BMW 5 Series M Sport ( E60 ) Tyres

Drive a BMW 5 Series M Sport ( E60 )? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW 5 Series M Sport ( E60 )
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (125) 95% 86% 90% 86% 84% 82% 89% 88% 1,022,402
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
Falken ZE914 (92) 89% 82% 85% 81% 82% 83% 86% 84% 915,155
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (120) 86% 78% 80% 76% 73% 81% 80% 79% 1,228,286
Sailun Atrezzo ZS Plus (3) 83% 67% 67% 63% 77% 77% 67% 71% 21,000
Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat (25) 82% 72% 70% 72% 68% 55% 54% 68% 312,086
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (88) 75% 61% 68% 61% 78% 69% 57% 67% 2,031,921
Wanli S1063 (77) 74% 58% 63% 61% 76% 65% 62% 66% 5,673,081

BMW 5 Series M Sport ( E60 ) Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Falken ZE914 given 99% (245-40-18-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Cant rate this tyre enough to be honest, replaced x4 Goodyear NCT5 run flats on a 525d M sport and honestly the difference is amazing after a week, dry grip is amazing and can feel when the car is going to let go, last night was HEAVY rain and my car easily gliding through deep water 80mph in surface water with no light steering or twitchyness. the tyres also have circles on the outside of the tyre and once they turn from circles to squares you change your wheels over and hey presto you get more life out of them. great idea. def will be buying again. Road noise is very quite and over bumps, potholes and white lines where my car used to tramline and back end had a mind of its on now glides over easy.
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-27 11:08:57
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU39 given 96% (245-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Bought the Kumho KU39 after 3 weeks of researching different tyres for my BMW 525d E60. I originally had runflats on my car. RFT in my opinion are the work of the devil!!! The ride is very stiff and extreamly noisy. After changing them to the Kumho Non runflats, I was impressed the moment I drove out of the Tyre garage. The ride home was very comfortable and extreamly quiet, with very little or no road noise. The car is a little lighter to steer and corners so much better.
Kumho tyres really really changed my car.
tyre reviewed on 2011-07-03 23:18:52
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat given 92% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I have always had Goodyear NCT5 Runflats on my 5 Series, just because they were the tyres that came with it when I brought the car, and was generally pleased with them overall for the cost, but recently they have been on back order and I have been unable to get any. After researching on the net I decided to go with either the Pirelli P Series Run Flat tyre, or the Continental Sport Contact Run Flat. I went with the Continental as they got better praise, and I'm glad I did. I have only had them a short while but I noticed a difference immediately the moment I drove away from the tyre shop. The road noise is virtually non existent, the bumps in the road don’t seem so harsh when you ride over them, unlike the Goodyear if you hit the smallest pot hole it was like you were crashing through a wall. The Continental give a much smoother ride, and grip better than the Goodyear in the wet and dry.
I have not had the tyres on long enough to comment on their longevity, but based on the short time I have been using them I would definitely buy them again, only downside of course is the cost, they are a more expensive tyre than the Pirelli and what the Goodyear were, but then again, regardless of who makes them, Run Flat Tyres aren’t cheap.
tyre reviewed on 2011-01-22 22:33:50
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 91% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
I have put these on a BMW 535 D M Sport touring and this tyre is by far the best that I have ever experienced. My car is not running on runflats and I have struggled with comfort and wear on other brands. The Michelin is supreme in all areas and you are wasting your time in buying anything else.
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-17 16:35:45
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 88% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
bought my 520d m sport and in adverse weather found the traction control being activated often, put this down to the accelera tyres fitted all round! after much research and deliberating I decided upon the sessantas as replacements at a cost of £600 fully fitted, these have transformes the car, feedback, road noise, dry and wet grip and handling are now confidence inspiring, and the flash of the traction control being activated has not appeared once even in spipited driving. glad to have chosen these tyres partly thanks to the comments on this very informative site.
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-08 22:50:56
Writing about the Sailun Atrezzo ZS Plus given 87% (275-30-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
I have these on the rear of my BMW E60 530D and before I purchased search hi and low on the net and eventually found a site where these Sailun tyres and different sizes where been tested on a few cars all different BMW `s on wet and dry road handling, verdict was very good so I bought 2 x 275/30/19 rear and 2 x245/35/19 for the fronts 4 tyres for under 300 and very happy, I drive normally, would deffo buy again
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-25 01:51:58
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle NCT5 given 54% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 31000 spirited miles
Dangerous behaviour on wet road, where the progressiveness is close to null.

I've been teached it in a curve and by luck was able to stop my car before the wall.

Good tyres in other condition yet, I got them for 31000 miles before I need to change them.
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-19 22:19:36
Writing about the Wanli S1063 given 49% (275-30-19-)
Driving on mostly town for 500 average miles
Only Cheap , I recently bought AC Schnitzer type3 wheels and got this from past owner and I never heard this brand before then I googled it here.

This is super cheap tyre and they surprising me like quietness and softy tyre. Riding comfort is fine.

In the front I installed Brand new Nitto NT-555 ExtremeZR 245/30/19 too noisy. Grip is fine better than this Wanli tyre.

Grip of it doesn't sure but on the dry it's kind of OK. I haven't try it on wet road yet. Not looking to buy again because I didn't buy these, I always use Mid Range Brand Tyre.

Life is expensive guys!!
tyre reviewed on 2012-06-06 07:26:11
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre