Uniroyal Rainsport 3

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 92%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 78%
Wear 64%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 76%

The Uniroyal Rainsport 3 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Uniroyal Rainsport 2

This tyre has been replaced by the Uniroyal Rainsport 5

Show All

Tyre review data from 264 tyre reviews averaging 79% over 1,963,205 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2020 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 16th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Low wear, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Understeer handling, slow steering in the wet.
  • Overall - Satisfactory.

2020 Tyre Market Overview Braking Test - 19th of 49 tyres

2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout - 21st of 45 tyres

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/45 R14 77V   E A 71 6.23kgs
185/55 R14 80H   E A 70 6.25kgs
195/45 R15 78V   E A 71 6.83kgs
195/50 R15 82V   E A 71 6.74kgs
195/50 R15 82H   E A 71 6.74kgs
205/50 R15 86V   E A 71 7.73kgs
185/55 R15 82H   E A 70 6.66kgs
185/55 R15 82V   E A 70 6.45kgs
195/55 R15 85H   C A 71 7.19kgs
195/55 R15 85V   C A 71 7.19kgs
205/55 R15 88V   E A 71 7.31kgs
195/45 R16 84V XL   C A 72 6.62kgs
205/45 R16 83Y   E A 71 7.64kgs
205/45 R16 87Y XL   C A 72 7.64kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL   E A 72 7.96kgs
195/50 R16 88V XL   C A 72 6.79kgs
205/50 R16 87Y   C A 71 8.18kgs
205/50 R16 87V   C A 71 8.21kgs
225/50 R16 92Y   E A 71 8.98kgs
195/55 R16 87H   E A 71 9.92kgs
195/55 R16 87H   C A 71 7.99kgs
195/55 R16 87T   C A 71 7.99kgs
195/55 R16 87V   C A 71 7.99kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C A 71 8.23kgs
205/55 R16 91V   C A 71 8.15kgs
205/55 R16 91W XL   E A 71 11.34kgs
205/55 R16 91Y   C A 71 8.44kgs
205/55 R16 94Y XL   C A 72 8.44kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 72 8.25kgs
215/55 R16 97Y XL   C A 72 9.15kgs
215/55 R16 93Y   C A 71 9.15kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL   C A 72 9.09kgs
215/55 R16 93V   C A 71 8.85kgs
225/55 R16 95V   C A 71 9.50kgs
225/55 R16 95Y   C A 71 9.76kgs
225/55 R16 99Y XL   C A 72 9.76kgs
205/40 R17 84Y XL   E A 72 7.64kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 72 7.52kgs
245/40 R17 91Y   E A 71 9.88kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 72 8.19kgs
205/45 R17 84V   E A 71 9.50kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   C A 72 8.31kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 72 8.59kgs
215/45 R17 87Y   E A 71 8.59kgs
215/45 R17 87V   E A 71 8.59kgs
225/45 R17 91W   E A 71 11.71kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C A 72 9.08kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 72 9.09kgs
225/45 R17 91V   C A 71 9.03kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   C A 71 9.23kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 72 10.35kgs
235/45 R17 94Y   C A 71 10.35kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 72 10.04kgs
245/45 R17 95Y   C A 71 10.04kgs
205/50 R17 89V   E A 71 8.95kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   C A 72 8.92kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   C A 72 8.76kgs
215/50 R17 95Y XL   C A 72 9.18kgs
215/50 R17 95V XL   C A 72 9.18kgs
215/50 R17 91Y   C A 71 9.10kgs
225/50 R17 94V   E A 71 9.65kgs
225/50 R17 94W   E A 71 14.29kgs
225/50 R17 94Y   E A 71 9.97kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 72 9.87kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 72 9.65kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   C A 72 8.90kgs
215/55 R17 94Y   C A 71 9.59kgs
215/55 R17 94V   C A 71 9.66kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 72 10.56kgs
225/55 R17 97Y   C A 71 10.56kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 72 10.93kgs
235/55 R17 99V   C A 71 10.89kgs
215/35 R18 84Y XL   E A 72 8.02kgs
225/35 R18 87Y XL   C A 72 8.14kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   C A 72 9.61kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 73 10.31kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 73 11.19kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 72 9.39kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL   E A 72 11.37kgs
235/40 R18 91Y   E A 71 9.59kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 72 9.66kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 72 10.13kgs
245/40 R18 93Y   E A 71 10.13kgs
215/45 R18 93Y XL   C A 72 9.44kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   E A 72 12.37kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 72 9.88kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 72 10.35kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 72 10.86kgs
245/45 R18 96Y   E A 71 10.93kgs
255/45 R18 99Y   C A 72 11.76kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 73 11.77kgs
235/50 R18 97V   C A 71 11.05kgs
245/50 R18 100Y   E A 71 16.63kgs
215/55 R18 99V XL   C A 72 9.82kgs
225/55 R18 98V   C A 71 10.51kgs
235/55 R18 100V   C A 71 11.55kgs
235/55 R18 100H   C A 71 11.55kgs
255/55 R18 109Y XL   C A 73 13.29kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   E A 73 10.18kgs
275/30 R19 96Y XL   C A 73 11.06kgs
305/30 R19 102Y XL   C A 75 11.95kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   C A 72 8.81kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 72 9.91kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 72 10.29kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 73 10.89kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL   C A 73 11.40kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   C A 72 10.17kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 72 10.79kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 73 11.63kgs
225/45 R19 96Y XL   C A 72 10.42kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 72 11.96kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL   C A 73 11.78kgs
275/45 R19 108Y XL   C A 73 14.04kgs
235/50 R19 99V   C A 71 11.01kgs
255/50 R19 107Y XL   C A 73 14.61kgs
235/55 R19 105Y XL   C A 72 12.09kgs
255/55 R19 111V XL   C A 73 15.05kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL   C A 72 10.71kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 73 11.39kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL   E A 73 12.56kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   C A 73 12.24kgs
275/40 R20 106Y XL   C A 73 13.34kgs
255/45 R20 105Y XL   C A 73 13.08kgs
265/45 R20 108Y XL   C A 73 12.99kgs
275/45 R20 110Y XL   C A 73 14.38kgs
255/50 R20 109Y XL   C A 73 14.08kgs
195/55 R20 95H XL   C A 72 9.37kgs
295/35 R21 107Y XL   C A 75 13.66kgs

Questions and Answers for the Uniroyal Rainsport 3

2016-06-08 - is there a left & right on the uniroyal rainsport 3

No there isn't. Unlike the Rainsport 2, the Rainsport 3 is an asymmetric tyre, not directional tyre. This means the tyre has an "inside" and "outside" to be mounted on the wheel, but once mounted the wheel and tyre can go on either side of the car.


2016-06-15 - I have just had uniroyal rain sport 3 fitted on my car in replace of mitchellin tires, are uniroyal comparable to Mitchelin ???? I feel like I have been ripped off as asked and was quoted for Mitchelin tires

The Uniroyal RainSport 3 is an excellent midrange tyre. It should have a similar level of wet grip to a premium Michelin tyre, however we would expect the Uniroyal to wear more quickly. This should have been offset by a cheaper purchase price.


2018-07-19 - I need a set of tyres for my 2010 FIAT Bravo 1.4 90HP, right now I'm using the Barum Bravuris 3HM I'm living in Greece in a mountainous area with lots of rain between the seasons, but I'm also covering long distances around Greece in motorways, After reading lots of reviews on your site, I decided that the perfect match for my car are the Uniroyal Rainsport 3. But the DONLOP Sport MAXX RT and the YOKOHAMA ADVAN FLEVA v701 have olsa grabbed my attention, I'm not sure which one to go with I would appreciate any advice form you between the three sets of tires I've mentioned above.

The Uniroyal RainSport 3 will likely give you the best wet weather performance of the three, but will likely wear slightly quicker than the other two. If rain is the primary issue, I would suggest going with the Uniroyals.


2018-12-17 - Are these suitable for a VW Tiguan 4x4

As long as you can find the correct size and load rating, it is fine to fit the RainSport 3 to your Tiguan.


2019-09-27 - How can assymetric tyres be non-directional. They are correctly fitted inside/outside, but must disperse water differently. Uniroyal's website, insists they are non-directional, but their diagram for water dispersal shows water being driven into the centre of the tyre. Check 3/4 down this page; https://www.uniroyal.co.uk/car/knowledge/tyre-knowledge/how-to-fit-your-rainsport-3-tyres An explanation would be welcome.

I asked them this on the launch, and they told me the difference the direction makes to aquaplaning was almost nothing, so it didn't matter. I agree it looks odd, but then so does the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta.


2019-10-03 - Should I fit them or wait for the Rainsport 5?

The Uniroyal Rainsport 5 is starting to appear in limited sizes, I've not had any official communication about it yet though.


2020-03-04 - I am fitting continental premium contact 6 on front axle, are rainsport 3 ok for rear end. Thanks

With a mixed CPC6 and RS3 fitment you might find the car feeling like it wants to oversteer more as the RS3 has a softer sidewall than the CPC6


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £56.35 - £83.00 (42 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £78.13 - £123.60 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £64.83 - £89.90 (33 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 69 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Uniroyal Rainsport 3 Review

Given 83% while driving a MINI Clubman (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Fitted these to my wifes Mini clubman S as I had previously had them fitted to my Audi RS4. They are an excellent tyre for the money and few tyres can match them in the wet. Road noise is also very good on them.

Like all tyres what works on one car doesn't necessarily mean it will work for all, but at the cost of these they are well worth going for. The rate of wear is a little high, but then its a soft compound that enables high grip levels and its this that leads to the wear rate.

You could spend twice as much on a Michelin PSS or just buy 2 sets of these IF you find they wear out quickly. I still find it staggering that people put wear above grip. Frankly I'd rather know that when I take a corner in the wet or dry, or when I hit the brakes hard (in an emergency for instance) that my tyres will not brake traction. These tyres will out perform alot of higher priced tyres, and will out perform alot of similarly priced tyres that have lower wear rates.

