Vredestein Wintrac Pro

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 90%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 83%
Wear 80%
Comfort 90%
Buy again 89%
Snow Grip 93%
Ice Grip 88%
 
Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £97.20 - £102.91 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £110.50 - £114.14 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £91.72 - £112.08 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/55 R17 £102.59 - £112.90 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/40 R18 £124.70 - £130.63 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
275/35 R19 £205.90 - £226.86 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 99 tyre sizes - View all.

Vredestein Wintrac Pro Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 89% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (235/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 12,000 easy going miles
The tyres need a short warm up phase to grip on slippery road around freezing. City driving is not really enough to get them to grip well enough, that you don't experience slip at acceleration from a stand still. Once moving, they quickly bite into the road surface when dry, wet and snowy roads are a little more tricky. The confidence you build on snow and slush is phenomenal though. As long as you drive smoothly, the tyres keep you on track even in tight corners. Bumps and pot holes are transfered to your bum quite directly, but not as harsh as with the 245/30 summer tyres. Aquaplaning sets in at closer to 100km/h with nearly new tyres. Thread wear is great. Over the 20000km in mild weather on motorway and city streets, they still look almost as new. Smooth driving and no hard exeleration or braking are key for long thread life. Cornering feels a little less direct than on the 245/30 summer tyres and I wouldn't recommend track use. Though rated up to 270km/h, sporty driving is possible. Long distance driving is okay. Road noise is acceptable, comfort is good. Comfort setting goes best with the Wintrac Pro for everyday driving, if your car has different driving modes. They do take emergency manouvers very well though. Though I have no experience, if they do well under repeated manouvers. The tyres quickly tell you, when they lose traction, gaining it back quickly as well.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 13, 2020   
Given 96% while driving a Toyota GT86 (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
There tires are AMAZING. Let me start by saying that obviously this tire has been judge keeping in mind we're still talking about a winter tire: so for example when I give it a 9/10 on dry grip it's not the same as a 9/10 summer tire, but for being a winter tire it's very very good. Wet grip is great which again is to be expected on a winter tire. Road feedback is one of the strenght of these tires, honestly they feel better than the summer Michelin Primacy that were previously fitted. Handling is good (again compared to other winter tires). When it comes to comfort and noise there are definitely more compliant tires out there but considering the feel they give you it's a very welcome compromise. What really amazed me the most is snow and ice grip: in these conditions they are OUTSTANDING. With my RWD car I've gone through incredibly deep snow (while bottoming out) without a problem while other FWD cars with winter tires were completely stuck. Even starting from a complete stop on a hill was no problem. I know that might compromise wear if you use them only on tarmac but if you need to drive on snow these are just incredible.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2020   
Given 83% while driving a BMW 335d (255/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 3,000 spirited miles
Feels much more like a summer tyre than previous winter tyres from Dunlop and Pirelli. Handles well. Good wet and dry grip/braking in cold conditions. Limited experience of snow as used in UK, France and Germany for past two winters. Appear long lasting. Only negative is significant increase in fuel consumption.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 24, 2020   
Given 87% while driving a BMW M3 (275/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Using tyres on BMW M4 F82 only in winter sesion. Dry grip is like with summer tyres very good. Road feedback is also very good. Snow and Ice Grip is not perfect but its normal, you can feel save. Most important that you feel road very detail. I will buy for sure it again
0 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2020   
Given 90% while driving a Alfa Romeo 159 (225/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Very positive suprise. I use them on Alfa159 2.0. Summer tyre is same size Hankook Ventus Prime3, but Wintrac pro is matching the grip, if not better than the Hankook, while comfort and noise level are much better.
1 - tyre reviewed on December 13, 2019   
Given 54% while driving a Mercedes Benz Vito (225/50 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 11,000 spirited miles
225/50 R17 XL
Tyres wear on the out sides long before the middle. Even with them blown up to max pressure. Tyres so hard it affects the cornering of the van.
Fitted to 2018 Vito medium wheelbase weighing 2.8 ton
17 - tyre reviewed on September 16, 2019   
Given 85% while driving a Alfa Romeo 159 2.4 jtdm 200hp (225/55 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
In snow and ice this is the best winter tire i ever used. Under 0°c in dry condition working perfektly. Even in city, or at high speed. On slightly wet road is the weakest point of this tire. In a real rain storm there is no problem.
10 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2019   
Given 98% while driving a BMW 440i Gran Coupe M Sport (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
These tyres replaced Pirelli Sottozero 240 S2 RFTs on my car (I also have direct experience of Goodyear Ultragrip Performance Gen 1s on my wife's BMW 335i). The Vredestien Wintrac Pros are far closer in performance to the Goodyears rather than the Pirellis which were good in the wet but not when things got very difficult ie snow and ice. The Vredesteins are good in all conditions but where they excel over the GYs is steering feel which is far more responsive. They are also slightly quieter and better riding. The only downside with the Vredesteins is needing to increase tyre pressures (especially rear) to prevent roll from a softish sidewall (in comparison to a runflat). My car has adaptive suspension so little change in ride comfort, however they are significantly quieter than the Pirellis. When it comes to chaging the tyres on my wife's 335i, I'll choose the Vredestein's over the GYs.
7 - tyre reviewed on February 12, 2019   
Given 100% while driving a Jaguar Jaguar XE (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Bought these tyres on the strength of Autobild UHP winter tyre test 2018. Had the chance to drive through snow , slush and ice on saturday here in Scotland . Last winter I had the misfortune to experience a few scary moments when my UHP summer tyres lost traction where I skidded and slid all over the place in conditions not nearly severe as saturday past. These tyres in one word are phenomenal . I never lost traction once , I felt so safe and confident throughout my whole journey.

My wife has a mini cooper with UHP winter tyres , now on their second season. Her tyres are good but not in the same class as the Wintrac pro , they have a sluggish steering response and mushy feel at temps above 10c. The Wintrac pro at 9c last week felt very planted on dry roads , I am really quite amazed at how they've managed to achieve this .

My experience with premium winter tyres in the past have never been this good. All I can say is I'm so glad that these tyres are tested to the limit by those who know how and we all learn so much before making an expensive mistake. If you review this and decide to buy you will Not be disappointed and before you ask , I'm not affiliated with Vredestein in any shape or form . Good luck with your choice .
19 - tyre reviewed on December 17, 2018