BMW 116i Tyres

Drive a BMW 116i? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW 116i
Continental WinterContact TS 850 (49) 90% 91% 87% 87% 86% 91% 90% 88% 393,130
Barum Bravuris 3HM (63) 88% 84% 82% 81% 87% 84% 90% 85% 493,980
Vredestein Quatrac Lite (7) 86% 87% 80% 81% 86% 87% 83% 84% 29,500
Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 (60) 90% 86% 84% 77% 82% 80% 85% 83% 403,512
Tigar Hitris (9) 88% 90% 78% 83% 73% 76% 93% 83% 91,000
Sava Eskimo S3 Plus (20) 76% 77% 74% 74% 78% 83% 81% 80% 174,000
Michelin Energy Saver (119) 84% 73% 76% 72% 86% 80% 71% 78% 2,702,908
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (161) 83% 76% 77% 76% 72% 75% 78% 77% 2,601,523
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (54) 78% 73% 72% 70% 70% 71% 59% 70% 639,624
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (76) 82% 73% 69% 65% 63% 73% 52% 68% 815,337
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (133) 72% 53% 55% 48% 56% 32% 29% 49% 2,069,852

BMW 116i Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 given 96% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8500 average miles
Fitted these to my BMW 116i last summer to go with a pair of hardly used but old Kumho Ecsta KU31's that were my previous favourite tyre. Intitially I fitted the Prime 3's up front so as to wear the older tyres first on the rear.
Even with the car kicking the rear out a bit grip and feedback was always superb on the front, once in damp conditions the rear got away and I had to counter steer and brake to avoid hitting the bollard at the exit of the roundabout I was playing on. No problem!!
Grip and aquaplaning resistance was always great in the wet too and even in cold weather when winter came around it was still up there.
Over winter I switched the Prime's to the rear as the Kumho's were getting well loose even with full traction and ESP on with just the standard 115bhp. The front was noticeably less grippy with the Kumho's but still pretty good, the rear however was transformed allowing slightly wreckless driving again as long as the electronics were left on.
This summer I couldn't be arsed to swap the tyres back around, after roughly 8500 miles the Prime 3's are down to 6mm of tread which is not much wear and the engine has had a remap so is slightly more powerful. Kicking the back out is not quite as easy as with the Kumho's on the rear partly because the front will try to understeer a bit now but the car does handle better with the Primes on the rear if you just want to go fast in the corners.
I've just bought a E46 330d coupe for summer so this will be my winter car now, when I need tyres for the 330 I'll be buying more Ventus Prime 3's at least for the front.
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-30 00:56:07
Writing about the Tigar Hitris given 93% (195-65-15-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 easy going miles
Best budget tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2013-11-19 08:49:19
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 850 given 88% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
I used this tyre for the first time and i found it near excellent.Wet and dry grip is very good.Snow grip is fantastic even for a rear wheel drive car.It provides acceptable grip even on thin ice.I strongly recommend this tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2015-02-09 17:27:45
Writing about the Barum Bravuris 3HM given 84% (205-50-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-08 08:47:49
Writing about the Sava Eskimo S3 Plus given 80% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3500 average miles
For the snow very good tyres. I drive them on Citroen Berlingo also to 175/70/14 and they are excellent!
tyre reviewed on 2013-02-26 15:56:47
Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac Lite given 80% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
Fitted to our rear wheel driven BMW 116i - Quiet, Good wear and comfortable with very low noise. Drove up quite an incline in snow / slush covered road - they just gripped and got on with the job, no dramas! They grip very well in wet and admirably in dry. Not as good as summer tyres in summer but they are all season.

Only slight downside is that they are not really progressive. They tend to just let go if pushed round bends.

Recommend these for any lower powered car.
tyre reviewed on 2015-05-29 10:50:41
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU31 given 77% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 average miles
I bought these tyres in November 2011 on a deal at £100 for a pair to fit to the front of my BMW E36 323i replacing a pair of 225/50 Pirelli P6000.
The Kumho's transformed the front end giving so much grip the rear would now swing around like hinge every time I really gave it some throttle. Before it would understeer slightly making the rear easier to control but now the front even in winter conditions could be thrown into corners with gay abandonment. At the time the front end of the old beemer was as good if not better than anything I had ever owned with these on.
After that car was retired 2500 miles later I put the wheels and tyres into storage until I purchased the BMW 116i and fitted some brand new Hankook Ventus Prime 3 to the other pair of wheels.
I bought the car at the beginning of summer and fitted the wheels with the Kumho's to the rear of the car figuring it would be better to wear the older tyres out quicker. The combo of Kumho's on the rear & Ventus Prime's up front was awesome. Turn off traction control and I could almost drift the rear of the car around roundabouts as the feedback was excellent and the grip & feel on the front was also rock solid. Come winter though and traction control was a must as the short wheelbase 1 series would constantly snap out on the cold tarmac.
I swapped the tyres around as the Ventus Primes had won the 2018 Auto Bild test and the Kumho's had proved brilliant on my old car. This sorted the handling, you still needed TC but the car definitely handled better and the Kumho's had almost as much grip on the front as the Hankooks.
So to sum up, the Kumho's work great on the front of a BMW as the weight of the engine increases grip and they have great feel on the rear in summer. They tend to snap out easily on the rear of a rear wheel drive car in winter so not suitable for that application.
The only other fault I have is that once the tyres were down to 6mm (after about another 7000 miles, around 10,000 in total) they were prone to aquaplaning. Maybe this wouldn't have happened on the 323i as it was heavier on the front but it certainly does happen quite a bit on the 116i.
These are an old tire now and technology has moved on so I doubt I would buy again, I also have a feeling they may become dangerous well before reaching the legal limit but they were great in 2011 for the price. They may not aquaplane as much on a heavier car, a 205 section tyre is quite big for a car the size of a 1 series.
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-26 21:01:45
Writing about the Michelin Energy Saver given 71% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 38000 average miles
The Energy Saver were mounted from factory at my 136CV BMW. After 62.000 kms, half driven in the city, half at the highway (110 140 km/h). They have a very good dry grip and a not as good grip in the wet, specially under heavy rain.
I'd say it's a very predictible tyre, specially indicated for calm drivers, nothing sport, although they allow you some small fun. Furthermore, these tyres last eternally (more or less), not changing very much their behaviour. I've driven 62.000 kms in 3 years and a half, and still 4-5 mm deep, so I guess they may last until... 80.000 kms? Absolutely insane.

Indicated for calm style, more than 20-25.000 kms/year, not expecting nothing sport, but a safe and reliable (and a little more expensive) tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2017-08-24 10:04:19
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime2 given 56% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Dreadfully noisy, terrible tyre roar from any road surface - unbearable. Avoid like hell
tyre reviewed on 2014-10-17 20:44:42
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T001 given 40% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7890 average miles
This is my second baby BMW (s1) - both have come with brigestone tyres and I acnt say I'm a fan. The wear has been awful with no more than circa 12k out of a pair of rear tyres (rear wheel drive car), ride comfort is adequate but on first opportunity I have switched the acr over to Goodyear Performance which have given much greater ride comfort, improved the handling and provided much better handling in boith wet and dry conditions. The wear from Goodyear has been significantly greater than these Bridgestone tyres. I don't know if the Bridgestone are a softer compound but in 25 years of driving I have never had a puncture until I got my first BMW with Bridgestones - in the last 4 years with 2 sets of Bridgestones I have had 4 punctures from nails and screws - now you could say that could be down to bad luck but interestingly nothing since switching to Goodyears. Given the choice I would avoid Bridgestone tyres and certianly wouldn't recommend these.
tyre reviewed on 2017-07-22 19:29:11
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre