BMW 120d Tyres

Drive a BMW 120d? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW 120d
Fulda Kristall Montero 3 (21) 89% 91% 87% 82% 91% 94% 100% 91% 141,400
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (75) 95% 94% 89% 92% 89% 83% 90% 90% 254,261
Goodyear UltraGrip 8 (56) 88% 92% 87% 83% 87% 88% 94% 89% 324,343
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 (24) 87% 91% 83% 84% 87% 90% 95% 89% 194,940
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (392) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,751,737
Goodyear Eagle UltraGrip (5) 84% 86% 82% 84% 86% 74% 84% 83% 82,500
Vredestein Sportrac 3 (60) 85% 91% 80% 80% 76% 79% 85% 82% 658,266
Goodyear UltraGrip 7 Plus (30) 85% 86% 80% 65% 82% 83% 90% 82% 478,215
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (209) 88% 86% 78% 79% 74% 86% 75% 81% 2,711,080
Barum Bravuris 2 (126) 85% 78% 79% 71% 75% 80% 80% 78% 1,406,481
Marangoni Meteo HP (14) 79% 88% 74% 68% 72% 82% 85% 78% 55,100
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (163) 83% 75% 77% 75% 72% 74% 77% 76% 2,605,523
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (178) 83% 76% 77% 72% 77% 70% 67% 75% 3,752,546
Bridgestone DriveGuard (23) 86% 86% 79% 75% 45% 72% 60% 72% 287,860
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (78) 82% 73% 70% 65% 64% 73% 51% 68% 906,337
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (119) 78% 67% 70% 68% 69% 65% 58% 68% 2,355,806
Evergreen EU72 (45) 77% 63% 63% 62% 75% 68% 64% 67% 359,710
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (88) 75% 61% 68% 61% 78% 69% 57% 67% 2,031,921
Jinyu YW51 (17) 70% 67% 63% 58% 71% 70% 68% 67% 46,300
Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT (36) 77% 63% 66% 69% 71% 54% 53% 65% 432,623
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 RFT (10) 65% 56% 66% 66% 67% 65% 55% 63% 254,010
Pirelli Eufori (10) 79% 59% 68% 66% 54% 39% 42% 58% 100,000
Radar Dimax R8 (29) 67% 49% 49% 49% 68% 56% 51% 55% 213,916
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (134) 72% 53% 55% 48% 56% 32% 29% 49% 2,094,852

BMW 120d Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 100% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 28000 spirited miles
At half price of Micehllin PS2 and very similar performance to them also you simply cant go wrong, superb tyre from Vredestein!
tyre reviewed on 2010-03-26 15:54:37
Writing about the Fulda Kristall Montero 3 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on track for 500 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-11 02:05:44
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 2000 spirited miles
Wow. Amazing value for money. Much better than previous Michelins.
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-13 19:25:55
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 97% (245-35-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 120 average miles
When I got my BMW 1 series M Sport I had run flats on it and they are honestly the worst tyres I have ever had. The ride comfort was awful and so was everything else. That all changed when I replaced them with Falkens all round which were decent but after they wore out I decided to go for the GoodYear AS3s which have been awesome from day 1 in the wet and dry. I ran them for 18,000 miles and have just changed to the new Goodyear's AS5s and wow they are just fantastic, ride comfort is great, the grip is something else in both wet and dry to which you feel confident driving a little quicker without fear of losing grip. Fantastic tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-21 14:19:33
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport 01 given 96% (245-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 23000 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-01-06 15:58:35
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 given 91% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 spirited miles
Best sporty winter tyre in "regular car" tyre sizes.

Performs well all round, and allows for sporty driving by having good progressive slip near the limit. Be sensible on the public road, but know that this tyre will not pull any surprises.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-23 09:13:47
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip 7 Plus given 91% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on mostly town for 3000 spirited miles
As a first-time BMW owner in 2009, come January 2010 I discovered a major problem. The inclement snowy weather transformed my fun evoking rear wheel drive 1 Series into a insurance liability. In-fact, potentially worse, a total death trap.

Something had to be done. I first heard of winter tyres in Canada whilst on a skiing hioliday. I was much intrigued watching apparently maniacal Canadian drivers navigating 90 degree corners on snow packed roads at 30+ MPH.

So, out of sheer fear, over the summer, I researched winter tyres as a UK option (whilst also seriously considering flogging the BMW for an Audi A4 Quattro instead).

To test the waters, I purchased 4 part worn German Goodyear Ultra Grip 7's on EBAY, which received good reviews on this website. What a revelation! My 120d SE had been transformed from un-drivable death trap into a vehicle that feels as safe on snow and Ice as a Landrover Discovery.

Even better, with perhaps frankly outstanding road performance, comfort and thrill navigating Britian's potholed roads at speed (than my relegated hard, noisy, RFT Bridgestone potenzas, which are now in the shed) I'm frankly tempted to leave them on all summer.

The UltraGrip 7's are reassuring, responsive, phenomenally safe and quiet and in my view totally essential equipment for a rear wheel drive car,

BTW they also work in harmony with the BMW's previously useless DTC snow setting.


tyre reviewed on 2011-01-02 12:01:28
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 90% (205-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Great tyre. I don't usually buy tyres if they're not from Michelin, Goodyear, Bridgestone or Pirelli. 200BHP and 300lb-ft rear wheel drive could be a challenge for most on 205/50. Had all four tyres changed. Once they were run in they were comfortable, predictable and very good traction in both wet and dry. Right up their to challenge the Pilot Sport 2/3 and Eagle F1 Assym.
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-23 22:17:12
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip 8 given 90% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
In contrast to the driver of the BMW 320D below I found these tyres superb in the snow that we had at the beginning of February. I too have a rear wheel drive car with a poor reputation for grip in arctic conditions. When you see the snow on the news they always show rear wheel drive BMW's or Mercedes being pushed along by passers by or being towed by a Land Rover. Not mine!

On the Saturday in question I was on the edge of the Peak District when the snow started coming down. I then drove through Oldham down to Manchester Airport where I stayed for a few hours. I then drove from there down to Rutland then late at night I drove back to my house near Leicester. That's over 200 miles in one day when my tyres barely touched tarmac because of the snow which was several inches deep. In those 200 miles I encountered a hell of a lot of accidents - the roads were total carnage. I also encountered a lot of hills, some of them quite steep where other vehicles including many front wheel drive cars were simply abandoned because they couldn't get up them.

Let's just remind you I was driving a rear wheel drive BMW past all these accidents and abandoned cars on hills and all because I had Ultragrip 8's fitted. Let's not forget though that snow is very slippery (I mean just try walking on it!) so even with Ultragrip 8's you can't drive like a hooligan. You still need to control the throttle and be in the correct gear. It also helps to know how to disable the traction control or put it into a lower sensitivity mode to allow wheel spin. On the BMW this is accomplished by pressing the DTC button on the dashboard. This was my first experience of driving a rear wheel drive car in snow and I can honestly say that I actually prefer it to a winter tyre equipped front wheel drive! I was driving in the outside lane of the motorway and dual carriageways where most others daren't venture. I was even overtaking people in 4x4's because I had so much more confidence than them!

Winter tyres are not just about traction though, they are about being able to steer and stop and the Ultragrip 8's didn't disappoint here either. I did find that if I was going downhill and I just stood on the brake pedal and dropped the clutch then the car took quite a while to stop whereas if I went down through the gears therefore applying engine braking to the rear wheels and foot braking to the front it stopped very quickly. I found the same on sheet ice too. I should also point out that my drive is on a slope and I reversed up it with no effort at all and the car was still exactly where I left it the next morning. Previous cars equipped with summer tyres have been known to slide off the drive in snow.

In other conditions these tyres have been excellent with a very sporty feel and some advanced warning of when they're getting close to the limits. They are very resistant to aquaplaning in the wet and handle very well too. They are very quiet too which is always a bonus. The only conditions where they are inferior to summer tyres are warm dry conditions. They feel too soft meaning that they lack feel and braking distances are longer. Let's face it though, these tyres weren't designed for summer conditions were they? At the end of this month or early April I shall be switching back to summer tyres and the Ultragrip 8's will go into hibernation until about November.
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-08 13:41:44
Writing about the Bridgestone DriveGuard given 87% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Switched out the Bridgestone S001 RFTs on my BMW 120d for these DriveGuard tyres on the front (not available for the back - 35 profile). Wow, what a difference. The S001's were made of concrete. These are quieter and absorb the imperfections in the road so much better. So much more comfortable.
As a side note, I put a pair of Good Year F1 Asym 2 RFT on the back a little while after, and these are far more comfortable than the S001s too.

The only downside to these tyres is that they are touring tyres, not high performance tyres. To be honest, you can't really tell unless you have driven both though. Yes, the S001s respond slightly faster, but I wouldn't say they were any more grippy. So for the 1% of the time you get a windy B road with no traffic on it, i'd go with the S001s. But for the other 99% of the time the DriveGuards are answer if you are sticking with a RFT. You honestly won't notice unless you are driving this on a track.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-15 17:04:37
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre