Uniroyal Rainsport 3

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 93%
Road Feedback 79%
Handling 79%
Wear 64%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 77%

The Uniroyal Rainsport 3 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Uniroyal Rainsport 2

Show All

Tyre review data from 247 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 1,748,205 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout - 21st of 45 tyres

2017 Mid Range Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good wet grip, well balanced tyre
  • Negative - Higher noise level compared to the best on test

2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 10th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - The highest resistance to aquaplaning, good handling and short braking distances on wet roads
  • Negative - Inaccurate response to steering and a tendency to understeer on dry surfaces, average travel comfort, increased rolling resistance
  • Overall - Recommended
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/55 R14 80H   E A 70 6.22kgs
195/45 R15 78V   E A 71 6.96kgs
195/50 R15 82H   E A 71 6.72kgs
195/50 R15 82V   E A 71 6.73kgs
205/50 R15 86V   E A 71 8.21kgs
185/55 R15 82H   E A 70 6.48kgs
185/55 R15 82V   E A 70 6.48kgs
195/55 R15 85H   C A 71 6.73kgs
195/55 R15 85V   C A 71 6.73kgs
205/55 R15 88V   E A 71 7.27kgs
195/45 R16 84V XL   C A 72 6.54kgs
205/45 R16 87Y XL   C A 72 7.71kgs
205/45 R16 83Y   E A 71 7.71kgs
205/45 R16 83V   E A 71 7.71kgs
195/50 R16 88V XL   C A 72 7.28kgs
205/50 R16 87Y   C A 71 8.21kgs
205/50 R16 87V   C A 71 8.27kgs
225/50 R16 92Y   E A 71 8.69kgs
195/55 R16 87H   C A 71 7.72kgs
195/55 R16 87T   C A 71 7.66kgs
195/55 R16 87V   C A 71 7.72kgs
205/55 R16 94Y XL   C A 72 8.11kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 72 8.11kgs
205/55 R16 91Y   C A 71 8.11kgs
205/55 R16 91V   C A 71 7.55kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C A 71 7.55kgs
215/55 R16 93V   C A 71 8.70kgs
215/55 R16 93Y   C A 71 8.86kgs
215/55 R16 97Y XL   C A 72 9.31kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL   C A 72 9.31kgs
225/55 R16 99Y XL   C A 72 9.65kgs
225/55 R16 95V   C A 71 9.65kgs
225/55 R16 95Y   C A 71 9.65kgs
205/40 R17 84Y XL   E A 72 7.49kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 72 7.44kgs
245/40 R17 91Y   E A 71 9.75kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 72 8.25kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   C A 72 8.60kgs
215/45 R17 87V   E A 71 8.66kgs
215/45 R17 87Y   E A 71 8.76kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 72 8.76kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C A 72 8.96kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   C A 71 8.88kgs
225/45 R17 91V   C A 71 9.39kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 72 9.39kgs
235/45 R17 94Y   C A 71 9.72kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 72 9.96kgs
245/45 R17 95Y   C A 71 9.48kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 72 9.46kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   C A 72 8.89kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   C A 72 8.74kgs
205/50 R17 89V   E A 71 8.74kgs
215/50 R17 95V XL   C A 72 9.34kgs
215/50 R17 91Y   C A 71 9.34kgs
215/50 R17 95Y XL   C A 72 9.34kgs
225/50 R17 94Y   E A 71 9.66kgs
225/50 R17 94V   E A 71 9.46kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 72 9.46kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 72 9.43kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   C A 72 8.62kgs
215/55 R17 94Y   C A 71 9.53kgs
215/55 R17 94V   C A 71 9.53kgs
225/55 R17 97Y   C A 71 10.46kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 72 10.46kgs
235/55 R17 99V   C A 71 11.04kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 72 11.17kgs
215/35 R18 84Y XL   E A 72 8.29kgs
225/35 R18 87Y XL   C A 72 7.87kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   C A 72 9.50kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 73 10.59kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 73 16.15kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 72 9.20kgs
235/40 R18 91Y   E A 71 9.71kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 72  
245/40 R18 93Y   E A 71 10.28kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 72 10.28kgs
215/45 R18 93Y XL   C A 72 8.65kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 72  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 72 9.82kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 72 10.87kgs
245/45 R18 96Y   E A 71 10.64kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 73 11.03kgs
255/45 R18 99Y   C A 72 11.30kgs
235/50 R18 97V   C A 71 11.00kgs
225/55 R18 98V   C A 71 10.84kgs
235/55 R18 100H   C A 71 11.38kgs
235/55 R18 100V   C A 71 11.38kgs
255/55 R18 109Y XL   C A 73 14.14kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   E A 73 16.15kgs
275/30 R19 96Y XL   C A 73 11.16kgs
305/30 R19 102Y XL   C A 75 15.47kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   C A 72 10.11kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 72 9.96kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 72 17.32kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 73 10.67kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL   C A 73 11.08kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   C A 72 10.38kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 72 10.18kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 73 11.67kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL   C A 73 11.08kgs
275/45 R19 108Y XL   C A 73 13.62kgs
255/50 R19 107Y XL   C A 73 14.61kgs
235/55 R19 105Y XL   C A 72 12.73kgs
255/55 R19 111V XL   C A 73 15.01kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 73 11.56kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL   E A 73 12.59kgs
275/40 R20 106Y XL   C A 73 14.50kgs
275/45 R20 110Y XL   C A 73 16.14kgs
295/35 R21 107Y XL   C A 75 13.95kgs

Questions and Answers for the Uniroyal Rainsport 3

2016-06-08 - is there a left & right on the uniroyal rainsport 3

No there isn't. Unlike the Rainsport 2, the Rainsport 3 is an asymmetric tyre, not directional tyre. This means the tyre has an "inside" and "outside" to be mounted on the wheel, but once mounted the wheel and tyre can go on either side of the car.


2016-06-15 - I have just had uniroyal rain sport 3 fitted on my car in replace of mitchellin tires, are uniroyal comparable to Mitchelin ???? I feel like I have been ripped off as asked and was quoted for Mitchelin tires

The Uniroyal RainSport 3 is an excellent midrange tyre. It should have a similar level of wet grip to a premium Michelin tyre, however we would expect the Uniroyal to wear more quickly. This should have been offset by a cheaper purchase price.


2018-07-19 - I need a set of tyres for my 2010 FIAT Bravo 1.4 90HP, right now I'm using the Barum Bravuris 3HM I'm living in Greece in a mountainous area with lots of rain between the seasons, but I'm also covering long distances around Greece in motorways, After reading lots of reviews on your site, I decided that the perfect match for my car are the Uniroyal Rainsport 3. But the DONLOP Sport MAXX RT and the YOKOHAMA ADVAN FLEVA v701 have olsa grabbed my attention, I'm not sure which one to go with I would appreciate any advice form you between the three sets of tires I've mentioned above.

The Uniroyal RainSport 3 will likely give you the best wet weather performance of the three, but will likely wear slightly quicker than the other two. If rain is the primary issue, I would suggest going with the Uniroyals.


2018-12-17 - Are these suitable for a VW Tiguan 4x4

As long as you can find the correct size and load rating, it is fine to fit the RainSport 3 to your Tiguan.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £44.80 - £75.56 (47 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £65.10 - £87.60 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £57.00 - £85.68 (37 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 82 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Uniroyal Rainsport 3 Review

Given 83% while driving a MINI Clubman (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Fitted these to my wifes Mini clubman S as I had previously had them fitted to my Audi RS4. They are an excellent tyre for the money and few tyres can match them in the wet. Road noise is also very good on them.

Like all tyres what works on one car doesn't necessarily mean it will work for all, but at the cost of these they are well worth going for. The rate of wear is a little high, but then its a soft compound that enables high grip levels and its this that leads to the wear rate.

You could spend twice as much on a Michelin PSS or just buy 2 sets of these IF you find they wear out quickly. I still find it staggering that people put wear above grip. Frankly I'd rather know that when I take a corner in the wet or dry, or when I hit the brakes hard (in an emergency for instance) that my tyres will not brake traction. These tyres will out perform alot of higher priced tyres, and will out perform alot of similarly priced tyres that have lower wear rates.

I will definitely buy these again.
166 - tyre reviewed on May 22, 2016   

Latest Uniroyal Rainsport 3 Reviews

Have you driven on the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Rainsport 3.

Review Your Tyres >>

BMW (255/35 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I have them in a staggered setup so 225/40r18 on the front and 255/35r18 on the rear of my bmw. They are a phenomenal tyre in the wet, but yet with a progressiveness when they start to slide. This characteristic is also apparent in the dry, very progressive as they lose grip.

My only criticisms of them is how they deal with heat and abrasion. The following is understandable due to their focus on wet weather performance, but they do suffer from overheating when pushed hard on the road, and the tread blocks on mine have become distorted and in some cases have partially torn away. Even when the rears are overheating they retain their progressiveness.

As for wear, they have worn quickly, but again they are optimised for wet conditions, and have been driven hard in both wet and dry conditions so I was expecting the wear rate I have experienced with them.

Overall they're a good tyre for the road, and inspire confidence no matter if it's wet or dry.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 2, 2019   
Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen Tiuan R Line (255/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Just purchased another set for VW Tiguan. I've had these tyres on a VW Eos and a Mercedes SLK 55 AMG and cannot fault them.
They are hard wearing, I managed 20,000 miles on the rear of the SLK before I sold it and there was plenty tread left.
The tyres are quiet and although I don't drive everywhere fast, they offer excellent grip in both the wet and dry. The previous tyres on the Tiguan were also impressive in the snow for traction.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2019   
Is the new Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport RS the fastest tyre available today? Watch this video now!
Given 70% while driving a Mazda 6 Wagon (225/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Not doing much miles per year, but I've always liked how these handled wet roads. I'm usually driving fast, and I'd recommend them to anyone if not few problems. I have a XL version
- noise (definitely on the noisy side), the pattern is very noisy on some roads.
- they often catch small pebbles in the channels (and big enough to catch bigger pebbles, so you will hear them)
- soft while cornering, may be because of the wall height.
- they do smell funky
- unconnected feeling despite the harshness of the XL version.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2019   
Given 77% while driving a Renault Megane (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Overall a fantastic all round tyre that i managed to pick up for £50 a tyre
0 - tyre reviewed on May 27, 2019   
Given 90% while driving a Daihatsu Materia (185/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
These tyres came with my Daihatsu having not long been installed. Tyres have gone from approxinately 6 to 2.5mm in the past 18 months and 15000 miles. So approximately 20k total tyre life on a car like a Meriva with 105bhp.

My experience of these tyres is that their dynamic abilities are greater than the mini mpv they attach to. Apart from spinning up the inside while pulling out of a junction in the rain a bit sharpish, these tyres have have had 15k miles of near permanent traction.

Dry grip is excellent and has on occasion let the little daihatsu do some very naughty things!

Wet grip is good although I do not push the car in the rain, I have confidence in its braking and the ABS has had a relaxed 18 months.

Feedback seems quite dull but I think that's the setup of the car more than the tyre so not a fair appraisal of the tyres ability.

Handling is a bright point with these tyres. what makes them safe also makes them good fun to throw around. They load up nicely and have never left me surprised even in poor conditions.

These attributes may come at the expense of wear as far as other reviews say. I think 20,000 miles is good considering the nature of the tyre. Even if the car isn't too demanding in general.

While these tyres may be a bit sporty, I have found they work nicely with the cars suspension. Car reviews say the Materia is quite firmly sprung but mine rides very well on these tyres. Noise is not invasive but is audible on poor surfaces. I tend to run at ~34psi all round. That's a little higher than recommended but wear seems even and mpg improves without the ride degrading.

Overall I would definately buy these tyres again. They're not the most fuel efficient (rated E) but I can quite easily improve on the cars official MPG with little effort. I might change to something more fuel economy focussed for doing some longer distance transporting with the car. I will probably install RS3's on my other light car which does a lower milage soon. The last 1mm before change may be slightly less impressive but still above average for the price. As I said, these tyres are more than up to the task of mangaing my Daihatsu. Even in spirited moments they're confidence inspiring and put a smile on my face!

0 - tyre reviewed on May 24, 2019   

See all 230 customer reviews of the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (newest first) >>