Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS

Dry Grip 72%
Wet Grip 65%
Road Feedback 71%
Handling 71%
Wear 72%
Comfort 62%
Buy again 54%
 
Size Price Range  
195/50 R15 £85.00 - £85.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/45 R17 £107.00 - £107.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 9 tyre sizes - View all.

Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 86% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI Ed 30 (235/40 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Great tire, just as good the previous AD08R once up to running temp. Definitely recommend!
0 - tyre reviewed on October 14, 2020   
Given 44% while driving a Honda 2006 (245/40 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I came to this AD08rs after a set of PS4 on my Honda s2000 since I wanted something more suitable for a track day, even though the car is 99% of the time used on the street and it is completely stock. What a big disappointment this tire is. The scores are pretty bad since I had high expectations for this tire which was supposed to be sportier than the PS4. PS4 were much much better in every possible way on street, especially steering feedback and initial turn in and even on track (2 seconds faster on a 3km track) the PS4 were on a completely different league. What a disappointment, they are still brand new and I just wanna take them off and throw them away. I was close to mail Yokohama Japan since they shouldn't market this as a track day tire anymore. The score on wear is just a guess, I hope to go throw them as fast as pessible. Terrible job yokohama!
0 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2020   
Given 51% while driving a Lotus Elise (195/50 R15 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
These are a replacement for my AD08R on a Lotus Elise. New compound to meet EU regs. They are terrible in comparison. Squeely when pushed and lack grip consistancy. They are clearly a retrograde step and Yokohama are being misleading in marketing them under the "AD0" nomenclature. Such as a shame as the A08R('s) were the go to standard for Lotus enthusiasts. These are getting a bad reputation from many car forums. I will not be buying these again and neither will many others. Pull your socks up Yokohama....
0 - tyre reviewed on August 24, 2020   
Given 49% while driving a Mitsubishi Evolution X (265/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 1,200 spirited miles
For the past 4 years i've been running the Michelin PS4. With out any issues. And i tought hm.... maybe i should try some street legal trackday tires. everybody is running them. so it must be better then an ''regular UHP'' tire. Like most of us i googled and reserched the web and the AD08R will be the tire for me....but wait there is an new RS model. New = better i thought. the thread looks like the ad07 and 08 so it's a proven formula. I saw that the reviews where so-so. Nah how bad could it be. very. very bad it is. On the way home i drive the same route and well you know what speed you can take the corners on the same road. Out of a roundabout with the PS4 i could go 70km/h and the ESP light started flashing. but with the AD08RS 60km/h and the tire is squealing a bit. And the tires where hot and outside it was 33C. In the wet/cold it's the same but that is to expect form a trackday tire. So in overall. I wouldn't recommend the tire and will never ever buy a yokohama tire again. The tires squeal if you dive in a corner at low speeds ot higher speed. worm or cold weather. tire pressure doesn't chacge anything. disappointed all the way.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 13, 2020   
Given 60% while driving a MINI JCW 2017 (205/45 R17) on track for 4,000 spirited miles
It is totally different from the old AD08R, which I still run on the S2k and luckily still have a spare set. I purchased these RS for the Mini JCW for trackdays and Ring, and sad to say I even found the stock Pirelli PZero performing better. These RS are not able to get descent grip, squeel like crazy, and provoce massive understeer, unless you get some real temp in there. But still than they lack that 'bite' and direct response you got from the old tyre. Trying to play with tyre pressures, but I just cannot get it as I would 've expected I've been loyal to the AD08 series for years, but will be stepping to PSS or Cup2s for future purchases. Sad what you did here to a used-to-be-brilliant tyre, Yoko
2 - tyre reviewed on July 14, 2020   
Given 71% while driving a Toyota MK3 MR2 Roaster (225/45 R16) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
After 2 sets of TOYO R1R and 3 sets of AD08R I was forced to buy 08RS because I could not found the old but trusted 08R. The difference on the compound with the old rubber is immediately noticeable. Less grip and lower limit on the dry. And a lot of noise when coming to the limit. Still very predictable though on and after the limit. Small use on the wet but still does give you the same confidence the old rubber used to have. Generally harder rubber and this is also reflected on the wear which is the only plus side.
3 - tyre reviewed on May 17, 2020   
Given 96% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Running the old AD08R I found that they had a short heat range would be OK once up to temp but then really driving the car extremely hard for about 15 20 miles they would become greasy loosing traction the tyres go off becoming grained/But the new version the AD08Rs are great the tyre once up to running temp and driving flat out the tyres just keep getting better and don't go off our grain can handle the higher temperatures maintaining good grip well impressed with the new AD08Rs over the older version
1 - tyre reviewed on May 16, 2020   
Given 24% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
The new AD08RS tyre is just not good, feels like a hard cheap tyre, hardly any grip in dry, even worse in wet, doesnt give any feedback, once you really get some heat in and it gets better but its still not a patch against the old AD08R which was a good tyre before they discontinued and bought out this rubbish version, everything that was good with the old tyre is lost. Used to run the old AD08R Tyre which was excellent and i always re-purchased them, i will not be re-purchasing the AD08RS its really not that great...sorry yoko!, its been emotional. tra mate.x
8 - tyre reviewed on March 2, 2020   
Given 90% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution VI (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
EXCELENT TYRE, VERY GOOD GRIP!!!!!
3 - tyre reviewed on February 22, 2020   
Given 87% while driving a Mitsubishi Evo XI 360MR (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Perfect tyres for street and for truck, the same with AD-08RS!
9 - tyre reviewed on December 28, 2019