these are the best choice for you. But same can not be said if you like to do spirited driving a lot which I love but is something I sacrificed in favor of better ride.
6 - tyre reviewed on September 5, 2017   
Given 70% while driving a Renault Megane (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
good tires, grip is ok all around. just too noisy for me.
city driving, and i saw a fuel drop, on the highways, didnt make any diffirence at all, maby because winter tires are 205/ wide and these are 225.
will i buy them again, propably not, cause of the noise. but im stuck with them until they wear out.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 15, 2017   
Given 90% while driving a Opel Astra J Sports Tourer (225/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
Much better than the Michelin Primacy3 and the GoodYear Efficient grip Performance. Feeling of driving and exemplary duration.
3 - tyre reviewed on April 22, 2017   
Given 63% while driving a Ford Focus (205/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Initially, I bought these tyres based on their excellent test results combined with the efficiency that they offer in the "blue" version. Straight from fitted, I was happy with the performance, though as stated it's not as immediate as a sports tyre - to be expected in a touring focussed tyre. Note also, being a touring tyre the profile is relatively narrow - my tyres offered practically zero rim protection as there is no carcass bulge in the lower profiles.

However, approximately 18 months after fitting I noticed that the performance seemed to start deteriorating, initially evidenced by poor wet grip. Dry grip remained ok. This got worse and worse (not helped by a very peaky turbo on a very front heavy diesel Focus) and resulted in me having very little confidence when turning in for a wet traffic island. We have a supermarket near here, too, with a steepish concrete ramp access (badger farm Winchester, for info) up which I would routinely lose traction in the wet.

Got fed up of risking my neck on every turn and swapped to Michelin Cross Climates all round. Problems solved.

In summary, good for ~15-20k miles, then terrible. Tyres still had the best part of 4mm tread, too.
6 - tyre reviewed on February 9, 2017   
Given 83% while driving a Volvo C70 D5 LUX (235/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 22,500 average miles
Superb lifespan from these, over 22,000 miles on the front wheels of a Volvo C70 D5. This is about 33% more than I got from Michelin Primacy 3s previously. Dry grip was excellent and wet performance also very good. Not a match for a modern sports tyre but very good indeed for a touring tyre with that sort of treadlife.
19 - tyre reviewed on August 2, 2016   
Given 95% while driving a Vauxhall (205/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Bought these tyres for the front of the car as a replacement for Goodyear Efficientgrip which the previous owner had fitted. Did a fair bit of sourcing before buying these tyres and was highly impressed after purchasing.

For a summer touring tyre these are superb in the dry and very impressive in the wet. For fast aggressive driving, these are adequate for wet or dry conditions, but maintain comfort when driving long distance. For anyone who is after a tyre solely for sporty driving, there are other tyres which will offer more in terms of feedback and preciseness, however for an all round tyre these are excellent. In terms of progressiveness, when the limit of grip was exceeded, it was fairly gradual and easy to correct. In terms of wear, I have now reached just over 2.4mm after 20000miles with a fair amount of sporty aggressive driving on country roads, as well as long distance journeys on a daily basis. The Astra is fairly front heavy so these tyres worked well and inspired confidence by completely reducing any understeer through corners or locking up under heavy breaking in wet conditions.

As for disadvantages, although these tyres have lasted 20000miles, the grip seemed to drop noticeably after around 10000miles. When compared to the Continental Premium Contact 2s I had on my previous car, which maintained the grip until the tyres were worn out, this was a unexpected drawback.

Overall a great all round tyre for summer touring, which is comfortable for long distance driving, while being equally as impressive when driven aggressively on windy country roads in dry or wet conditions. However the grip will not last the entire life of the tyre, as I found during the last 8000 to 10000miles in which the tyre noticeably lost grip before the tread had even become close to the legal limit. Although I have fitted different tyres to my car, I would recommend this tyre and would consider purchasing these again in the future.
3 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2016