Uniroyal RainExpert 3

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 92%
Road Feedback 77%
Handling 74%
Wear 65%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 83%

The Uniroyal RainExpert 3 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Uniroyal RainExpert

Show All

Tyre review data from 27 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 166,303 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2018 Auto Bild 15 inch Summer Tyre Test - 12th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Best straight aquaplaning result, short wet braking distances.
  • Negative - High levels of understeer in the wet and dry.

2018 AutoBild Summer Tyre Overview - 7th of 47 tyres

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
155/65 R13 73T   E B 70 4.82kgs
165/65 R13 77T   E B 70 5.29kgs
175/65 R13 80T   E B 70 6.11kgs
145/70 R13 71T   E B 70 4.86kgs
155/70 R13 75T   E B 70 5.22kgs
165/70 R13 79T   E B 70 5.67kgs
175/70 R13 82T   E B 70 6.09kgs
185/70 R13 86T   E B 70 6.76kgs
135/80 R13 70T   E B 70 4.65kgs
145/80 R13 75T   E B 70 5.27kgs
155/80 R13 79T   E B 70 5.82kgs
165/80 R13 87T XL   E B 71 6.30kgs
165/60 R14 75H   E B 70 5.51kgs
165/60 R14 75T   E B 70 5.51kgs
185/60 R14 82H   E B 70 6.69kgs
185/60 R14 82T   E B 70 6.69kgs
155/65 R14 75T   E B 70 5.29kgs
165/65 R14 79T   E B 70 5.83kgs
175/65 R14 82H   E B 70 6.39kgs
175/65 R14 82T   E B 70 6.08kgs
175/65 R14 86T XL   E B 71 6.42kgs
185/65 R14 86H   E B 70 6.90kgs
185/65 R14 86T   E B 70 6.90kgs
195/65 R14 89T   E B 71 6.97kgs
165/70 R14 81T   E B 70 6.03kgs
165/70 R14 85T XL   E B 71 6.05kgs
165/70 R14 81T   E A 70 6.05kgs
175/70 R14 88T XL   E B 71 7.11kgs
175/70 R14 84T   E B 70 6.40kgs
185/70 R14 88T   E B 70 7.27kgs
195/70 R14 91T   E B 71 8.00kgs
175/80 R14 88T   E B 70 8.04kgs
185/60 R15 84H   C A 70 7.13kgs
185/60 R15 84T   C A 70 7.13kgs
185/60 R15 88H XL   C A 71 7.54kgs
195/60 R15 88V   E A 71 7.32kgs
195/60 R15 88H   E A 71 7.32kgs
205/60 R15 91V   C A 71 8.16kgs
205/60 R15 91H   C A 71 8.16kgs
225/60 R15 96V   C A 71 9.36kgs
225/60 R15 96Y   C A 71 9.44kgs
165/65 R15 81T   C A 70 5.90kgs
175/65 R15 84T   C A 70 6.47kgs
175/65 R15 84H   C A 70 6.47kgs
185/65 R15 92T XL   C A 71 7.74kgs
185/65 R15 88T   C A 70 7.31kgs
185/65 R15 88H   C A 70 7.31kgs
195/65 R15 91T   C A 71 8.18kgs
195/65 R15 91V   C A 71 8.19kgs
195/65 R15 95T XL   C A 72 8.05kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C A 71 8.16kgs
205/65 R15 94H   C A 71 8.59kgs
205/65 R15 94V   C A 71 8.59kgs
215/65 R15 96H   C A 71 9.37kgs
205/70 R15 96H   E A 71 10.53kgs
205/60 R16 96Y XL   C A 72 8.42kgs
205/60 R16 96H XL   C A 72 8.61kgs
205/60 R16 92H   C A 71 8.36kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   C A 72 8.36kgs
205/60 R16 92V   C A 71 8.36kgs
215/60 R16 95H   C A 71 9.87kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL   C A 72 9.87kgs
215/60 R16 99H XL   C A 72 10.09kgs
225/60 R16 98Y   C A 71 10.00kgs
235/60 R16 100V   C A 71 10.79kgs
235/60 R16 100H   C A 71 10.79kgs
215/65 R16 98H   C A 71 10.03kgs
215/65 R16 98V   C A 71 10.05kgs
215/70 R16 100V   C A 71 11.56kgs
225/70 R16 103V   C A 71 12.72kgs
235/70 R16 106H   C A 71 12.30kgs
265/70 R16 112H   C A 72 17.65kgs
205/80 R16 104T XL   C A 72 12.21kgs
215/60 R17 96V   C A 71 10.36kgs
215/60 R17 96H   C A 71 10.09kgs
225/60 R17 99V   C A 71 10.82kgs
225/65 R17 106V XL   C A 72 11.03kgs
235/65 R17 108V XL   C A 72 13.86kgs
255/65 R17 110H   C A 72 15.68kgs
265/65 R17 112H   C A 72 16.38kgs
225/60 R18 100H   C A 71 11.62kgs
235/60 R18 107V XL   C A 72 12.26kgs
255/60 R18 112V XL   C A 73 15.98kgs

