Alfa Romeo 156 2.4 JTD mjet Tyres

Drive a Alfa Romeo 156 2.4 JTD mjet? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Alfa Romeo 156 2.4 JTD mjet
Altenzo Sports Tempest I (1) 100% 100% 100% 10% 100% 0% 100% 89% 500
Bridgestone Turanza T005 (61) 87% 86% 82% 82% 77% 82% 76% 82% 295,357
Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response (103) 88% 84% 84% 77% 76% 80% 78% 81% 1,412,351
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (214) 88% 86% 78% 79% 74% 86% 75% 81% 2,793,098
Tigar Tigar UHP (13) 91% 77% 78% 82% 67% 85% 85% 81% 97,600
Barum Polaris 2 (4) 80% 78% 75% 68% 83% 70% 83% 76% 35,970
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74% 74% 76% 1,643,400
Falken ZE912 (199) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79% 72% 75% 2,192,908
Firestone TZ300 (19) 81% 71% 75% 63% 68% 76% 70% 72% 214,929
Goodyear Excellence (117) 79% 71% 72% 71% 73% 74% 62% 72% 2,524,856
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (153) 83% 77% 76% 73% 60% 65% 65% 71% 2,261,801
Goodride SP06 (23) 82% 71% 67% 66% 73% 68% 68% 71% 260,640
Toyo Snowprox S953 (9) 77% 69% 64% 74% 76% 73% 62% 64% 83,500

Alfa Romeo 156 2.4 JTD mjet Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2011-03-25 09:16:09
Writing about the Tigar Tigar UHP given 94% (215-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
For me,this is best buy ever!
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-08 23:00:13
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 given 93% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 spirited miles
These tyres ARE still available in certain sizes as they were standard fit on a few cars and they are required to supply them for a few years to come.

You need to be extremely careful when purchasing them online as some online retailers have been getting the ones that were manufactured in Thailand and do not have the E mark making them illegal in the UK and Europe.

Tyre shopper are still supplying E marked GSD3 tyres. The Thai factories also are producing the E marked tyres destined for the UK and exactly the same spec as the ones produced in Germany.

Check with your retailer they ARE E marked before purchase.

Cracking tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-05 15:44:44
Writing about the Avon ZZ3 given 91% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
I really cannot understand the negative reviews of this tyre! I drive my Alfa like it should be driven and the tyres are excellent. They hold the road in both wet and dry, brakeing well and handles the bends with ease. Wear rate is great, afiter 6000 miles they still have plenty of wear left. To top it all. they look the dogs dangles! recommended this tyre 100%
tyre reviewed on 2009-08-13 00:09:37
Writing about the Falken ZE912 given 90% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Replaced my Goodyear Eagle F1's with these as the Goodyears were awful in winter last year (North Scotland) and in fact downright dangerous anywhere out of summer. The Falkens were a real surprise from day one, no more tramlining, road shock, and I was suddenly enjoying the stereo, limousine style road noise. I will be reluctant to fit the F1's next summer on my 17's and may well opt for the Falken 451 or 452as a summer tyre. After only 1000 miles the Falkens are beginning to convince me that they have a winner here and possibly apply the same tyre technology to all their products. A lot of tyre snobbery out there and they cash in on a named brand. Bit like trainers really, crap sole good name, but you still fall on your arse!
tyre reviewed on 2009-09-02 00:21:05
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T005 given 90% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
I went for Turanza T005 based on positive rewievs and expecting a mild and wet winter.
I drove around 2000 miles since then on mostly wet and cold roads with temps around 0-10 C.
Excellent wet grip and handling with a lot of feedback. Very low noise, quite pleased. Previously I had T001, also not bad, very predictable tyre and Nexen Nfera Su1 which had poor wet handling, I would say even dangerous.
Looking forward to spring, summer and warm weather, because on dry so far grip is sensational.
Tyre wear is OK, so far no big diff. between front/rear, it will increase later, after all it's FWD with decent hp.
I didn't drive to the limit due to low temps.
I would buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-21 11:45:51
Writing about the Altenzo Sports Tempest I given 89% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
This tire is great on snow and ice but handling is really really bad. sidewalls of the tire is very bad. its very soft. on corners the car shakes wobbles a LOT . very unstable. even i would say scary for fast drivers. if you drive like grandm a than is ok. I would not recomend for fast driving.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-16 13:51:24
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 88% (225-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
Heavy car with 400Nm diesel. The tyres smooth and soft character fits this car very well, feels safe, predictable but exact enough to drive actively. Soft and quiet ride. I have tryed many other thorough the years on different cars, but get back to these eventually. My favorite tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-17 18:10:09
Writing about the Goodride SP06 given 87% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1500 spirited miles
I have the West Lake branded SP06.

These are not a brands you let on that you are using on a motors forum as tyres are a fashion/bragging item. They will most likely be labelled ditch finders like Ling Long, Hero or Wanli.

Truth is most people do not research anything other than the premium brands. There are rubbish tyres on the market coming out of Asia. Goodride/West Lake are far better, they have award winning research and development facilities which are state of the art and used by other manufacturers. They also have some of the most modern manufacturing plants.

They do not disappoint on the car and wear nicely and evenly. My car is a high mileage work horse and these go hand in hand with it.

There are so many budget brands, Goodride/Westlake, Barum Bravurais 2, Nankangs are probably the best and if we could have a decent road test of budgets and mid-rang I reckon they would rate amoung the highest.
tyre reviewed on 2013-05-31 23:31:51
Writing about the Firestone TZ300 given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 18000 spirited miles
Alfa 156 2.4 20v. With it's very heavy engine (and my "keen" driving probably) it's incredibly hard on front tyres. T1Rs did about 12k, Sportrac 3 managed 10k (!). I tried the Firestones through needing something a bit longer lasting, expecting to have to compromise on grip. Nope!

Really really good tyres for the price. Quiet, good firm sidewalls so positive handling when pushing on, almost as good in the wet as in the dry and have managed 18k on the fronts! The rears have loads in em yet.

I've just decided to put another pair on as I can't find anything to suggest another similar priced tyre would be any better.

One caveat - they're not that good in the snow due to the channelled tread design. There are no blocks to "bite in". The Toyo T1Rs I had were superb in snow, if not so hot the rest of the time....
tyre reviewed on 2011-07-06 13:31:54
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre