Toyo R888 R

Dry Grip 96%
Wet Grip 72%
Road Feedback 88%
Handling 90%
Wear 75%
Comfort 67%
Buy again 85%

The Toyo R888 R is a Trackday and Competition Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Toyo R888

Show All

Tyre review data from 13 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 22,825 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2017 Track Day Tyre Test - 5th of 5 tyres

  • Positive - Short dry braking, low price.
  • Negative - Slowest during the dry and wet handling laps, longest wet braking, weakest aquaplaning result. Very noisy.

2017 Sport Auto UHP and Track Day Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good wet traction for a semi slick, high grip and good steering in the dry
  • Negative - Very nervous in wet handling, very noisy
  • Overall - Particularly recommended
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/40 R17 84W   E F 70  
205/45 R17 88W   E F 71  
215/45 R17 91W   E F 70  
225/45 R17 94W   E F 70  
265/35 R18 97Y   E F 72  
235/40 R18 95Y   E F 71  
265/30 R19 89Y   E F 72  
295/30 R19 100Y   E E 75  
305/30 R19 102Y   E E 75  

Questions and Answers for the Toyo R888 R

2016-08-25 - Good morning, I"m just curious what the Treadwear rating is on these tires?

The treadwear rating of the Toyo Proxes R888R varies by size, full information can be found on the Toyo website.


2017-02-23 - I'm wondering regarding left and right tire tread.. On left tire tread going up,but right tire tread going down.. Is that normal? I usually fiited my GTR R888,but i want to try this new R888R.. I just wonder regarding the tire tread.. Regards AFIQ AFIAT

The Toyo R888R is an asymmetric tyre, so there will be some variance between the looks on the left and right sides of the vehicle. This is normal, and won't affect the tyres performance.


2017-07-20 - How long mileage wise would a set of R888R's last on average?

The mileage of the R888R will be massively dependant on usage as track days will shorten the life considerably. In purely road miles, a guess would be around 3-4000.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
185/60 R13 £93.20 - £112.39 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/45 R17 £126.59 - £139.14 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £112.50 - £126.19 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R17 £158.20 - £181.19 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 37 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Toyo R888 R Review

Given 97% while driving a Alfa Romeo (190/50 R15) on track for 125 spirited miles
Fitted these on my 2nd Alfa 155 for a trackday, the dry grip they provide is by any means outstanding, the cornering speeds the car reached were almost on the edge of being described as ridiculous! They seem to be gripping quite well too on wet roads I must say. Up to about 80-90 km/h they are quite but at higher speeds they make some considerable noise.

They did wear very little after a total of 30 laps, "pedal to the metal" action, probably because I had insisted on aligning the wheels as perfectly as possible.

Will be using them again on the next trackday, they can cope with at least as many laps again for sure.
72 - tyre reviewed on January 13, 2016   

Latest Toyo R888 R Reviews

Have you driven on the Toyo R888 R tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Toyo R888 R? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Toyo R888 R >>

Given 89% while driving a Honda FK2 type r (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Really impressed with the amount of grip with hard rain
0 - tyre reviewed on July 16, 2020   
Given 81% while driving a Skoda Fabia 2 1.6 (205/40 R17) on track for 3,100 spirited miles
After trying some cheap chinese trackay tires (goodride sport rs), I decided to step up the size and the quality of the tires. Searched the same size as skoda says form factory, and then went for the r888r. Same course, same car, instantly more feedback, more sharp response, grip levels that made a compact car briskier than ever. Managed to shave 2 seconds of the previous time, less flex on the sidewall, more speed on the curves. Be carefull, first few laps in a underpowered car, can be tricky by the lack of temp of the tires. 2 warming laps, problem solved. Decided only rotating from side, not from axle to see the wear on them, and lets say grip demands wear for sure. 5 trackdays and a 800 km trip back from a course and the fronts are now in the wear marks. The rears, only 2mm wear. Please consider that the average weather here is 30 celsius avg in summer. Those in the uk or europe can see less wear difinitely because of the colder climate conditions. Now hoping that covid eases the life to get back on the track, still got some decent grip in the fronts so lets push it to the limits. 30 psi cold 38 psi hot rear 30 psi cold in 35 psi hot If you like to send more tail happiness, 34 cold , so you can reach 38 psi. Toyo says 32 38 is the optimal psi. Definitely gonna purchase some more...
2 - tyre reviewed on May 18, 2020   
Trying to pick the very best all season tyre? Watch this!
Given 81% while driving a Caterham 1.6 K Roadsport (185/60 R13) on track for 1,500 spirited miles
he car I had came fitted with a set of Yokohama A539 tyres. Designed for normal passenger car use they needed significantly more than 500kg on top of them and they were hopeless. Zero grip, got hot, became squirmy and unpredictable and were hopeless on track. Id driven on the ZZS quite a lot but wasn't sure if Avon merited the price premium, and the tyre size wasn't ideal for my model so I opted for the R888R in GG compound.

Shortly after I had a chance at Croft to compare three Caterham's with ZZR, ZZS and the R888R.

Initial impressions are that in the bone dry with all other considerations gone, the ZZR is king. Genuinely a superb stable high performance tyre that stays on the boil for a significant amount of time. I'd suggest a window of at least 10 laps where the tyre was on perfect form. Then a slow transition into being slightly more slippery and excess tyre wear as the temperature increases.

The ZZS is a superb road tyre for a Caterham. Remarkably useful in the wet and even down to quite low temperatures, and works very well on a track as long as you limit your sessions to say 6-8 laps. After this again the transition into slightly less predictable begins and the car just becomes very slidey!

The R888R was somewhere in between the two extremes. I felt that the Toyos offered ALMOST ZZR performance but at a fairly significant discount. They were definitely better from cold than the ZZS and lasted a little longer before going off. They also worked almost as well on the road as a ZZS, dealing with water pretty well. The R888R stayed on my car.

Downsides: the R888R is a heavier tyre with a stiffer sidewall, so this makes them a little less comfortable and adds a touch of unsprung weight to a light car, but their benefits generally outweighed these issues.

Ultimately I feel budget and requirement would dictate which you'd have. On a modern Caterham where ride height and sump layouts allow the smaller ratios, I'd suggest pick either a ZZR/S. But for older academy cars based on 175/70/13 tyres, going down to a 185/55/13 was just too much. The toyo in 185/60/13 was a better bet, with a small tweak to ride height.
6 - tyre reviewed on April 5, 2019   
Given 41% while driving a Porsche 991.1 GT3 RS (265/35 R19 W) on track for 200 spirited miles
This is a slow tire. I'm not sure how this tire is getting so many positive reviews. Maybe it's good for a lightweight vehicle or in smaller sizes. But I think it's no good for modern heavy cars which typically weighs more than 1400kg, or in bigger sizes. Grip is low and your laptime will suffer. This stand no chance against the track-focused tires, such as A050 GS, 03G, because it's quite a bit slower than some road tires, like RE-71R. Also, this tire is pretty heavier than other tires in same size which may contributes its slowness.
14 - tyre reviewed on February 7, 2019   
Given 67% while driving a Peugeot 308 GTi by P.S. 200Kw (235/35 R18 W) on track for 0 spirited miles
track use only, impressive dry grip, short braking distance, maybe the best of all-considering Michelin ps4s and other top tires , on wet it is terrible, great cornering but a little hard to handle, very short life, a heavy tire, for track days i will buy again and again.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2019   

See all 11 customer reviews of the Toyo R888 R (newest first) >>

https://bs.serving-sys.com/serving/adServer.bs?cn=display&c=19&mc=imp&pli=29943428&PluID=0&ord=[timestamp]&rtu=-1