Questions and Answers for the Uniroyal RainExpert 3

2016-11-30 - im running uniroyal expert 3 195/65/15 H ,they are rated @ max 32 psi.my car runs tyre pressure of 35 psi so i find the already soft sidewall like driving on jelly.i know uniroyal do this tyre in XL so harder sidewalls but i cant use them as they are only T speed rated.my question is if i use the expert 3 195/65/15 V that has a max psi of 40,will it firm up the sidewalls? lots of talk, online Just up the pressure from 32psi to 38 psi.so over the recommended max pressure !!( im not doing that thanks).also some saying dont run tyres with more psi that the car manufacture recommends..this seems to be a problem across all tyre makes so something is amiss in the world of wobbly tyres. but what is the answer? regards Tim

We put this question to Continental directly, and here's their answer.

Firstly the correct inflation pressure that should be used is the one given on the vehicle information plate or in the vehicle handbook for the load being carried. If the vehicle is specified on 'Standard load' tyres then fitting 'extra load' is not necessary and in any case if the laden weight remained the same then broadly the same inflation pressure* should be used and no noticeable difference is likely to be felt. If inflation pressure is increased then this can give the feeling of a 'stiffer' sidewall but having a tyre 'over inflated' distorts the casing profile, reduces the contact area and can negatively affect handling and the feel of the vehicle.

The reason that having a more flexible sidewall may be becoming more talked about is because of the modern components used in the tyre in order to improve the efficiency, and help lower the fuel consumption and CO of the vehicle. Modern development goals include a low Hysteresis in the flexing zone of the tyre sidewall which reduces the energy absorption in this area thus improving the tyre's rolling resistance while at the same time ensuring durability and abrasion resistance. However although this may result in the 'feel' of a more flexible sidewall the handling, durability and other performance characteristics are still maintained. Another factor with this is that in many cases the fact full tread depth tyres are being fitted in place of well worn tyres would, even if the same tyres were being fitted, result in the vehicle feeling a little less precise due to the inevitable pattern movement on a tyre with deep tread depth.

* Technically there is a small difference in the recommended pressure between standard and extra load tyres for the same load.


2016-11-02 - Uniroyal RainExpert 3 - Is there a right and left tyre or are they all the same?

The Uniroyal RainExpert 3 is an asymmetric tyre, so there is no left or right fitment, just and outside and inside for mounting on the wheel.


2017-10-01 - Are uniroyal rain expert load 98 ok for a vivario van

As long as the size and load rating matches the OE specification then the tyre is suitable.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £39.00 - £54.50 (35 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 55 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Uniroyal RainExpert 3 Review

Given 90% while driving a Audi 1.8T Quattro (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Well these tyres have replaced my set of winters now!
Very good in the dry for grip and exceptional in damp/greasy/wet conditions.
I can set the quattro up in the wet for the drive to progressivly go to the rear on roundabouts and drive the car out onto the straights no drama or fuss when I want.
Deal with standing water very well.
Wear masked by AWD but I think 12K from the most worked axel [front] easily achieveable.
Not a "sports" tyre so if thats what you want then look elsewhere but rather a safe set of hands...
120 - tyre reviewed on April 3, 2016   

Latest Uniroyal RainExpert 3 Reviews

Have you driven on the Uniroyal RainExpert 3 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Uniroyal RainExpert 3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Uniroyal RainExpert 3 >>

Given 83% while driving a Renault KANGOO 1.9 (195/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Haven' t used too many other brands and models but Uniroyal Rainexpert is the best everyday tyre I've used.
What I like the most of it is - grip. Grip on wet and flooded surface is exceptionally great! Where other tyres are "floating" Rainexpert make you feel that no conditions have changed. On dry it has so much grip that it almost feels I'm driving on semi slicks. Keeps my kind of wobbling suspension Kangoo on corners like sports car.
Using on this car a second set of these tyres. And will be using again.
Wear of tyre is quite rapid comparing to other tyres but for me the main thing is how car hold the road. It's a safety question for me. BTW I'm using these with EBC Bluestuf compound pads. Perfect combination on Kangoo MK1.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 30, 2019   
Want the best 18" Sports tyre? Watch this!
Given 90% while driving a Hyundai elantra (185/60 R16) on mostly town for 20 easy going miles
Handling on wet is great, they have a slight noise to them, very slight tho. We have them for a year now and after over 12 000 km they still look like new, there was no considerable expenditure on the threads.
3 - tyre reviewed on September 2, 2019   
Given 81% while driving a Audi A4 1.8T Quattro (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 33 spirited miles
On my second set. First lasted 3 years, weekly commute from Perthshire to Norfolk and driving around A47 etc staying alive..
Thus have driven in ALL conditions.
Tyres do wear, on mine it's the fronts that suffer the greater wear say 60/40 front to rear.
Tyres like the hot spells in Norfolk air temps in 30+ no ideas of road surface temp but they didn't enjoy being worked hard during that period but OK if capn sensible appeared....7/10 dry grip score during that period of hot temps..
Tyres are a bit noisy on some surfaces but hey....

Positives.
Confidence inspiring. They just get on with the job of the day, mundane or not. Wet conditions and standing water at motorway speeds are always a danger. These mitigate that danger [be aware that hitting 6" deep standing water in any tyre will not end well!] dry and wet grip more than adequate. Despite quattro I do not push, in the wet to the same extent as the dry.
Braking. Despite British drivers on British Roads, Duals and Motorways I have yet to trigger ABS in extremis, car does a good impression of bikers "stoppies" too.
Handling/Feedback Tyres let you know by sound and feel when your getting close. With full time quattro the dynamic change when centre diff operates can be felt but no understeer just a reduction in torque feedback on steering wheel.
These softish tyres come into their own in these circumstances. I imagine that they work equally well in either front or rear drive configuration.
All in all bloody good, more focused rubber will outperform them, but really, when bangs per buck come into it, it's no contest from my POV...
23 - tyre reviewed on September 4, 2018   
Given 86% while driving a BMW 525i (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
I run two sets of tyres on my BMW E61 525i- Michelin Pilot Alpin in the winter and Uniroyals all other times - As this is the car we use for our children safety is important & I believe that Uniroyals offer excellent grip & great value for money. As this is a family car high speed performance is not my primary concern - I would but Michelin Pilots if that was the case. They are very reassuring in wet weather & great all round performance. Wear is slightly high due to their soft compound but nothing to worry about - would buy again no problem.
11 - tyre reviewed on July 8, 2018   

See all 24 customer reviews of the Uniroyal RainExpert 3 (newest first) >>