I will definitely buy these again.
183 - tyre reviewed on May 22, 2016   

Latest Uniroyal Rainsport 3 Reviews

Have you driven on the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Uniroyal Rainsport 3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Uniroyal Rainsport 3 >>

Given 87% while driving a Audi A4 Avant1.9 Tdi SE (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 22,000 average miles
Amazing handling on wet as well as on dry tarmac, quiet and responsive. The only drawback was rather quick wear, as you would expect from very grippy tyres.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2020   
Given 49% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giuiletta (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
I have had these on my car for 3000 miles now, I am disspointed with them. Only average in the wet, and they inspire no confidence in the corners. They do however seem to be wearing better than the RS3 which I used a while back. They are fairly comfortable if a bit noisy dry grip is good but they don't feel like a sporty tyre. I wouldn't buy them again personally.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 29, 2020   
Want the best 18" Sports tyre? Watch this!
Given 93% while driving a BMW 330CD (235/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
Iím having the 4th set now , I did buy the first one after having previously continental conti sport contact 5 ( 4 years ago ) Iím driving often to Germany ( no speed limit motorway ) about the tyres the wet grip itís just great , cornering itís also very good . What Iíve notice in very hot days under heavy breaking ( have massive breakes upgrade on my car ) the grip start loosing pretty easy , before the breakes upgrade that didnít use to happen . On snow they are rubbish ( and itís just normal keeping in mind that I have a rwd car and they are summer tyres ) On the front they last for about 18k miles and on the rear for about 13k-15k miles . I will definitely recommend them . Iíve seen some feedbacks here 😂 they arenít competition tyres ore track tyres . They are normal tyres for normal use . If you have a car over 200bhp and think that this or any other tyres will keep you glued on tarmac thatís not gonna happen( only tyres that could help will be Michelin sport cup 2 , but if you afford them you wonít let negative feedback 😂) . Bear in mind that neither the F1 cars canít break physics laws, and specially a normal car wonít go further .
2 - tyre reviewed on February 25, 2020   
Given 39% while driving a Volvo V40 D3 (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Long story short, please don't ever think about to buy these tires. Absolutely rubbish. Let's say this was a short 1 year "performance" test for a "performance" tyre and the tyre failed. Not really understand how they managed good ratings/reviews for this tyre. Buy Michelin Pilot Sport, Conti SportContact or Good Year Eagle or any other premium brand for nearly same price. However, if you driving 20mph everywhere that should be fine, but I'm sure if someone wants to buy these kind of tires they are expecting good performance specially at the limit. When all other tires are failed these ones has to be on top. Remove this tires from your list. I bought these tires in March 2019 as I thought these tires supposed to be the best on wet road in rainy days. I wish I could test it before. I would pay the £5-10 differences for the other premium brand. Such a shame... After not even one year and 15.000 miles the front tires are nearly gone, threads are 3.6mm! Yes, I know, tires needs to be rotated 6-8.000 miles...so my fault. The rears are still have 7.3mm, so if I did rotated now I need to replace 4 tires - after one year - not only 2, thank you for the advice Uniroyal. Black Shark...haha...definitely not...terrible experience, lots of struggle with under-steering on wet roads and corners even on dry road. I had a factory fitted Pirelli Cinturato before on this car, fitted from 0 until 48.000 miles and still had 3.8mm on each. Just too see the full picture I bought the car with those Pirelli tires at 33.000 and 5.5mm thread, after 1 year at the next MOT at 48000 still had 3.8-4.0mm So let's face it the cheapest eco Pirelli basic factory tires made 15.000 miles with 1.5-1.7mm loss Uniroyal Rainsport 3 made 15.000 miles with 5.0mm loss with the same driving attitude. I had Conti, Falken Ziex, Yokohama etc. on my previous cars, so I know what can I expect after 20 years on the road, specially from a "performance" tires. Dry grip - ok, only if the road is real dry! When the road gets wet - not even with rain - the tires start slide and you have to reduce your cornering speed and you need to slow down in the middle of a roundabout which is silly. Wet grip - ok, if you brake in straight line... Road feedback - ok Handling - as per above, these tires are not designed to drive at the limit. So don't try or you fail and crash your car. Wear - not lasted a year with 18.000... Comfort - noisy and if you run through on a 50Pence you can feel it was heads or tails... And by the way, the car is a normal D3 engine with 150PS, no modifications, no racing boy equipment etc. I had think about the Polestar upgrade, but the tires needs an upgrade first...not the car. Used mainly on motorway and in town, not on Brands Hatch...I wish I could. Driving with normal speeds within the limit so 70 is 70, 60 is 60 (yes, 60 not 30 or 35...unbelievable isn't it) and so on... Also we have Smart fortwo with Kumho tires with much better handling...so no more comment.
2 - tyre reviewed on February 24, 2020   

See all 242 customer reviews of the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (newest first) >>