BMW 120d M sport Tyres

Drive a BMW 120d M sport? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW 120d M sport
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (34) 95% 96% 92% 94% 90% 88% 96% 93% 118,940
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (389) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,734,737
Uniroyal Rainsport 5 (4) 88% 90% 88% 90% 0% 78% 80% 85% 2,150
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (160) 93% 91% 86% 87% 76% 82% 81% 85% 1,559,623
Hankook Winter i cept RS2 (18) 86% 87% 79% 84% 88% 78% 93% 84% 122,800
Falken ZE914 (92) 89% 82% 85% 81% 82% 83% 86% 84% 915,155
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (56) 85% 79% 77% 80% 69% 79% 71% 77% 558,137
Primewell Sport 910 (23) 83% 76% 76% 76% 74% 73% 71% 76% 193,503
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (110) 85% 74% 78% 77% 69% 65% 64% 73% 1,196,403
Pirelli P Zero Runflat (26) 83% 69% 73% 70% 60% 68% 59% 69% 214,320
Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat (25) 82% 72% 70% 72% 68% 55% 54% 68% 312,086
Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT (34) 75% 62% 65% 68% 69% 54% 53% 64% 417,570
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (133) 72% 53% 55% 48% 56% 32% 29% 49% 2,069,852

BMW 120d M sport Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat given 100% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Fitted to the rear and after 1k of driving these tyres are simply excellent even though they are run flat and supposed to be crap according to some BMW owners. I have no issues with the RFT tyres, The ride is a little harsh but that is simply the way the tyres are designed, if they can run up to 100 miles on a puncture what do you expect the tyres to be soft???

Wet grip excellent dry grip is what the continentals conti 3 are all about very smooth very grippy and progressive.
tyre reviewed on 2013-04-01 15:48:06
Writing about the Falken ZE914 given 100% (205-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
a little bit slippy at first until bedded in. once bedded in, grip grip and more grip. my driving style is mixed, and i don't always plod along ;) i would buy again and highly recommend them
tyre reviewed on 2013-04-08 21:00:23
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 90% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 12000 average miles
Really good UHP tire for everyday use. Offers a lot of confidence on the limit, especially in the wet. After 20000km just slightly worn, lost about 0,6mm of rubber.
Feedback is pretty good but I wouldn‘t recomend them for track use.
tyre reviewed on 2019-09-12 09:00:05
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 88% (235-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Bought these to replace all four Bridgestone Potenzas on my 120d M Sport and what a difference they make. Much quieter, ride comfort incredible for a RFT and great performance. Can't comment on wear rate yet but on first impression of this recent purchase these Goodyears are excellent.
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-12 00:37:05
Writing about the Primewell Sport 910 given 79% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 spirited miles
On my BMW 120d fronts 225 40 18 so far pretty good (6k).
I do drive spirited so push them often and so far no problems have occured.
They replaced my Pilot 2's and I would say the 910's have the edge.
I dont know if I would replace my P zero nero on my rear with these, but watch this space.
tyre reviewed on 2014-11-22 15:43:36
Writing about the Hankook Winter i cept RS2 given 76% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Very good winter tyre for combined conditions, with generally wet roads.

For the price, it won't disappoint. Unless you want a sporty edge, with progressive manners near the limit, in which case I suggest trying another brand. (Goodyear Gen1, for example.)

tyre reviewed on 2019-07-23 09:08:27
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 71% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 25000 spirited miles
These tyres replaced Bridgestone Potenza Adrenalin 002, which was discontinued and 003 wasn't available locally.

In such direct comparison I have scored the Sport 4 quite low in feedback and progressiveness because the Potenza was so much more communicative, firm and direct in feel. The steering always a had solid feel, only lightening up as the limit approached.

Sport 4 contradicts itself in that the steering became quite springy/spongy and not very direct...but the ride comfort was no better than the Potenza. Like the Sport 4 is stiff only in the vertical plane, but soft in transverse.

The Sport 4 has BAGS of grip in the dry and almost shocking grip in wet conditions. THAT is an achievement and for anyone looking for lots of safe grip will love this tyre. If you want a more engaging drive, you might be dissappointed. Obviously, a lower profile than the 55 tested might improve feedback...but the Potenzas were ace in the same size.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-23 19:30:43
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 68% (225-40-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
Not at all a bad tyre, but the difference in dry vs. wet is surprisingly large. The grip loss in the wet is sudden. (Maybe the Runflat design is partly to blame for that.)

I think the RE720 (yes that was LONG time ago) and the 050A were much better in the wet, not much more grip, but much more progressive slip. It's all about confidence and control.

S001 will stand up to a trackday, which was part its predecessors brief too. That makes it a good choice over some other UHPs, which tend to overheat and never really recover.

Oh, if you have lots of motorway miles, the noise is quite intrusive.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-21 22:00:13
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 5 given 68% (255-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
I have had these fitted to my car for two weeks. I got a good deal on them from Demon Tweaks (with a 20% ebay discount) hence why I decided to go for them, plus I had a good experience with the previous RS3 tyre on another car. These replaced a set of Goodyear Eagle Assymetric 3's so much of my review is going to be based on a comparison to those.
Firstly Dry grip, they seem very good in this respect. I cannot tell any difference between these and the Goodyears.
Wet grip. Aquaplaning resistance is excellent, probably down to the very deep treads. However on wet but not soaking roads they seem to lack traction when pulling away, and I can make the rear of the car step out under throttle which I couldn't do with the Goodyears so I don't think they are all that brilliant in this regard. Especially as the Goodyears were worn.
Road reedback is good, as is handling. They seem nice and predictable on the limit.
I cannot comment on wear as it is too early to say.
Comfort. These are XL tyres and I do find them rather firm over bumps. They are certainly not as compliant as many other tyres I have had. Noise wise they are quiet however.
Would I buy again? It would depend on whether they are on offer or not. I would be tempted to spend a bit more on a set of Goodyear Assymetric 5's as if the Assymetic 3 is anything to go by they will be a better tyre in most aspects and not much more cost. Failing that and if cost really was a factor I would go for the Falken FK510. The wife has them on her car and they are also a better tyre (and cheaper)
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-15 21:12:46
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT given 60% (245-35-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 average miles
I found these tires gave a soft ride, but wore quickly. The dry grip was not fantastic at the end of their lifespan but wet grip should be the talking point here because these are the only tires where I lost control of my car in the wet. After this I have viewed these tires very poorly - sure the accident could have resulted from other factors but its hard to rule out the tires entirely.
tyre reviewed on 2016-04-13 13:56:30
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre